We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food”
Review of The Elm Tree

The Elm Tree
Ranked #15 of 354 Restaurants in Chesterfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice food”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We recently went to eat at the Elm tree and as usual the food was very good. The staff are always helpful and there is always a nice atmosphere. It is a little more expensive, but the food is good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CH006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    145
    62
    31
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Sunday Dinner - A Must”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

There are a handful of places in Chesterfield that do a really good Sunday Dinner. This is one of them. Slightly on the dearer side, but then you get what you pay for in life. Here, you pay for and receive a proper Sunday Dinner.

Oh and there is a park out back in the Summer which is pretty good for the little ones, not as good as the Wheatsheaf but still pretty good. It's quite pleasant even with the view of the motorway.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GaryCoughlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely evening meal”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We met some friends here for dinner. The service was friendly and the food excellent. The food was very slow to come out especially as it was a quiet Tuesday evening. The spelling in the menu was dreadful. I nearly got out a red pen and sent it back corrected and I am not even a school teacher. Perroni on tap. Inexpensive. Good place for a catch up if you are not in a hurry.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“good food snail like service”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

When we visited the food was lovely but the service was so slow it was ridiculous. We were going to have a pudding but after we waiting 30 mins for the waiter to bring the requested desert menu we decided to go home

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, england
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely food, but in this case not enough of it!”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

My husband and I popped into the Elm Tree at Heath for dinner on our way home from work. We were surprised to see that the the blackboard which normally features the 'starters' and 'main course' options had disappeared and that now you order from menus brought to your table. There were no specials on offer, but the menu is varied and has lots of favourites on it. Both my husband and I opted to forego a starter and ordered Venison on a garlic mash for our main course. When the meal arrived the 'garlic mash' turned out to be more of a dauphinoise (certainly NOT mash) but still very tasty nonetheless. The venison was cooked perfectly for us however both portions of potato and venison were small. The vegetables served with our meal were again beautifully cooked and there were plenty of them. However that didn't stop us both raiding the food cupboards on our return home. At a cost of £18.99 for each meal we felt that on this occasion (unusually for The Elm Tree) the meal was not good value for money.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank littlemisskeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Elm Tree also viewed

 
Barlow, Chesterfield
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
 
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
 

Been to The Elm Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing