We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and warm”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sandpiper Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sandpiper Hotel
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Chesterfield
Certificate of Excellence
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Friendly and warm”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

lovely place to stay, friendly staff that cannot do enough for you, nice warm clean confortable hotel.Restuarant food to die for, especially the brandy snap desert.Location is only a short taxi ride from the town centre.

Room Tip: ive stayed here a few times and every time the room has been great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorkswheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    62
    25
    8
    11
See reviews for
70
90
8
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Totnes, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Our County team of approx 36 have stayed at this hotel for the last 8/9 years, says it all really!! Every visit the staff have been excellent helping out with our requirements with everything either large or small, nothing was too much trouble. Our whole visit, from room allocation to parking of our coach is aways very professionally and smoothly delt with. Evening meals and breakfasts are of a high standard cattering for our team members, aways cooked to perfection and lots of it. All our rooms on every vist, have been comfortable, clean and had plenty of space to relax. The County has booked again for this October, again says it all. Myself as team manager knows that every detail will be very well looked after. Value for money and the excellent service make this hotel a true gem. Many thanks to all the staff who help us have a trouble free stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

This was a late booking for the New Years Eve Dinner Party with overnight stay. We found the hotel very warm and inviting. The rooms were clean and comfortable, food very good and service
excellent. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff here and overall we had a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gt74lufc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I had my full wedding, including ceremony, wedding breakfast and evening reception at this venue only two days ago, and want to say how amazing it all was!! The organization and planning was evidenced through the perfect timing of everything!!! I was greeted at the allocated door by a friendly and smiling gentleman who put me at ease and guided me to see the registrar, which set the precedent of the staff for the day!! They were all extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble, even when my father forgot his shirt and was promptly given a spare one by the guy in charge!! This man was amazing...he worked so hard all day, from the moment my husband arrived, he was on hand to help and didn't stop until the night and was an absolute credit to this hotel!! The food was delicious including the full english the next morning and the honeymoon suite was clean and attractive, with a member of staff also putting a heater in at my husbands request, and later offering to go and turn it down to ensure we would be comfortable. All in all, the perfect day, with all guests exchanging compliments regarding the venue, thank-you so much and I would certainly recommend the Sandpiper Hotel to anyone wishing to begin their married life here!!!

Room Tip: The honeymoon Suite was delightful, with tasteful décor and cleanliness!! The four-poster bed was at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynzy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed overnight for a wedding, and what the hotel lacks in character the staff made up for a million times in their brilliant attitude and service to guests. Nothing was too much trouble. When my partner (father of the bride) realised he'd forgotten his shirt one of the staff lent him his 'emergency' shirt and wouldn't even accept a drink as a thank you. Amazing in this day and age!

Food was cooked to perfection and there was plenty of it. Rooms were clean, spacious and comfortable, although the public areas of the hotel were a bit too warm. I would recommend this hotel to anyone in terms of value for money and excellent service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hilary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I stayed with 5 fellow students. Although the layout of the hotel is sub-optimal, the parking was ample, all the staff were very friendly and the cooked breakfast was excellent. The pricing was very reasonable. We will definately return next year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sleevicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 3, 2013

To all at the sandpiper, what can I say! It's the night after our wedding reception as I write this, everything fresh in my mind. I had a truly amazing evening reception with you, and would like to thank you with all my heart for what you did regarding our wedding. You were so helpful, excellent communication either by telephone or email. The food u did for us was outstanding, everyone commented on this, the dj was brilliant, the photographer recommended by you was superb, all your staff was so polite friendly caring and helpful. Our room was cosy and comfortable, breakfast was spot on, all in all you made our wedding party one to remember and I will recommend to anyone getting married to try you. Thankyou so so much, hope to come back for a meal at your restaurant in the near future. Love to all and once again thankyou. Love Janice and Paul batty x

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chesterfield hotels
1.9 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,298 reviews
7.3 mi away
Twin Oaks Hotel
Twin Oaks Hotel
#1 of 1 in Palterton
208 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
#10 of 15 in Chesterfield
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Chesterfield North Hotel
2.7 mi away
Ringwood Hall Hotel
Ringwood Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Brimington
975 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Portland Hotel
The Portland Hotel
#4 of 15 in Chesterfield
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Hotel

Property: Sandpiper Hotel
Address: Sheffield Road | Sheepbridge, Chesterfield S41 9EH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Chesterfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandpiper Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandpiper comprises 46 en-suite bedrooms, including Standard and Executive Rooms, 2 Conference & Banqueting Suites, Fanshawe’s Restaurant and Henry’s Café Bar. We are conveniently located near to J29/30 of the M1 Motorway and less than 3 miles from Chesterfield Town Centre. The hotel is a short drive from Sheffield City Centre and the glories of the Peak District National Park. The hotel has ample free and secure parking.At the Sandpiper Hotel we offer the ideal environment so you can make the most from your stay, so whether for business or pleasure, we have the perfect surroundings for you to relax and unwind.If you are planning a Wedding, Birthday or any another Celebration , then look no further, call our experienced team to 'Tailor Make' your event to suit your every need.Our award winning Fanshawe’s Restaurant offers an extensive choice of menus, available for lunch and dinner, creating that perfect dining experience. We also offer an excellent value traditional 4 Course Family Sunday Lunch.You will find Henry’s, our Stylish Café Bar the perfect place to relax on your own or in company, where you can enjoy various hot and cold beverages, tasty snacks and meals from our lounge menu. Our 'Free Wireless Internet Service' is offered throughout the Hotel creating an ideal place to hold informal business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Sandpiper Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Hotel Chesterfield
Hotel Sandpiper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing