We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Open Day”

Barrow Hill Roundhouse Railway Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Belper
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Open Day”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

£5 to get in - interesting selection of locomotives to look at and unlimited steam trips up and down a short line but rather poor shop and avoid canteen at all costs - awful food (cold, undercooked pie)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    33
    7
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Loco shed Nostalgia”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Love the atmosphere of this old MR roundhouse shed, which is still usuable. It was one of the last to close in BR days. A must is the May Beer Festival they have here which is quite unique

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Beer Festival and trains”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

The centre was very good, with plenty to see. We were here for the beer fest though (which is recommended). There was one train in steam and running for perhaps 1/2 mile and back. Plenty of diesels to see.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank porchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsash, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“East Coast Giants a real letdown!”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

I'll make it clear from the start that I have visited Barrow Hill many times and supported it. It is the only remaining authentic roundhouse and a real tribute to a loyal band of people keeping our railway heritage alive.
BUT!!!!
Not being able to travel to York or Shildon a 'free' nights accommodation in Derby got this 70 year old to go on a 400 mile round trip to see, touch and photograph these "East Coast" icons of my child-hood before them being lost again across the Atlantic. NONE of these was successful. Pushed together you could only partly see them, you could not touch and photography was rubbish. Other promised exhibits were stretching the 'truth' to it's limits. Tornado was there but partially dismantled. One Deltic was present but obstructed in view and not working. Other Deltics were in their shed under repair. The roundhouse and yards were choked with old coaching stock and diesel locos making any pictures of any steam traction virtually impossible without non steam era inclusions. Only the A4 Bittern on the running track was anything like an attraction. DEFINITELY MY LAST VISIT irrespective of my age. Really disappointed and more - UPSET!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Brubaker45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swaffham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“East Coast Giants”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

A weekend when they were showing off two borrowed A4 Pacifics (if you're not sure what they are, think of the locomotive Mallard). Also there, and in steam was A4 Bittern and a number of other locos, both in steam and static. The roundhouse is amazing and boasts an operational turntable (on which they had Tornado awaiting a boiler test). There is also an amazing array of other rolling stock and locos dotted around the area. If you're interested in heritage rail, it's certainly worth a journey. It was my first time but I will return.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank localhero13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barrow Hill Roundhouse Railway Centre also viewed

Chesterfield, Derbyshire
 

Been to Barrow Hill Roundhouse Railway Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing