We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy Rooms - overworked staff !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Chesterfield
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 5, 2010

Was house hunting around the Chesterfield area and chose the Ibis, Chesterfield.

A little more expensive than the norm at £56 a night and on check-in was told that there was plenty of room and the hotel was barely full.

1215am I had some rowdy move in next door, crash bang wallop for over an hour then at 0340am someone directly above actually jumping off the bed onto the floor and laughing for almost 2 hours.

Didn't wake up the next day as I never actually went to sleep. The bed had more lumps in it than porridge too unfortunately.

Spoke with the duty manager in the morning about why wasn't the "night porter" walking around the corridors and why when the hotel was so empty could they not spread guests about - or at least put the people who leave the clubs in one area separately. Apparently the taxi drivers often drop off the clubbers to the Ibis in the early hours - so be warned !

I had intended to stay at this hotel for at least a week as the location was ideal - such a shame !

To be honest, the staff (just two of them) were really polite and I cannot fault them. But these two staff were manning reception, preparing breakfast (everything cooked was microwaved and tbh disgusting) and these same two staff clearing up and cleaning tables.

Quality of service and hotel was way below par and I am sure the overworked staff felt the same but were reluctant to comment !

No refund or reduction was offered so I cannot reccomend this hotel to anyone which is a shame as the staff were great !

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigglad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (844)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

808 - 814 of 844 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2010

We were moved here from "The Legacy" and it was the best move we made. All the staff were young very very pleasant, the rooms are basic but spotless. An absolut dream to where we had just come from. We had breakfast the next morning as much as you could eat very nice. Would we stay here gain YES

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank galaxycumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2009

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tripsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed October 12, 2009

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 18, 2009

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brendan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2009

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jontag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2009

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bzad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chesterfield hotels
6.5 mi away
Ibis Chesterfield North
Ibis Chesterfield North
#1 of 1 in Barlborough
569 reviews
1.2 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,503 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Portland Hotel
The Portland Hotel
#4 of 15 in Chesterfield
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Sandpiper Hotel
Sandpiper Hotel
#10 of 15 in Chesterfield
322 reviews
4.9 mi away
Twin Oaks Hotel
Twin Oaks Hotel
#1 of 1 in Palterton
244 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Chesterfield
Travelodge Chesterfield
#15 of 15 in Chesterfield
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Chesterfield Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Chesterfield Centre

Address: Lordsmill Street, Chesterfield S41 7RW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Chesterfield
#1 Green Hotel in Chesterfield
Price Range: $40 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Chesterfield Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Chesterfield is located a short walk from the town centre and just 500 m from the railway station. Numerous attractions are within close proximity including theatres, museums, bars and restaurants. Visit the stately Chatsworth House located 15 minutes drive from the hotel in the middle of the beautiful Peak District. Book one of our 86 rooms with all the necessary amenities and benefit from use of our 4 meeting rooms, free private parking and cafe concept with bar. Snacks available 24/7. FREE WiFi Internet access available in the lounge and in bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Accorhotels.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ibis Chesterfield Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Chesterfield Centre Hotel Chesterfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing