We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb, friendly small hotel”
Review of Abbeydale Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Abbeydale Hotel
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Chesterfield
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Superb, friendly small hotel”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I stayed here for 1 night whilst travelling on business. I booked a single en-suite room, which was very small but immaculately clean.Despite being small the room did have everything I needed for a comfortable stay, including bottled water as well as tea and coffee making facilities.The owners - a friendly Danish couple - made me feel very welcome. There's an excellent small restaurant in the hotel, serving good home cooked food, which was delicious if a little on thr pricey side. The hotel was very quiet, being located in a side street,which is also an advantage.All in all, dinner, bed and breakfast were excellent value for money, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    45
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
17
74
20
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

My wife and I were really pleased we chose to stay at the Abbeydale Hotel; friendly hosts, excellent room and breakfast. Next time we visit we're definitely going to try their evening meal - the menu looked really good. Unfortunately, we decided to eat at a local Thai Restaurant, which was OK but not great.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephanieLincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Mountains
Level Contributor
120 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This hotel is just outside the centre of town which is an easy 7 minute walk away and the on-site parking is plentiful. Finn and Else were extremely friendly hosts, making us feel welcomed. Finn is an great cook (make sure you try his butter cooked mushrooms for breakfast) The dinner menu changes daily and we we dined in there 2 nights because of its convenience. Rooms are well furnished and typical B&B size. The ground floor rooms were a great option for my elderly mother.

Room Tip: Building work is happening across the road on a housing development shortly so ask for a room at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HafodBlueMountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We have stayed at Abbeydale three times now and absolutely love it. It is just enough out of the historic center of Chesterfield to be a quiet retreat, yet close enough to easily walk to town center. Finn and Else are the perfects hosts. They make you feel like family rather than guests. Everything is neat as a pin, the beds very comfortable and the food....is exquisite. For a little extra you can have dinner there each evening. The menu changes daily according to the availability of the freshest ingredients. The variety is good and always delicious. Finn's gourmet dinners are to die for. And don't even think of having Bakewell Tart (or pudding) in Bakewell. They may have invented it, but Else has perfected it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffside Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed for four nights in September, and booked here based on Tripadvisor recommendations. Can't imagine a better choice. The Nielsons are warm and welcoming hosts willing to exert extra time and energy to make your visit enjoyable, which was very necessary for us as we did not have a car and needed help seeing the area using public transportation. We were surrounded by repeat travelers who were welcomed as old friends. We would highly recommend that guests take advantage of Finn's beautiful cooking at dinner - his food is gourmet quality, well presented and without pretension. The full breakfasts in the morning was plentiful and delicious. This is a property in which rooms are thoughtfully furnished with Danish simplicity and everything needed to make one comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnthonyTrollope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights August bank holiday weekend to visit relatives in the area. The room we had was very clean and comfortable. We had an evening meal on our first evening which was excellent. Breakfasts for the following 4 days was also excellent....great selection, well cooked and presented and plenty of it. Else and Finn were fantastic hosts and we would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in the area. Debbie and Richard

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbiekay1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Without doubt we booked a 2nd time in Abbeydale hotel, obviously the first time was perfect otherwise we did not booked a second time, don't we!
Why??
Very warm welcome, nice and clean rooms, perfect location, great food, parkingspot reserved by Finn for our motorbikes, and especially two lovely people Else & Finn always smiling and caring and making you feel superbly. All this makes your holiday the one you 'll never forget.... that's why we will always turn back to Else & Finn.

Thanks and till next time
Mireille

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mireille V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chesterfield hotels
0.4 mi away
The Portland Hotel
The Portland Hotel
#4 of 15 in Chesterfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
0.2 mi away
Buckingham's Hotel
Buckingham's Hotel
#14 of 15 in Chesterfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.9 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
#8 of 15 in Chesterfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Chesterfield North Hotel
3.7 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbeydale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbeydale Hotel

Property: Abbeydale Hotel
Address: Cross Street, Chesterfield S40 4TD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Chesterfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbeydale Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality homely accommodation and restaurant five minutes from Chesterfield Town Centre with free private parking and free WiFi. The Abbeydale Hotel is located in a quiet part of the town, but still only 5 minutes walk away from the bustling town centre, with its famous market and Crooked Spire. Evening meals available but must be booked in advance. served from 6pm-8pm, Mon, Tues, weds, Thurs & Sat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Abbeydale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing