We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unexpected Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Chesterfield
Certificate of Excellence
Storrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Unexpected Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

Casa cropped up on a search as we needed somewhere between Sussex and North Yorkshire to stay. What a lovely find. As others have said comfortable beds, very clean rooms and a great(quite unexpected ) Spanish atmosphere. We ate from the reasonably priced Early Bird menu, good choice of wine by the glass, although we thought that the pricing was on the high side (maybe because we had just returned from a wine trip to Rioja and had bought some of the listed wines and knew the mark up- and of course there is the Chancellors added slice!). We would happily stay again

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenniegSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DownhamStuart, Operations Director at Casa Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear jenniegSussex

Thank you for posting your review. I am delighted to hear that you had such a positive experience. I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,023
    202
    33
    8
    3
See reviews for
142
529
26
283
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
234 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

Far and away the best value for money hotel in and around Chesterfield. Came up one night for a football match at the nearby football ground. The room was spotless, the beds very comfortable and I thought the breakfast was very good, unlike one or two recent reviewers. There were two functions on in the hotel, but staying on the fourth floor we didn't hear anything. The air conditioning get the room very cool despite almost being inaudible. The only very slight criticism was that although one of the two lunches we ordered in the bar was very good, my selection of a sandwich was a little bland. I would choose something different in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnnyboyDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DownhamStuart, Operations Director at Casa Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear johnnyboyDorset

Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We really appreciate the time taken to provide this feedback and I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

Huge room, greeted with champagne and strawberries, hot tub on our balcony, spa treatments, beautiful 3 course meal, amazing cocktails, incredibly comfy bed and breakfast the following morning! Would definitely recommend the girls night in package!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sd1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DownhamStuart, Operations Director at Casa Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear sd1990

Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to hear that you had such a great time. The Girls Night in Package offers excellent value for money and is proving very popular. I do hope we can welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern England
Level Contributor
107 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

Wanting to visit the Criche Tram Museum, it was a treat to find this very comfortable and well appointed hotel within an easy drive. With lots of parking space, it’s certainly easy to find. You can’t miss it on the side of the A61.

A very welcoming receptionist made booking in a pleasure. A nice touch was the jug of freshly made lemonade on the reception desk – very refreshing after a long drive.

We had a good sized room, very nicely appointed and spotlessly clean. Housekeeping throughout the hotel was excellent. All the staff we had occasion to talk with, were very friendly and helpful. A very nice touch was the complimentary container of fresh milk and a couple of bottles of water in the fridge. Both replaced daily.

It was shame our room had no bath, however the shower was very good, with both rain and hand-held shower heads. There was a good sized in-room safe, large enough to take a laptop. The good sized TV had a good range of Freeview TV channels. And a real plus, was that there was no noise transmission from other rooms. The in room WiFi was free and fast and a much appreciated facility.

Looking out of the hotel, is was unfortunate that, while the hotel grounds were well kept, the areas outside the fence were overgrown and very untidy. Not sure if this is down to the local council, but if so, they really should think about the message such unkempt areas give to visitors and possibly prospective investors in the area.

While we didn't eat in the restaurant during the evening, perhaps the most disappointing part of the visit was the breakfast. While the staff were very efficient and there was a good cold selection, the hot food was mainly via a buffet. This included, scrambled egg, bacon, sausage, etc. Other options being via special order. However, we noted that if you did order say, a poached egg, it was bought to you on a plate, that you then had to get anything else you wanted to go with it, from the buffet. Not too clever for a hotel that tells it's guests it's rated fourth best in the country every time the television in the room is switched on! Swanning about in a crowded area with a hot plateful of food is not what 4* should be about.

As for the ingredients; the bacon was, for the most part inedible on both days. Dry and so thin, you could see light through it. Such a shame, especially as they proudly proclaim it comes from a local farm. With a bit more care in preparation, the bacon could be so much better.

In conclusion, we would stay again, but it certainly wouldn't be for the breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayare14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DownhamStuart, Operations Director at Casa Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Jayare14

Thank you for posting your review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. About 20 of our rooms have baths as many guests have a preference for the large walk in showers. We do ask on check in if there is availability and I apologise if this did not happen or if none were available.
As you correctly point out, the land outside the hotel perimeter is the responsibility of the local highways department. They must have read your review as they have recently been and tended to it. I am sorry that the bacon was not to our usual high standards. Please be assured that we continually monitor our food quality and our guest satisfaction levels and take action immediately as required. I do hope you will visit us again in future.

Kind regards

Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

We booked two nights here and were given free entry to Chatsworth House & Gardens and £25 per person per night dinner allowance. The hotel is situated about a thirty minute walk from the charming town centre of Chesterfield ( a taxi costs about £4). The hotel operates a free shuttle service to/from the train station.
Parking at the hotel is free & plentiful and the reception staff were very welcoming and friendly. The room was modern as was the hotel itself. The room had a bath & shower, a very comfortable king size bed, plentiful wardrobe space, a 'fridge stocked daily with fresh milk & water, air conditioning, a large free safe and a 32" flat screen TV with Freesat stations. The efficient double glazed windows kept all surrounding noise out.
The food at the Cocina Restaurant was superb with the food in the main being sourced from their own farm not far away. We dined in the restaurant on both nights of our stay as we had booked in for our wedding anniversary - we were not disappointed! Having mentioned when booking that we were there for our anniversary we were delighted to be given a free post dinner liquors when we were enjoying after meal drinks in the Cocina Bar.
The bar and restaurant staff are equal to and better than most that we have previously encountered on our travels.
Thanks for a great break - we will be back!!

Room Tip: We were overlooking the front on the 4th Floor - very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bejay3011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DownhamStuart, Operations Director at Casa Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear brian_j_williams

It was very encouraging to read your positive review. Thank you for choosing to spend your anniversary celebrations at Casa. As you point out, we are well placed for exploring the Peak District and surrounding areas. The team were very motivated to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. I hope we will be able to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

Enjoyed a nights stay here.

There is plenty of free on site parking.

Check-in staff were very polite and informative of food choices (restaurant / bar / room service) and choice of either bath or shower in room.

Multiple lifts to access the floors and modern decor throughout.

Room decor was also modern, with free in room bottled water and cookies, tea & coffee making facilities with real milk.

Also at in the bar area where service was quick and friendly, the food was hot and good quality with good portion sizes.

Breakfast was buffet style with traditional and continental choices but you could see the food being cooked and it was all fresh with some products sourced from a local farm, very enjoyable and tables well spaced out.

One disappointment was I ordered a paper and it did not arrive but free papers were available at the breakfast room.

Overall, enjoyed the stay and would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chalky_1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DownhamStuart, Operations Director at Casa Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Chalky_1984

Thank you for posting your review of Casa. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please accept our apologies for the oversight with the newspaper. As you point out, there are always a few spare in the public areas for our guests convenience. I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the double delux room for 1 night. Room was exceptionally clean & added bonus of a fridge with fresh milk for tea & coffee. Great nights sleep with extremely comfortable beds! Would most definitely recommend. All staff are extremely polite and friendly.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DownhamStuart, operations Director at Casa Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Rebecca B

Many thanks for reviewing us on Tripadvisor. It is great to hear that you had a very enjoyable stay. We are very fortunate to have such a passionate team at Casa. I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chesterfield
4.6 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ringwood Hall Hotel
Ringwood Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Brimington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
18.7 mi away
The Morley Hayes Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Portland Hotel
The Portland Hotel
#4 of 15 in Chesterfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
#9 of 15 in Chesterfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Chesterfield North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Hotel

Property: Casa Hotel
Address: Lockoford Lane, Chesterfield S41 7JB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Chesterfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa is Chesterfield premier four star hotel. An independent hotel, situated in the historic market town of Chesterfield, within easy reach of the beautiful Peak District and neighbouring cities, Sheffield and Nottingham. Casa is one of the only hotels in the UK that offers hot tubs on the balconies of four of our luxury suites. Each of our 100 bedrooms are designed with comfort and luxury in mind, fully controlable air conditioning thoughout, all windows are triple glazed and we only use award winning Hynos mattresses on our beds, rain showers in the bathrooms and 32' LCD screens with freeview, free high speed Wi-Fi and private fridges stocked with water and fresh milk. You'll also find homemade biscuits for your tea or coffee. Our bathrooms have rain showers with controls that enable you to adjust the temperature before getting in, without getting soaked. Our rates include a hearty breakfast in the Cocina restaurant, with eggs, bacon and sausages that are sourced locally from Walton Lodge Farm, just four miles away. To complement Casa's theme, Cocina restaurant offers a menu with a Spanish twist. Our talented chefs cook using Josper charcoal ovens, flown over especially from Barcelona. Our wine list is of the highest quality, thanks to the owner's passion for fine wines. Our cocktail bar, Barca, is a haven of free Wi-Fi, fresh coffee, delicious food and signature drinks, made using only the best brands and ingredients from around the world. Our eleven meeting rooms are purpose built to offer you the latest in conferencing solutions. We are able to accommodate from two to 280 people and all of our meeting rooms have floor to ceiling windows for maximum daylight, air conditioning, complimentary high speed Wi-Fi, data projection and 32" LCD televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Casa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing