We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“IDYLLIC IN BEAUTIFUL COUNTRY-SIDE SETTING”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Wye View

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Steph C
Solihull
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“IDYLLIC IN BEAUTIFUL COUNTRY-SIDE SETTING”
Reviewed August 30, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Beautiful and well-equipped cottage, perfect for a short stay to explore the quaint towns of Matlock and Bakewell close by. Wayne is very friendly and helpful and responded quickly to any queries I had. A definite recommendation! Thank you Wayne.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 2, 2017
Steph thank you so much and hope to see you again
Regards
Wayne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coastal45...
1 review
“Cottage spotless with amazing views of the countryside around”
Reviewed July 16, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Firstly, we received a warm welcome from Wayne, the cottage is unique, if you're looking for a quiet and relaxing getaway with character, this is it, the accommodation is clean and perfect for a couple, or four at the most, it's small but overflowing with it's own personality, there is just one thing, it's not suitable for children who are young enough to require constant supervision, we intend to come back a soon as we can, very highly recommended. As for the negative reviews, they can't have stayed at the same place as we did. IT WAS FANTASTIC.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 17, 2017
That you so much for the kind review and hope to see you sgain
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy H
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed May 23, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Recently stayed here cant rate the place high enough. Wayne is more than helpful and more than professional. The prettiest calmest place I've stayed in. We as a group had a wonderful comfortable time. Cleanliness was above and beyond and enough stuff provided to make it a comfortable easy enjoyable stay. Anyone looking to stay disregard any previous negative comments that have been said and go and witness the incredible views and beautiful beuilding for your self. Great for couples great for friends and great safe space to enjoy as a family. Plenty to do in both villages just minutes from the cottage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 25, 2017
Thank you so much for your kind remarks. Hope to see you again.

Wayne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy D
Alton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Hugely disappointed.”
Reviewed April 17, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Well what a let down ...
The area is beautiful and views from the cottage lovely but all good ends there.
The accommodation is very worn , grubby , tired and smells .
Definitely not what shown in the advertising literature, the settee which was a leather one in the picture is replaced by an old worn and dusty material one.
There was a mouldy dishcloth left in the Sink , centipedes in the bathroom and insects throughout the property.
When we left all of our clothes smelt and we have to wash everything.
Would definitely not recommend this property but would recommend the area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 18, 2017
Wow
If you look at reviews on booking.com and trip advisor you will note we get many 10/10
The accommodation was complete as new 9 months ago. New carpets, beds sofa, kitchen and Bathroom. How can it be grubby/tired and worn.?? The wardrobes are solid wood and wood smell and the dish cloth I have no idea what your talking about. So you found an insect in the middle of the countryside cottage (really)
You are isolated in your comments and as 6 of you stayed altogether and your parents said how lovely it was I simply put this down to been angry with something else but you choose to vent at us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodie B
2 reviews
“DISAPPOINTMENT!”
Reviewed November 14, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Me, my partner and our 4 month old baby were staying for just one night so we could visit the area, Dovedale in particular. I saw this cute, quaint accommodation and booked it straight away as it looked lovely. The location was lush with a great view. The owner, Wayne, told me beforehand he would be in China during our stay and arranged for Kate to meet us. No sooner had Kate left us with the keys did we notice the disgusting blanket of dog hair covering the entire accommodation, upstairs and down! (from more than one dog - different colours of hair). I text kate asking for our money back as we wanted to leave asap. My partner had to remove the bedsheets so I could sit down to feed our baby whilst we waited for Kate. Kate was very apologetic and kind about the situation, refunding us immediately and agreeing that the cleanliness was nowhere near standard. She showed me the text from Wayne saying he'd left it ready for us and she simply had to let us in. I understand the property was pet friendly but the line was majorly crossed by the hair covering the beds, floor, shower - literally everywhere. It was no place for anyone to stay in that state, especially not a baby.

Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garyk7227
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing cottage, amazing location”
Reviewed August 6, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I cannot speak highly enough about Wye View and Wayne. The cottage is immaculately presented, finished to a high standard and ideally situated for walking in the Peak District or a visit to the nearby amenities.

Wayne was a pleasure to meet and made us and our dogs very welcome, he even gave us a little bit of information about the history of the cottage and property on our arrival. We would not hesitate to book this cottage again if we were revisiting the area.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 7, 2016
Thank you so much and appreciate your nice words.
Hope to see you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 20, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property and views were amazing
Liked least: Nothing apart from having to go home!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 7, 2016
Thank you so much for those kind remarks.
Hope to see you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing