We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Class B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bakewell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Melbourne House & Easthorpe
Ranked #9 of 47 Bakewell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“First Class B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2011

This B&B was first class. The room was clean, comfy with everything to make your stay a real home from home. Marie the proprietor and her husband were lovely and welcoming and cooked a superb cooked breakfast fresh to order. I would recommend this to anyone staying in Bakewell.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holibags54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    49
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
25
112
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
186 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

We stayed in Eastborne which is directly across the road from the Melbourne House B&B but forms part of this very pleasant accommodation option in Bakewell. The B&B is very well located with an easy walk into the heart of town. The rooms are spotlessly clean, tastefully decorated and the on site parking is a bonus. The breakfast was delicious and Marie was an excellent hostess. She could not do enough to assist when I had thought I had lost my wallet after we had checked out. I would certainly return and I recommend this B&B to others. It was excellent value as well!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luciafrancesca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

Sixty pounds for a beautiful double room including a full english breakfast. We stayed in room number 4, on the ground floor of the building opposite called the Eastthorpe. There was a beautiful bed with a very clean and large bathroom (no bath). In the bedroom there was also a fireplace, leather loveseat and a single chair along with a small wall tv with Sky. Owners very friendly and helpful. Very central to Bakewell. Tourist information in the town centre where we found some information for walks in the surrounding countrisde of the Peak District. Not far from Chatsworth House. Only a short walk to the town centre (less than 5 minutes). We walked along the River Wye where you can easily see the rainbow trout in shallow water and walked through the town. Enjoyed a meal in the Castle Inn too.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toffee999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2011

Seldom do the cute cozy convenient descriptions in the ads exactly match what one finds when one arrives after a transatlantic flight. There are always little gotchas and half-truths that one discovers too late. Not at Melbourne House.

Melbourne house is exactly as the owners describe it and Marie is the quintessential hostess. The owners are exactly as other positive reviewers have described. Marie really cares about her guests.

The style and quality of the country bacon is simply not available in the US and while it seems trivial, John can really cook eggs perfectly.

walk into the little village which is buzzing on Saturday morning, and eat the best pork and Stilton pie you will find anywhere. Some pubs close early but they always tell you where a friend has a later closing and a good right hand to pull a pint.

We will be back and highly recommend the place to anyone interested in this area which is relatively unknown in the USA. Perhaps that should remain so.

Jeff and Lucille Schur,

Room Tip: call and talk to Marie personally.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank desjef10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

Stayed for 3 nights over the May bank holiday weekend. Very welcoming, friendly owner. Lovely, clean bedroom with all you need for a comfortable stay. Breakfast was plentiful and very nice. Value for money and highly recommended. Will stay again when visiting Bakewell again.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireLassKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for two nights over a weekend. A beautiful building, a very warm genuine welcome - even though we arrived much later than planned. Our room was on the first floor - it was spotless. Very comfortable bed, nice bathroom and shower. The room had TV and tea / coffee making facilities. Breakfast was beautifully presented and was delicious. Marie is a very cheerful person who has a great eye for detail. Nothing was too much for her. The property has its own car parking - a useful asset. Handy for walk into Bakewell. We will be back and have no hesitation in recommending this accommodation.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1BIRDER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2011

Four of us stayed just one night over Easter, and it was very nice. Don't be put off by the initial appearance, inside it is clean, comfortable and all at such a reasonable cost. The breakfast was good, and the owner Marie made us all feel very welcome. Bakewell is a lovely place and we all wish we could have stayed longer. Also, it is so near to Chatsworth.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bakewell hotels
0.6 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
0.5 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Lathkil Hotel
The Lathkil Hotel
#1 of 1 in Over Haddon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Peacock Bakewell
The Peacock Bakewell
#13 of 47 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riverside House Hotel
Riverside House Hotel
#2 of 4 in Ashford-in-the-Water
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Devonshire Arms at Beeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne House & Easthorpe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne House & Easthorpe

Property: Melbourne House & Easthorpe
Address: Melbourne House Easthorpe Buxton Road, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1DA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Bakewell
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why not come and stay with us at our two quality bed & breakfasts, which offer easy access to local shops and markets, pubs, cafes and restaurants, events and attractions, and is only 3 miles from the famous Chatsworth house Stately Home, 1 mile to Haddon Hall. Alton Towers is just a short drive. We also cater for walking or cycling parties. We are an ideal base for touring the area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Melbourne House And Easthorpe
Melbourne House & Easthorpe Hotel Bakewell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing