We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So glad we came!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Old Post Restaurant - CLOSED

Old Post Restaurant
Price range: $48 - $80
Cuisines: British, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So glad we came!”
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

After a little stress with the SatNav and finding the place, we are so glad we came here! Booked this restaurant for my husband and I for my birthday after reading the reviews. The menu was varied and something to suit all tastes. Everything was reasonably priced with it all presented beautifully.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DJC197327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    10
    7
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Fabulous meal, lovely place”
Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

We were a family of 8 adults and 2 children looking for a place to meet up for a Sunday lunch. We found The Old Post on trip advisor, checked out the website and decided to book. We were all really impressed. The atmosphere is really nice and the decor pretty. The service was superb and the food was simply top class. I am always a bit anxious when eating out with a 10 and 7 year old but the restaurant was welcoming and we sat enjoying a pleasant meal for over 3 hours. I would highly recommend this place.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Beartravels2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
279 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

This is our first visit here . A very small and cosy restaurant with only seven tables. A warm welcome by front of house ,and a pre lunch drink by a very nice log burning stove .the building is very old and full of character . The table laid with clean white table clothes ,a couple of small holes in one corner ,but I will say this will be the only poor observation during the visit. A small plate of appetisers were presented on behalf of the chief . The starters were excellent scallops with black pudding,the mains roast beel and pork served with buttered vegetable. Avery good selection of wines at avery reasonable price and quite a full body. The staff were very attentive but never over bearing ,which adds to a very relaxed meal

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sdmmmtc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruislip
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely quality food and ambience”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We dined here yesterday as a special treat with some family members. This is a small, cosy restaurant offering excellent food, coupled with prompt and efficient service. The menu was varied, using some local foods and there were sufficient options available for non-meat eaters. All the food was beautifully cooked and in portion sizes which were well satisfying. The initial attraction of drinks by the wood burning stove, to "warm the cockles", was well appreciated on a cold night, as was the entire dining experience. Although a shade expensive, we all felt that this was a thoroughly delightful restaurant and one which we would certainly visit again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
218 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Best Sunday lunch in a long time”
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Very, very good quality 3 course Sunday lunch. One of the few fine dining places in Chesterfield and well deserving of it's no. 1 spot on tripadvisor.
Everything we had was full of flavour and well presented. The beef was very well cooked, nice and pink and portion sizes were generous. Service was efficient and pleasant and I really can't find fault with the meal we had.
If I was to be very picky I felt that the desert selection was a little too heavy and chocolate based. Would have liked a choice of something a little lighter such as a mouse or lemon tart, although saying that, there was a fruit tart special that had sold out.
I was unable to finish my lemon and white chocolate posset which was delicious but just a little on the rich and sweet side after the two previous courses.
The meal was not too expensive and we will be returning.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Andyt2120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Post Restaurant also viewed

Chesterfield, Derbyshire
Barlow, Chesterfield
 
Ashover, Chesterfield
Ashover, Chesterfield
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing