We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very very nice!”
Review of Casa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casa Hotel
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Chesterfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Casa is definately worth a visit - we stayed in the Picasso suite and it was clean, spacious and comfortable. The hot-tub was lovely, my only critisism of this is that it could do with a lifter - the cover is very difficult and heavy to manoeuvre.

Other little niggles: The bathroom was adequate but could have done with being larger for a suite of this size and price - loads of towels though, bathrobes and slippers and really nice toiletries. There was also no means of making fresh coffee in the suite - fine if you're a tea drinker but I really missed my "proper coffee", somehow a sachet of nescafe doesn't really hit the spot! It really does need either a coffee maker or even a cafetiere with some good fresh coffee. For me, a black coffee adict, this is far more important than a carton of fresh milk in the fridge!

Dinner was excellent and breakfast too was really good - extensive buffet and staff more than happy to cook anything else to order. All the staff were really helpful and nothing seemed too much trouble.

The reason for my 4 star rather than 5 is, unfortunately, nothing that can be altered. The location is fine if on business in the area but all the rooms look out on a concrete jungle of car park, main roads and large supermarkets.

However, would I go again - yes!

Room Tip: Have a suite - Picasso was lovely - and eat in the restaurant - food was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ravensett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DownhamStuart, Operations Director at Casa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear Ravensett

Thank you for your review and constructive comments. We are actually installing two additional balcony hot tubs this week as they have proved so popular with our guests. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in the Picasso suite. I will check the covers on the hot tub and I acknowledge your comments regarding the coffee. Our suite bathrooms are exactly double the size of our standard bathrooms, and, in keeping with our value for money ethos, we pack rather a lot into them including separate rainshower cubicle, double basins and whirlpool bath with TV.
I am delighted that you rated your dinner and breakfast experience so highly as we pride ourselves on the quality of our food and service at Casa. We see our location as a key strength as we are so easily accessible from major routes and provide a great base for exploring the Peak District and surrounding areas. It is great to hear that you would visit us again and I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Stuart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,463)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

867 - 873 of 1,463 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2014

We stayed in The Casa for one Saturday night earlier in February. We were visiting the Peak District with friends and this was a great base. The hotel is fabulous there is nothing we can complain about. A very warm welcome on arrival, the rooms were superb with the comfiest beds we've slept I for a very long time! Nice touches like fresh milk in the fridge were very welcoming. Went for cocktails in the bar which was a lovely environment and busy but comfortable. Great nights sleep very quite. Lovely greeting at breakfast followed by an excellent selection on the buffet and a fab coked breakfast. Excellent service, facilities and staff we will definitely visit again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morsy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DownhamStuart, Operations Director at Casa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear Morsy2010

Thank you for your glowing review following your recent stay at Casa. I am delighted that you had such a positive stay and I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Stuart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

I've been staying at the Casa a couple of nights a week for over 6 months and its an absolute pleasure.

The rooms are a good size, well equipped with great beds.
The food is varied and of excellent quality at all times.
The staff are knowledgeable and well trained.

What more could a business traveller want?

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlunX404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DownhamStuart, Operations Director at Casa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2014

Dear Alunx404

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It is great to read that as a business traveller we are able to make you feel at home. As always if there is anything you need during your stay with us then please just let me know.

Kind regards

Mark Thurman
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

spent a night in the picasso suite with my wife as a late valentines break, the room was excellent and very spacious and with a hot tub on the balcony was very rexaling, the staff at the hotel were always pleasant polite and very helpful and the food is amazing, would not expect anything else from a hotel, was a very enjoyable experience

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gavin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DownhamStuart, Operations Director at Casa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2014

Dear Gavin H

What a fantastic review. It is great to read that you enjoyed all aspects of Casa.

Kind regards

Mark Thurman
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 1 night to break our journey home.Great hotel.Great room everything first class.Had dinner and breakfast at the restaurant which was also good.Have to say the staff were excellent especially Lucie and her team in the restaurant who could not have been more charming.Would definitely recommend both hotel and restaurant

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DownhamStuart, Operations Director at Casa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2014

Dear John A

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is great to read more fantastic feedback about our team. They will be delighted.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Thurman
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here very last minute (book half hour before we arrived) due to having to leave another dire hotel. The lady on reception was lovely and got us checked in super quick. Room was great, bed super comfy. While hotel done up to.a very high standard.
Bar was nice and welcoming and the restaurant was fab at breakfast with plenty to choose from and very yummy.
The staff throughout the hotel were so polite and couldn't do enough for us especially at breakfast.
Can not wait to stay again.
Husband had a lovely birthday weekend away. Thank you

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claire l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DownhamStuart, Operations Director at Casa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2014

Dear Claire I

Thank you for your review. It is wonderfulr to hear great feedback about our team, they truly make the hotel what it is.

Kind regards

Mark Thurman
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

The hotel is quite local for us however we have stayed a couple of times now to celebrate birthdays etc. each time we have been impressed with the service, surroundings and food. The rooms are clean modern and well maintained. If you are visiting the area this is the best by far. It is well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a junior suite it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1soupdragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DownhamStuart, Operations Director at Casa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2014

Dear 1soupdragon

Thank you for taking the time to review us. It is great to hear that as a local person you use us for a number of reasons.

Kind regards

Mark Thurman
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chesterfield
4.6 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
824 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ringwood Hall Hotel
Ringwood Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Brimington
1,029 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
#9 of 15 in Chesterfield
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
20.6 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
5.6 mi away
Twin Oaks Hotel
Twin Oaks Hotel
#1 of 1 in Palterton
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Hotel

Address: Lockoford Lane, Chesterfield S41 7JB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Chesterfield
Price Range: $131 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa is Chesterfield premier four star hotel. An independent hotel, situated in the historic market town of Chesterfield, within easy reach of the beautiful Peak District and neighbouring cities, Sheffield and Nottingham. Casa is one of the only hotels in the UK that offers hot tubs on the balconies of four of our luxury suites. Each of our 100 bedrooms are designed with comfort and luxury in mind, fully controlable air conditioning thoughout, all windows are triple glazed and we only use award winning Hynos mattresses on our beds, rain showers in the bathrooms and 32' LCD screens with freeview, free high speed Wi-Fi and private fridges stocked with water and fresh milk. You'll also find homemade biscuits for your tea or coffee. Our bathrooms have rain showers with controls that enable you to adjust the temperature before getting in, without getting soaked. Our rates include a hearty breakfast in the Cocina restaurant, with eggs, bacon and sausages that are sourced locally from Walton Lodge Farm, just four miles away. To complement Casa's theme, Cocina restaurant offers a menu with a Spanish twist. Our talented chefs cook using Josper charcoal ovens, flown over especially from Barcelona. Our wine list is of the highest quality, thanks to the owner's passion for fine wines. Our cocktail bar, Barca, is a haven of free Wi-Fi, fresh coffee, delicious food and signature drinks, made using only the best brands and ingredients from around the world. Our eleven meeting rooms are purpose built to offer you the latest in conferencing solutions. We are able to accommodate from two to 280 people and all of our meeting rooms have floor to ceiling windows for maximum daylight, air conditioning, complimentary high speed Wi-Fi, data projection and 32" LCD televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing