We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Muy Bien!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Andalusian at Isis Noir - CLOSED

The Andalusian at Isis Noir
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Muy Bien!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

After reading the reviews on TA we decided to try the Adalusian after a visit to the theatre over the road! It was Friday evening and the restaurant was busy, we hadn't booked but were were warmly welcomed by Jason (the owner) at the bar. Even though he was on his night off, he took us in to the restaurant and offered us a choice of two vacant tables (a nice touch!). We ordered 6 tapas dishes from the menu with a bottle of the house red. The food was excellent, tasty and well presented, the service at the table was very good - overall just what we fancied on the night! Including the wine the bill came to just over £30, we all thought this was really good value for money There is a nice 'buzz' about the place, we will definitely return for another visit. Thanks Jason - much appreciated!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    3
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Rubbish food and poor service from bar staff”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

My husband and I dined here in a group last night, and were thoroughly underwhelmed. The food is terrible. Deep fried cheese, microwave paella and a bowl of over-cooked penne pasta featured on the tapas set menu. Really unimpressed.

My husband ordered a Corona from the bar at one point, and the lady serving him pulled from the fridge a bottle that didn't look cold. He asked her for a colder Corona (at £4 a bottle, I don't think it's unreasonable to expect a nice, cold one!) and was met with bad attitude and rudeness.

Saying that, the service from the floor staff in the restaurant was good.

Wouldn't bother with this place.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsCarlaStrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jason h, Owner at The Andalusian at Isis Noir, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
As the owner of Isis Noir I am extremely disappointed to find out about your experience. Our aim is always to provide the best possible night for our customers to enjoy and as a small local family run business we genuinely appreciate and welcome all feedback – it is very important to us.
However on this occasion I’m rather disappointed that having looked into your complaint personally, I note, that you did not raise any complaint on the evening? In fact we didn’t have any complaints all weekend! I must now take this opportunity to assure you that our dishes are cooked to order using traditional methods; if the complaint had of been made on the evening, you would of been assured that the Paella was not “cooked in a micro wave” and we could of even offered to show you a fresh portion being made (Complimentary of course)
We would of preferred it if you could of raised your thoughts/complaint on the evening to the manager in order for us to be given the opportunity to satisfy your complaint, rather than this rather negative review after the event, I’m sure if this had been the case we could of found you a nice cold Corona from one of our 8 fridges too.
The Andalusian is a small kitchen bistro in Chesterfield (maybe not as glam as some of the world renowned destinations you’ve reviewed) but we do our best to provide an extremely good value for money meal out to be enjoyed in a lively atmosphere locally.
I truly believe that the good reviews for our little bistro are testament for the many happy customers we have catered for. Thank you for your comments we are sorry that this was not the case for you. Jason Hill Owner - The Andalusian and Isis Noir.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Thanks for a great night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Really enjoyed the food,the service was very good,the cocktails my wife had where very nice but a bit expensive at £6.Would we go back YES

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank quiffderbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Went along to the Isis for a networking event! The food was wonderful, the service great! Highly Recemmended. Will defintiely be going back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shazziej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Tapas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Service Ok, the tapas was really good. Lots of choice not typically Spanish but everything we had we enjoyed. Nice atmosphere and decor.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angela_Chesterfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Andalusian at Isis Noir also viewed

Ashover, Chesterfield
Ashover, Chesterfield
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing