We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay, amazing food!”
Review of Buckingham's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Buckingham's Hotel
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Chesterfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Buckingham's in March for two nights, Friday and Saturday. We didn't get there until late on Friday so decided to take them up on the offer of a three course meal created just for us. We're so glad we decided to do this, Nick (owner/Chef) served the food personally, he explained what is was, where the ingredients had been sourced and how it had been prepared. All three courses were delicious! My husband even tried dishes he wouldn't normally go for (he's a steak man and was given fish and chicken) and was glad he did! Nick clearly loves cooking and goes the extra mile with everything - the breakfast was equally delicious with lots of options with many things homemade including sausages, English muffins and crumpets.

Tina (Nick's wife and co-owner) made us feel very welcome and told us about places to go and things to do in Chesterfield. We had a good chat with her daughter too!

Our room was nice, right at the top of the house with plenty of space. It was a bit chilly but the electric heater took the edge off. We did struggle to get wireless in the room but it wasn't really an issue. The room and bathroom were very clean and the shower was hot!

We walked to the hotel from the station, it took about 15 minutes. It was also only a 10 minute walk into the town centre. We went to Indian Blues for dinner on Saturday, which was lovely.

Overall, a relaxing weekend - we were taken good care of and would definitely go back! Thank you!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorrainebaldock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (248)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 248 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2014

Quite simply, you should not pass this hotel by. The food is awesome and what a fabulous concept of dining. Rooms are spot on, very clean, comfortable with good wife connection. Staff are very attentive and cannot be more helpful. I look forward to staying again soon. One of the best private hotels I have stayed in throughout my world travels.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank Pauleyf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

This is a very clean hotel. Its a family run hotel and they are very friendly.
The breakfasts are delicious and very healthily cooked.
Have to say the evening 3 course meal cooked by the owner who is a top chef was the most delicious meal I have ever had.
The hotel is quite near the rail station and the town.

Room Tip: All rooms are up a flight of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liverbird50186337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

The food was great and the surprise meal was a really unique experience. The service was also very good, all the staff were friendly and helpful. The room was slightly on the cold side but It wouldn't stop me staying there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurabob27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Excellent hotel discovered late by accident during my work travels.

Restaurant among the best I have sat in. Very pleasant surprise.

Room, bar area and welcome was first class.

Will certainly visit again next time I am in the area.

John

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beni-Jock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Four of us took advantage of the Winter Warmer Offer to enjoy and excellent meal in the Clowns Restaurant.
The food is always delicious and service attentive but not intrusive. I highly recommend the food here .

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stayed at the buckinghams for my partners birthday and they went above and beyond to accomodate us. We arrived to find our champagne chilling in the room as requested and the food in the restaurant was amazing. We had the silver menu and it was worth every single penny. The breakfast was also exceptional. If youre stayjng here i would highly recommend you dining in the restaurant. Lovely family and very accomodating. t

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank VanessaElizabeth2505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chesterfield hotels
0.7 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,504 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ringwood Hall Hotel
Ringwood Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Brimington
1,058 reviews
0.1 mi away
Abbeydale Hotel
Abbeydale Hotel
#11 of 15 in Chesterfield
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Portland Hotel
The Portland Hotel
#4 of 15 in Chesterfield
658 reviews
3.9 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
881 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
#9 of 15 in Chesterfield
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buckingham's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckingham's Hotel

Address: 85 Newbold Road | Newbold, Chesterfield S41 7PU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Chesterfield
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chesterfield
Price Range: $100 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Buckingham's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award Winning Hotel and Restaurant situated in the centre of Chesterfield, the gateway to the Peak District and close to the M1 Motorway. All bedrooms offer luxury en-suite with free Wifi. The Buckingham family are well known for their warm and friendly hotel. The restaurant is unusual in the fact that there are no menus, which means meals are prepared to your personal requirements with the emphasis on quality and freshness. All bedrooms refurbished to increase space and quality of each room. Some bedrooms are designated superior these are particularly spacious and include their own seating area. Each bedroom boasts many facilities such as colour television with tele-text, freeview box, clock radio, hot drink facilities, stationary set, water and mints, direct dial telephone, controlled central heating, accessible computer modem points, WiFi, and hairdryer.Buckingham's is well known for The Restaurant with One Table and the Clowns Conservatory, the concept of the restaurants was conceived out of frustration and a desire to develop food that does not conform to normal paradigms. At this cosy Derbyshire restaurant, there is no compromise on quality, ingredients or taste, and excellence comes as standard.Amongst its many accolades, the hotel has gained an award for 'Best Breakfast of the Year' and ‘Best Restaurant of the Year’ from Derbyshire Food and Drink Awards. The Hotel has also been recommended by QIT and Best Loved Hotels.Chesterfield town centre is five minutes’ walk away; here you can find the famous Crooked Spire of its parish church. Chesterfield is also home to one of the largest open-air markets in the country. Chesterfield is situated on the edge of the Peak National Park with some of the most spectacular and beautiful coutryside in England. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Buckingham's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buckinghams Hotel Chesterfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing