We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good position” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Portland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Portland Hotel
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Chesterfield
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Good position”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Good hotel in an ideal position for town centre. Comfortable although no aircon or fans meant having to sleep with window wide open. Also shower was a mixer which constantly went hot and cold. Food was served in the bar downstairs and was typical Wetherspoons fare breakfast was lukewarm at best. Parking is limited and not helped by staff using it as well.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kevin-g-l_1961, Manager at The Portland Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Good Morning Thank you for your feedback.

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
We let the staff park in the car park to stop customers in the pub using the spaces.
It is much easier and quicker to get a memeber of staff to move their car than it is to go find a customer in the pub that should not be parked in th car park. Hope you find this information helpfull for your next vist with us.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    182
    30
    10
    6
See reviews for
70
304
38
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

My partner and I had a very pleasant stay at the Portland. The staff very helpful and we didn't have to move from the hotel for great food and drink. We loved having a regular market outside the hotel that covered clothing, food and vintage items as well. Loved it and will definitely visit again soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skarlettsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
286 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights over the weekend -wasnt dissapointed. Although it was a wetherspoons pub it didnt feel like one. A nice clean tidy hotel right in the centre of chesterfield!!! With free parking ( with permit from reception ) . The town itself is a lovely quaint town well worth a visit. As for the price it was 50 quid a night which for is good for a weekend. Bar prices are also very good . As for eating out in the town try ASOKA . Its a great little indian restaurant with superb food and service.. Hope this helps you decide...

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lee t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kevin-g-l_1961, Manager at The Portland Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for your feed back.

It's nice to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you would book with us again.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Although regular Wetherspoon's customers, it was our first stay at one of their hotels. The Portland Hotel is in a very good location for Chesterfield town centre and is within walking distance of the railway station and well serviced by buses. The car park for the hotel was very small, but luckily we were able to find a space as we had arrived early. The hotel is a little bit old fashioned, but the rooms are a good size and have all the amenities that you need and it was clean and comfortable. Being above a pub and in the town centre, there was some noise from outside at night, but this had quietened down by midnight so didn't disturb us. The food, as usual for a Wetherspoons, was extremely good value, especially the breakfasts. Would stay at a Wetherspoon's branded hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cazzasmythe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kevin-g-l_1961, Manager at The Portland Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for your feed back.
Glad you had a good time and enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is an hotel which is part of a chain of well known pub/hotels and as with their other hotels which we have stayed in the rooms are a decent size and reasonably well equipped with TV and coffee and tea making facilities and a decent size bathroom although the shower controls were not good we were told the place was to be refurbished and this would be sorted out. It also had a trouser press and free WIFI. The hotels own parking is restricted but there is a car park over the road which was still well lit at 11pm. Breakfast is not included in the price but they do good value breakfasts in the pub from 7am. The hotel is close to the market and shopping centre and also the bus station. We arrived very early the first day and had breakfast before we visited the market which was a little disappointing as it is the same as hundreds of others. While we had breakfast the first morning we were sat close to a group of Geordie males who talked loudly and used the 'f' word as every other word which was not very pleasant. We went back later in the day to check in and they were still there drinking and by then arguing and shouting, not very pleasant.

Room Tip: If you have any trouble with stairs or carrying your bag request a room on the first floor as there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kanga41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kevin-g-l_1961, Manager at The Portland Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thank you for your feed back.

It's good to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
The water problem has now been fixed you will be pleased to hear.

Regarding the customers, Please next time come speak to a duty manager as if we hear customers swearing we tell them.
We appologise for this.

It's good to hear that we a good value so thank you for that.

We hope to see you again soon in the near future.

Kind regards,

Debbie Lancaster
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Our bank holiday weekend trip to Chesterfield was lovely, the Portland Hotel has very spacious rooms and we found ours very clean. We were greeted by a friendly male receptionist, initially he helped out with my parking arrangements then promptly booked us in when I got back from parking up properly, being in the town centre I wasn't sure were I could park after 7pm and still have access to my vehicle if needed (Portland's own car park is very limited, we stayed behind the Sun Inn right opposite the beer garden). Although we were only using the room as 1 night base the fact that it is a Wetherspoons hotel made life a lot easier. Even if you can't find any other eatery nearby Wetherspoons has enough variety to satisfy most tastes.

By the time we got over to Chesterfield we didn't have much time for a serious walk so we settled on relaxing for the evening instead, the sun was still over the beer garden so we opted for a couple of drinkles in the sunshine then after a quick shower and a change of clothes we had a wander round the town for a toot about (no agenda in mind). We were on a bit of a budget so decided Wetherspoons was the place to eat for us which was very nice and good value (lacking on the condiments though - no mint sauce or French mustard).

One of my bug bares with hotels is skinny pillows and lumpy beds, I have to say this one had nice soft pillows 2 each and a decent mattress, a little firm but not bad and really wide which was nice. The shower was a little bit manic in that once in full flow and at your desired temperature it had a habit of throwing in a little extra cold water every now and then just to keep you on your toes! for 1 night this was acceptable and if anything made me giggle but I think the giggle factor would of worn off very quickly had I been staying longer.

The Portland doesn't have an exclusive eating area for hotel quests but you can find plenty of spots where your 8am drinkers are not sat. Just a tip, if you want a private breakfast don't stay in a pub!

So in summary, the location is great - the rooms are spacious and clean - the staff friendly enough - the food is good value with a reasonable choice - watch the shower!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the entrance/market area can be quite noisy around closing time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann_Flinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kevin-g-l_1961, Manager at The Portland Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thank you for your feed back.

Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are the same when it comes down to pillows, Soft but not too soft. So it's good to hear you think like we do with the pillows.
Thank you for your feed back about the room being spacious and clean and staff friendly.

The water...........we agree it is tempremental, how ever you will be please to hear this has now been fixed. No more jumping around !!

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Debbie Lancaster
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Just returned from a great weekend and can't wait to go back again Thoroughly recommend this hotel We were originally booked for 2 nights but decided to stay for an extra night. Staff moved us into another room with no fuss whatsoever and were extremely accommodating (Debbie? Neil) The hotel is situated in an ideal spot for getting around Chesterfield. The food is very reasonably priced with lots of variation as is the drink. The only downfall for me personally was that I found the pub to be quite cold on a night time, however this has not stopped me from booking up straight away for another visit in July

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank couple40s227059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kevin-g-l_1961, Manager at The Portland Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for your great feed back.
It's great to know you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and that you would recommend us too. It means alot to us and the team here at The Portland.

We can't wait for you to come and see us again.

Take care see you very soon.

Kind regards,

Debbie :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chesterfield hotels
1.2 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#1 of 15 in Chesterfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,264 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
#9 of 15 in Chesterfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ringwood Hall Hotel
Ringwood Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Brimington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
6.8 mi away
Ibis Chesterfield North
Ibis Chesterfield North
#1 of 1 in Barlborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Chesterfield North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Portland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Portland Hotel

Property: The Portland Hotel
Address: West Bars, Chesterfield S40 1AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chesterfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a JD Wetherspoon hotel in the centre of Chesterfield opposite the historical market place. We have 22 rooms, all onsuite with tea and coffee making facilities,hairdryers and freeview tv we now have a disabled room with all disabled ammenities. We also have a car park however as our car park has limited space and is on a 1st come 1st serve basis, please ring us to pre book your space to avoid disappointment. Our car park charge is just £3.50 Per night. Alternate car parking is the Sun Inn Pub opposite the Portland (front of our pub) £8.00 For 24hrs and The Old Court House £6.00 For 24hrs For best available rates book online ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Portland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portland Hotel Chesterfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing