We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service and classy food!”
Review of Cocina Restaurant

Cocina Restaurant
Ranked #39 of 366 Restaurants in Chesterfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $56
Cuisines: Spanish, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I have been here twice now for birthdays and each time the service has been incredible-absolutely superb attention to detail and nothing is too much trouble.

The food is absolutely delicious, I was particularly impressed with the presentation of desserts. Pork belly, scallops, oxtail mash are particular recommendations although all dishes were fabulous.

The drinks are also great, an excellent wine selection and the cocktails are exquisite!

It is on the pricier side but definitely worth it for a special occasion.

I look forward to returning!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chocschicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucieKrajankova, Restaurant Manager at Cocina Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Dear Chocschicken,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your meal in Cocina, I am so happy to read that we were able to make you birthday meal one to remember. Did you know that Cocina has an early bird menu that runs from 6pm till 7pm, Monday through to Saturday which changes every two weeks?

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards
Lucie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (429)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

314 - 318 of 429 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2013

Another visit to the Cocina Restaurant for the early evening menu. We had drinks in the bar first, absolutley fabulous friendly staff. Had bottled spanish beer, a nice change from the norm, really nice before going through to the restaurant. We had 2 courses for £14.50 (could have had 3 for £20.00), what fantastic value, no compromise on service or quality when choosing off the early menu. Had mussels and clams for starters and Chicken main. Beautifuuly presented, excellent service from Charlotte and Lucie and the restaurant team. Could not fault the visit at all. We had a cocktail after which was fab, presented and made to perfection. Lovely bar to sit and chat, sophisitacted and stylish but what stands out the most is the welcome and friendliness of the staff, so obliging. Overall fantastic visit. Would recommend an early vist here if want to sit in a lovely bar, very chic and have a fantastice meal, cannot beat this for service and value for money.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dink30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucieKrajankova, Restaurant Manager at Cocina Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Dear Dink30,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your meal in Cocina. It is always a pleasure to read reviews that speak so highly of our team in both Cocina and Barca, we are very proud of everyone who works here. Did you know that the majority of the food served within the hotel is sourced from our owners organic Walton Lodge farm, we never compromise on service or quality.
Our early bird menu changes every 2 weeks so we hope to see you again in the near future.

Regards
Lucie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Fantastic food,great staff beautiful wines, food is definitely the way to a woman's heart !!
Boys eat here ;)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stephenc82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucieKrajankova, Restaurant Manager at Cocina Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear Stephenc82,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your meal in Cocina. We really appreciate the kind words you have said about us and our food. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards
Lucie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Came here with my boyfriend for a meal in 2012. We opted for several tapas dishes - the food was really lovely. The seafood was good quality. I didn't have any complaints. The table settings and restaurant decor were really nice and the place had a nice feel to it. We enjoyed a lovely bottle of wine.

I have good memories of dining here and i'd recommend the tapas menu to anyone who was looking to dine out in Chesterfield.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MaryJShim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucieKrajankova, Restaurant Manager at Cocina Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear MaryJShim,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your meal in Cocina. As a Spanish themed restaurant we take pride in our tapas dishes and it is always great to hear that they are enjoyed. Did you know that the tapas served in Cocina is made with produce sourced from our owners Walton Lodge organic farm?
We look forward to seeing you again in 2013.

Regards
Lucie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Having been invited for a christmas meal by friends we arrived at the restaurant 5 ladies & 4 men we went to the bar upstairs and were told we could not get draught beer from upstairsand were told we had to go downstairs to get a draught beer (which was very nice) so everytime we wanted a drink we had to go downstairs and queue for a drink while are food (which was very good)was going cold, spoiling what should have been an enjoyable evening, i spoke to the owner who didn't seem to think it was a problem i think at very least they could have a drinks waiter so you can at least enjoy your food while it's warm.

    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank allyneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DownhamStuart, Owner at Cocina Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Dear Ally Neil

As you said to me your meal was fantastic the service was great your only complaint was that we didn't serve draught beer. I explained to you that the most important thing to us at Cocina is quality e.g. all the eggs, meat and other produce are from my own organic farm. Our restaurant is sited up two flights of stairs well away from our Barca Bar which serves a wide range of draught and bottled beers as do our other two function bars. The run is too far from the restaurant to pump the beer. We don't have enough sales of draught beer to justify keeping a cellar separate from the restaurant and also be able to keep the beer in good condition and guarantee the quality. It would not be practical to have my staff, often young girls to carry trays through the bar, reception lobby and up the stairs, due to the weight and time that takes, this could also impact on our service. I spoke to you at length and I explained this to you and as a gesture of good faith, I personally bought you and all your party a round of drinks. Also as the restaurant was quiet I even carried them upstairs for you! Obliviously if the most important thing to you is your pint then you came to the wrong place there are lot of great pubs in the area where you can enjoy your pint so please don't come back to Cocina.

Steve Perez

Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cocina Restaurant also viewed

Chesterfield, Derbyshire
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
 
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
 

Been to Cocina Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing