We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chesterfield Parish Church/Crooked Spire

Chesterfield Parish Church/Crooked Spire
Certificate of Excellence
Lincolnshire UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“lovely experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

this church is beautiful. If you get the chance do the climb to the top of the spire just £3.50 for a great experience and great views (even on a miserable day) Our guide was great and very informative.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Silvercouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    140
    21
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A cathedral-sized parish church if ever there was one.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We had a two-hour visit to this large parish church, and the staff were friendly and gave the impression that they loved visitors, their God, and their parish. We found this all over England from the large cathedrals to the small parish churches. Believe me, these three qualities are greatly valued and always as common as you might hope in the Anglican world.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Unique landmark Twisted Spire”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

There are many 'old wives tales' about how the Spire of the church came to twist, my favourite one being that "the Devil fell on the spire and it bent when he saw a virgin getting married in the church". A bit naughty but entertaining!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Minnie77uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A British icon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

No visit to Chesterfield is complete without a view of the wonderful Crooked Spire. Whenever we've been away we look for it in the distance and then we know we've come home. It's unique and attached to a wonderful old church.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sally Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Amazing views of Chesterfield, Historic Market Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Went on the conducted tour up to the tower that is the base of the 'Crooked Spire'. The Verger, Paul, ( a very tall 6'4") who takes the trip is very knowledgable of the church and explains everything in a very friendly and broad Derbyshire accent. It is a fascinating tour and is very relaxed and unhurried giving you plenty of time to see everything. The views from the top are amazing and you can really see from there how much the Spire leans from the perpendicular. It should be at the top of everyones list when on a visit to Chesterfield, made all the more enjoyable by the Verger.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveBeresford58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chesterfield Parish Church/Crooked Spire also viewed

Chesterfield, Derbyshire
 
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
Bolsover, Derbyshire
 

Been to Chesterfield Parish Church/Crooked Spire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing