We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor side salad” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Olde House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Olde House
Ranked #14 of 20 Chesterfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor side salad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Don't have the jacket potato as the side salad it says it comes with consists of 1 lettuce leaf and 2 pieces of onion and that's it! It would have been nice to have a bit more variety of salad with it. Regularly visit here and the food isn't as good as it used to be.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Milko123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    56
    25
    13
    18
See reviews for
36
77
5
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
134 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

The website gives the impression of an historic smallish pub with rooms. In fact it is a typical large chain pub built in the 1960's with a huge car park, play areas, signs advertising curry night etc .
The accomodation annexe looks grim from the outside and the whole lot is surrounded on 3 sides by a new housing estate. So initial impression/location was not great.
Check in was in the bar but was quick and friendly. The room was much better from the inside than outside. Reasonable size , King size bed, flat screen TV ( with full Freeview channels) , two seater sofa, clean modern bathroom with good shower etc. Also it was a comfortable temperature on entry with radiator controls that worked ( these simple points seems beyond some hotels ).
The pub is spacious/large and probably packed with families at certain times. . A bit lacking in character and smelt a bit of cooking food. Drinks prices were reasonable and a couple of good real ales . Food menu was similar to Brewers Fayre, Wetherspoons etc. Cheap, but apart from a couple of choices, not very healthy or diet friendly to say the least ! Cooked breakfast was fine but non cooked choice very poor.
So a comfortable stay at about the right price with cheap pub grub.
As the title says similar to a stay at a Travel Inn .

Room Tip: In case of problems with stairs ask for a ground floor room as the lift is not for customer use. Ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Albermarle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Only went in for a few pints and ordered some food, got my order wrong but wouldn't admit it which led to an argument between my friend and the staff, in the end my friend was wrongly banned, when rectifying my order the waiter made a snide comment about the health risk of eating my food to which I made a complaint to the 'acting' manager and received a refund, absolute joke.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hartley550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

Check in was a breeze with the friendly staff and a greeting from the Guv'nor! Rooms had good facilities, good size and very clean. Excellent shower! Service in the restaurant/bar excelled, the staff were really friendly, the food arrived within next to no time and excellent value for money. I hope to go back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveClev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, UK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

We had a lovely welcome and our room was large, warm, clean and quiet with a comfortable bed in which we enjoyed a good night's sleep. Extra services we requested were supplied quickly and with smiles. The pub grub served here is well cooked and well priced. Our breakfast was excellent and served joyfully . A lovely start to the day!
This would make a good base for visiting the Peak District or Sheffield
Couldn't fault the Olde House !

Room Tip: We had room 1 but saw no others. Looked onto the car park but this is a residential area so don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StickofRockDerby_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

The hotel was very easy to find, the checking-in process was quick, the room was large, clean, comfortable, quiet and warm. The food (typical pub grub) was plentiful and good value. The hotel and restaurant were very popular, with a few Christmas Parties (in mid-november?).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anthony w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

We were visiting our son at Sheffield uni and booked an overnight stay at the Olde House. We had a friendly welcome before being shown our rooms which were pretty well appointed and clean. We ate in the restaurant which provided a sufficient although nothing memorable menu. The food was good and very reasonably priced, drinks at the bar was also well priced and not too bad a choice. I would definitely book again as it ticked all the boxes and the staff are most helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frederick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chesterfield hotels
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Chesterfield North Hotel
1.1 mi away
Buckingham's Hotel
Buckingham's Hotel
#13 of 15 in Chesterfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
#9 of 15 in Chesterfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Portland Hotel
The Portland Hotel
#4 of 15 in Chesterfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
1.2 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#1 of 15 in Chesterfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
1.1 mi away
Abbeydale Hotel
Abbeydale Hotel
#11 of 15 in Chesterfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olde House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olde House

Property: Olde House
Address: Loundsley Green Road | Newbold, Chesterfield S40 4RN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Chesterfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Olde House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing