We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pub grub, cheap and cheerful”

Olde House Restaurant
Ranked #216 of 348 Restaurants in Chesterfield
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
266 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
“Pub grub, cheap and cheerful”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

This large family pub / restaurant is close to us so we go occasionally for a drink and today we had food as well. It is always very busy and there are often special deals on food. The cheapest lager was £2.40 a pint. The staff were professional and gave as much attention was needed. The food was average microwaved food, but you get what you pay for. We just had a couple of burgers and a steak pie and everyone was satisfied afterwards. They have free wi-fi without needing a password which is another bonus. No complaints.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulU561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    37
    30
    16
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
chesterfield
Level Contributor
252 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“New menu excellent food”
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

We had a small family birthday party at The Olde House and had a great time,the food was superb as was the service all the dishes were hot and fresh,the steak was cooked to perfection juicy and tasty.The new menu looks great and the prices are good.
Many thanks to Julie and her team for a pleasant evening.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank brandy5041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chesterfield
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Poor food at good food prices.”
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Ordered enchiladas, these were soggy and microwaved (wedges were great), complained and just got sympathy rather than any of my £7 back. Wife had fish in parsley sauce.. average! Kids had average dishes. All served on plates that were to small and our adult meals could have been complained about justifiabley if the were 2 for a fiver.

Nice place (dated to point of looking country vintage) and decent atmosphere. Shame they don't put the effort into all there dishes (others we didn't have are apparently better)

The response to my complaint will probably be the reason we don't return. Not the waitress fault as I'm sure its management policy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 77OZZY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“LET DOWN”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

My husband and our 2 children have just eaten there and its simple to say it will be the last time. the waiting time was 20 minutes yet we waited 40 minutes. I ordered lasagne and bucket of chips. The chips had been twice fried and just greasy and inedible. The lasagne tasted cheap and nasty and the salad was warm and limp. The childrens meals did not look much better. My husband had surf and Turf, which again was greasy and not good quality food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank characters59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
266 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Typical pub grub”
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We came here for a meal on a Friday evening and the eating area was busy and what you would expect from a pub. We had the fish and steak. The food was OK, but the steak was a little overcooked, even though we asked for it to be 'medium'.

The staff seemed distracted and not overly helpful, a simple smile would have improved the score for review!

We would consider returning for a meal, but not on a Friday evening.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank filthurlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olde House Restaurant also viewed

Chesterfield, Derbyshire
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
 
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
 

Been to Olde House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing