We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent night!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Rising Sun

The Rising Sun
Ranked #120 of 341 Restaurants in Chesterfield
Price range: $17 - $25
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Cash Only, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent night!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Their was five of us went on Monday evening for my Mums birthday. The downstairs looked fantastic and had a live singer on but not too loud, Just right!!
We were sat upstairs and the upstairs needs finishing off a little bit more, a few more decorations on the wall is all it needs though, nothing serious. I have read that the toilets are bad on someone else's review, ok they are a bit small well the men's is anyway but certainly wouldn't say there is anything bad about them.
The service was first class, it was like being served in a top quality restaurant. Extremely friendly and very polite, So much friendlier than any other Chinese restaurant I have been too.
Ok, not gonna say the food is absolutely perfect but I certainly wouldn't criticise it either. It was all lovely and no restriction to the amount of different dishes on your table (Mutiara would only let us order 6 different dishes at a time between 20 of us a few weeks ago)
So in short it was a great evening with lovely food and will definitely return in the near future!!
Thank you to everyone at the Rising Sun!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank t11cky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    37
    28
    14
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“update”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

attitude of staff and toilets were a let down , also i think a cleaner in charge would be a good thing x

Helpful?
1 Thank estelle m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent all you can eat restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Great value for money, good food, particularly for big groups where you can taste a wide variety of dishes. Prawns and vegetables were particularly nice. Shame about the decor.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank kjk153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“All you can eat buffet”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

This turned out to be a great evening. From the out side the Rising Sun doesn't look like much but if you are not looking for a sophisticated evening but rather a full on feast then this is the place for you.

The waiter serves you course after course, beer after beer or whatever else takes your fancy. From memory, it was 12.99 GBP for the the buffet and beer was also equally well priced.

Like I said, it's not fine dining but is good Chinese dishes for a good price.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank GaryCoughlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“family friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

I've been many times, good for family dining not fine dining, not the place for special occasions more suited to 1 up from pizza hut/chain pub meals but not quite 'Restaurant' meal. I've taking my son (9years) just the two of us and also been with friends. I have tried most of the restaurants in chesterfield and while i agree it is not the best food it is still very nice. It is comfortable to take children, (not worrying they will brake something in the nicer places:)) and yes i have noticed the 'watching' and at first it did put me off a little but after going a few more times i note it is better and i think this is purely to be good host even if it is slightly too much. I've not had a problem getting a table even at busy times, you can order what you wish from the menu and staff come over to ask if you'd like more of anything before you've finished which i personal like as your not waiting while someone else is eating. they do have a very good choice for vegetarian (a friend) and the starters are lovely, my son always asks for more of the chicken! we always order roughly the same with the mixed platter starter, duck wraps, chicken peking/ prawn s&s mains. i dont eat seafood but my son has said the prawn mussel squid is good. we have tried o tukuda which this often gets compaired to and although some aspects like decor were better we return to rising sun because we prefer the menu options, i accept it can be hit or miss as we all have our bad days but i can say most of the time it has been lovely,and at its worse has been acceptable. ** its always best to leave a little tip as (the food is cheap enough anyway) you will notice your next visit will be better :) its about 12.99 and children under 10 half price drinks are standard price for restuarant and the desserts are good too honey pot, creme menthe, orange sobet all great especially the latter. All ages here so your not going to walk into rowdy or dowdy. and like i say the best bit for me is the feeling comfortable with children hassle free but in a restaurant rather than standard pub.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fluffykittykatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rising Sun also viewed

Chesterfield, Derbyshire
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
 
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
 

Been to The Rising Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing