We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good to stay”
Review of The Portland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Portland Hotel
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Chesterfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Our second stay here and just as good. Staff are helpfully, room (101 family) is a good corner room, plenty of light and space. With teenage daughter and so the separate guests eating room is an ideal area from those that enjoy their beer. Small parking area but staff know how to sort out.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAFH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (663)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

607 - 613 of 663 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2012

We always try to stay in the Portland when we visit Chesterfield- usually at least once a year. This time was no exception. The welcome and booking in is very good, the rooms is clean and bright with plenty of towels, tea, coffee etc. Despite being over the pub the noise is is very minimal. The food is typical Wetherspoons - not exciting but always of good quality, and as a real ale enthusiast I am always happy with the beer and its price. Sometimes it is worth booking late - there are some good discounts online.

Room Tip: We have a favourite room but I won't give it away in case somebody gets its!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank creakingbones62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Portland Hotel is one of the Wetherspoon Chain. Our room was large, clean, well equipped with coffee/tea making facilities, and towels were large and luxurious.
The staff were first rate, friendly, helpful, always smiling and looked as if they enjoyed working there.
We had Eggs Benedict for breakfast one morning and they were delicious, as was all the food we had there.
It is centrally located. The market on Saturday is close by and worth a visit.
My husband treated me to a surprise weekend away. Part of the success of the weekend was down to the Portland.

Room Tip: We had a room over the main door so there was noise from the door opening and closing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poppyalice_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Perfect location and great value. Nice rooms and very friendly staff. Will be going back when we visit family up there at Christmas. Breakfast served downstairs in the bar and again good value.rooms at the front of the hotel can be a little noisy !

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FastChar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We spent two nights at the Portland and found the staff were efficient and friendly. The room was very clean, comfortable and we were provided with excellent tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer, trouser press etc. in fact, more than you might expect from a 'pub hotel'. The breakfast was very good. The only downside is the parking situation. There are only a few places, which can be a problem when you return to the hotel fairly late and do not know of any alternative car parks. There is a disabled bay but this was taken by a car which did not display a blue badge. When we mentioned this to hotel staff, pointing out the implications for a disabled person (one of my party was disabled), they seemed indifferent.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Rita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

went to jdw portland hotel with friends for the weekend room only but great offer 3 for 2nights.staff were friendly and breakfast was good.ideal for town centre and market.very clean and comfortable ideal if you use the bus 5mins from most stops really good weekend.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Friendly, efficient staff, excellent food, right in the middle of town, with a market I could see from my window.

My single room had everything I needed, tea / coffee making facilities, with biscuits, trouser press, hair drier, TV etc. It was clean and serviced both days / nights I was there.

There was, however, a couple of things I was less than happy with :- watching pints being guzzled while I ate my breakfast, and I couldn't get the free WiFi in my room.

Overall very good !

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank klbarrowcliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kevin-g-l_1961, Manager at The Portland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2012

Thanks for your review on the Portland.. We learn from experience and try to take on board all comments good or bad.We do have a residents lounge where you can sit and eat your meals in comfort and be away from our "local" drinkers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chesterfield hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
#9 of 15 in Chesterfield
851 reviews
1.1 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,512 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ringwood Hall Hotel
Ringwood Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Brimington
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
897 reviews
0.4 mi away
Abbeydale Hotel
Abbeydale Hotel
#11 of 15 in Chesterfield
228 reviews
4.6 mi away
Premier Inn Chesterfield West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Portland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Portland Hotel

Address: West Bars, Chesterfield S40 1AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chesterfield
Price Range: $61 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a JD Wetherspoon hotel in the centre of Chesterfield opposite the historical market place. We have 22 rooms, all onsuite with tea and coffee making facilities,hairdryers and freeview tv we now have a disabled room with all disabled ammenities. We also have a car park however as our car park has limited space and is on a 1st come 1st serve basis, please ring us to pre book your space to avoid disappointment. Our car park charge is just £3.50 Per night. Alternate car parking is the Sun Inn Pub opposite the Portland (front of our pub) £8.00 For 24hrs and The Old Court House £6.00 For 24hrs For best available rates book online ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Portland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portland Hotel Chesterfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing