We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eyre Arms

Eyre Arms
Ranked #26 of 82 Restaurants in Bakewell
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
derbyshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Awful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

The pub is pretty oozes old world charm, the staff were lovely and the service efficient, but the food was awful. We had been looking forward to the meal as the menu looked amazing we live in a house full of vegetarians so myself and my hubby were planning a meat overload. We had the beef dinner now if you have ever seen the ones from Iceland where you just pop it in the microwave ? this would be comparable to what was presented, and M&S ready beef dinner is far superior to what we were fed. We considered having a desert then thought well why waste the money and picked up a tub of ice cream from the supermarket in Bakewell. Good for a drink but avoid the food or maybe they had just ran out and popped to Iceland the night we went.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lindamycock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    41
    11
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Windsor and Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
248 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Well kept”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We were meeting friends all staying up the road. Nice old pub building with all the signs of being well kept. A menu in keeping with the place , my steak was fine as were the several pints of the well kept real ale. Service was polite and efficient keeping pace with the demand - the place was full when we were there.
And they have kept a history for the pub and the landlords going back centruries.So a well kept place putting together a well rounded offering. Keeping up the tradtion. And well worth the detour caused by the roadworks! So do keep it up please.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TJA44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Homely cosy lounge food nice, toilets need updating, like old outside toilets”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We visit this pub every year at christmas, it is a cosy, old, quaint pub. The main food is lovely but the sides dishes of croquet potatoes and frozen chips let it down, some nice homecooked chips is what it needs and nice new potatoes or mash. The toilets need a good decorate and new carpet, very old and cold. I have never found the staff to be rude though.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vanouveous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Friendly place and home made looking food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

went here for christmas works meal at lunch time. we got good sized plates of food for the money and it was served hot and relatively speedily. the pub was warm and cosy - it reminds me of grandma’s house - and the staff were really friendly and not at all fake. i would definitely say to people pop in if you are around this way :D

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank matildamerryweather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

Having visited Haddon Hall and disappointed not to have gotten into the restaurant there, we found this gem of a country pub. We were late for lunch (they stop at 2pm), but we were shown a table and it was no bother to serve us. We had a good hearty soup followed by an excellent Roast Turkey & Roast Beef lunch. The meal was piping hot (as were the plates, which is rare these days) well presented and VERY tasty. The owner was extremly friendly and although we were late in there was no urgency to get us out of the pub. A very attractive friendly country pub with excellent service throughout, and worth a visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eyre Arms also viewed

Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Calver, Hope Valley
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to Eyre Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing