We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit”

Holmebrook Valley Park
Ranked #12 of 59 things to do in Chesterfield
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Derbyshire
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Good walks, easy path for pushchairs and scooters, Great for dog walkers, fishing around the pond. Three separate play areas, the main one being by the top car park where the snack shop and toilets are. Free car parks

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tedward2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    37
    7
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Enjoyable walking with plenty to see”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

A good sized lake with a variety of ducks etc. Excellent dog walking terrain with plenty of dog waste bins.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 555Shaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
131 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Versatile local attraction”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

I've been here a few times and on each occasion I've been pleased with how well kept the footpaths and cycle paths are.

When I walked along the footpaths and through the park, I've spotted various species of wildlife and wild flowers.

There are two free car parks, one at the top end, (which is the largest) near the amenities and a second smaller car park towards the South end of the park. Other facilities include sports fields, picnic tables, toilets and a children’s play area.

There is also a small lake at the top end, which appears to be popular with ducks, geese and swans.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank filthurlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Casual visit.”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

I recently visited this location having been here a few times doe a leisurely walk around the lake. The visitors centre toilets were like you find these days on the side of most holiday routes. NOT what I expected within a visitors complex with café.
Though there seemed to be tractors / maintenance agricultural vehicle parked up in the main car parking area. There wasn't much work being carried out. I would point out that it is still early in the year and weather conditions have NOT assisted in keeping usual post-winter work down to normal levels. YES it is what it is = a country location to walk and enjoy. Sadly SOME dog owners do leave the main pathways soiled and like minefields of doggie DOOOO. Generally though I saw NO trace of car window glass on the car parks (promising sight that car might be safe long enough to walk around the lake).

I will pop back again soon and keep a check on this location.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
105 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Nice walk”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Lots of paths. Nice park, plenty of parking during week. Could do with some more signs. A lot of dog owners need to be more considerate.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SpikybuffyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holmebrook Valley Park also viewed

Chesterfield, Derbyshire
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
 
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
 

Been to Holmebrook Valley Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing