We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The total experience was a big wow!”
Review of Casa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Casa Hotel
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Chesterfield
Certificate of Excellence
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The total experience was a big wow!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have just returned from a weekend break at this fabulous Hotel!
It exceeded our expectations from start to finish, The welcome from friendly and professional staff, The quaility and tastful decor and fine finishes, the bedroom was superb, from the beautifully clean linen, most comfortable bed we have ever slept in, rain shower, down to the quality shampoo,and soft super white bath towels!
We thouroughly enjoyed the breakfast which again was freshly cooked locally sourced produce, plenty of it , with nothing left out, one of the best breakfast we have ever had!
There were a coulpe of functions going on in The Hotel, but in no way did it interfere with our relaxing and enjoyable stay, we thought the whole experienece was fantastic, and would not hesitate to recommend it to our friends and family, and anyone thinking of staying there.
It was excellent value for money too, well done Casa and your great Team! We look forward to going back!

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful, and we were very aware of the sound proofing! Didnt hear a thing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DownhamStuart, Operations Director at Casa Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Amanda H,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay here at the Casa Hotel. Our housekeeping team will be thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your room so much; they do a fabulous job of keeping the rooms to our high standards.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,074
    221
    40
    11
    3
See reviews for
150
571
26
301
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

i took my partner as a valentines surprise, i had booked the jacuzzi suite and the rooms were faultless. It was clean, spacious and the beds were really comfy. We also ate in the restaurant and the food was also quality with friendly, quick and professional service throughout. Overall i couldn't fault the hotel for the room and food BUT after checking out and getting home i noticed that someone had hit my car on the front bumper and done a good amount of damage to it. It was the only possible place it could have happened and i'm 100% certain it happened there. So i went down and spoke to a woman on reception and i explained what had happened and she fetched one of the managers, i was told that nobody was in who had access to the cameras and i was to leave contact details, details of my car, where it was parked, the date and the check in time and the check out time. i left all these with the reception staff. I stayed in the hotel on the 15th February and checked out on 16th February. By 19th February nobody had contacted me which was surprising as i was told that they take matters like this very serious. So on the 21st i went down to see if any progress had been made, i was told all the managers were in a meeting and the message would be passed on. on Friday 22nd February i got a phonecall from the receptionist (not the manager, which was shocking) explaining to me that the cameras hadn't been running since the beginning of January and that there had been an issue with them. She then started to try and explain how they were having the engineers come in, which was no great help to me, as it had already happened and supposingly the cameras hadn't been working for over a month. So after being told this i went down again to the hotel on 23rd February querying what i had been told, i finally got to speak to a manger about the situation. He took me into a room where i explained everything that had gone on, after telling him this he told me that the cameras had been running and they have investigated the case and that they haven't found anything. So having been told two different things i didn't really know where i stood or what to believe. For the amount of money that i had paid (which was over £300) i expected to be treated a lot better than what i had and the situation has been handled very poorly. Very off putting and a terrible ending to what would have been a fabulous evening. In the top ten of best hotels in the country and no cctv to protect customers????

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DownhamStuart, Operations Manager at Casa Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear George B

Thank you for your wonderful feedback regarding your stay, I am pleased you found the food and rooms to be faultless. I am left a little confused by your review as parts of it do not correlate to the actual version of events. I was off from 16th February – 23rd February and was the manager you refer to having spoken to on the 23rd. However, I remember very clearly having a conversation with your mother not yourself on the 23rd February to which I apologised that nobody had been in contact and that I had checked the CCTV that morning as the receptionist was misinformed and there was nothing on there that led us to believe any damage to your car occurred on the hotel premises. Perhaps it is feasible that as you had not noticed the damage until you got home that you may not have noticed the damage prior to arriving at the hotel. I am sorry that we were not able to help any further other than confirming that the damage did not happen on our premises. It is a shame that you provide us with a score of 27/30 for your stay but your overall score reflects as terrible on our rating.

Kind regards

Mark Thurman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2013

my fiancé took me for valentines and the hotel was amazing the staff were friendly, helpful and very professionally! the rooms were great and had the most comfiest bed we have ever slept in! we live in chesterfield and wanted a night away but had to stay local due to working the following morning and this hotel was ideal and is a credit to have in chesterfield! Every thing about our stay was fantastic and would stay again :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DownhamStuart, Operations Director at Casa Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Jenna S,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at the Casa Hotel. I am so pleased to hear that you had a such a great Valentine's experience both in the hotel and our restaurant, Cocina. Did you know that we have actually won awards for these beds and we now sell the beds we use in the hotel?

We look forward to seeing you again soon in the near future.

Regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

On the positive side this hotel was clean, the rooms were large, the bed was HUGE (big enough for three people and very comfortable), the staff were very friendly and efficient and the food was very good. The hotel is particularly good value if you do their deal of bed, breakfast and evening meal for £120 for two people. This is only £21 more than b+b and so the two of you can eat in their restaurant for very little indeed. Do check up on how much your allowance is in the restaurant, however, as we were not told and overspent quite a bit. There is a good range of nice tea in the room and fresh milk in the fridge, but it would have been nice to have something better than Nescafe instant coffee.

On the negative side, having built the hotel next to a dual carriageway they didn't soundproof it very well and I found the noise of the traffic quite disturbing in the night. The room was quite stuffy and because of the noise you couldn't really open the windows. There is no real view - we had a view of Tesco Extra - and the extractor fan in the bathroom didn't work well. For a hotel this size the gym is tiny and it is surprising not to have a pool..

If I was sent to Chesterfield on business then I would want to stay here. If I was looking for a place to stay as a base for exploring the area then I would go somewhere that was in a nicer, quieter, location. Chesterfield itself doesn't have much to offer other than a wonderful church. It does have many clubs, but the town is quite run down.

Room Tip: Try and get a room that doesn't face any of the dual carriageways as this may be a little quiete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DownhamStuart, Operations Director at Casa Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Paul M

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Casa. I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay. I will investigate your comments regarding the noise from the traffic. The acoustics within the hotel were high on our priority list hence the double glazed windows and pre-cast concrete construction of the bedrooms. As many previous reviews highlight, our sound proofing is a great plus point. It is possible that the window in the room that you stayed in needs adjusting to ensure that the acoustic seal is properly aligned, thank you for bringing this to our attention. We provide fully controllable air conditioning in all bedrooms in addition to general air supply/extract so there should be no reason for a room to be stuffy. We will check the extractor fan in the bathroom, they run silently and are set on timers which may need a slight adjustment. It is true that our gym is compact. However, our purpose was to provide a short, high quality workout for our resident guests only. As such we provide a selection of cardiovascular and resistance equipment from Life Fitness. Having closely monitored the gym usage levels and feedback from our guests over the first two years of operation we are comfortable that our offering is appropriate. Our location is extremely convenient both for business and as a base for exploring the many attractions that the Peak District and Derbyshire has to offer.

Thank you for your detailed feedback, it is great to hear you will return to Casa and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I checked in to the Casa on what must have been the rainiest day of the year, I was greeted with a warm welcome and swift check-in. The room was spacious, clean and well laid out for work and sleep. The gym was compact but fit for purpose. The hotel did feel a bit like someones ego has got the better of them but I am glad it did because I will not stay anywhere else when I am in the East Midlands/Sheffield. The real highlight is the bar. The owners of the hotel know a thing or two about booze and the beers and spirits on offer are exceptional and the food matches perfectly. The breakfast was all free range and good quality with a competent chef on hand to make eggs, kippers etc. Wifi was free and worked everywhere, I really couldn't fault this stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RRJ81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DownhamStuart, Operations Director at Casa Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear RRJ81,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at the Casa Hotel. We really appreciate all the great comments you have made about the features of our hotel. It’s funny you should mention how or ‘owners of the hotel know a thing or two about booze’ as the chairman of the hotel also owns a well-known drinks company, Global Brands, and it is their drinks that feature heavily throughout Casa. Did you know that we have numerous events running throughout the year that celebrate various regions and the food/wines that they offer?

We look forward to seeing you again soon, and if you wish to hear any more information on our events then please contact the hotel directly.

Regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stayed there a few months ago on the recommendation of a friend and I have to say, a fantastic stay and wonderful rooms and a great breakfast. I hope they open more around the country as this sets the bench mark for business stay hotels in my view.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DownhamStuart, Operations Director at Casa Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Simon G,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience here at Casa, we pride ourselves on being the best possible hotel for our business guests.

We look forward to seeing you again soon

Regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

What a beautifull hotel .. So clean warm and friendly .. Lovely staff who cannot do enough for you . The standards in this hotel are very high .food amazing .. So tastefully decorated and designed .. Feels like a real treat to stay here .. Defo coming back as often as impossible .. Cannot fault this hotel worth every penny .. I stay in
Many hotels and rate this in my top five ..

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hotfog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DownhamStuart, Operations Director at Casa Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Fotfog,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay here at Casa. We really appreciate all the great things you have to say about our hotel, and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Please don’t forget to contact the hotel directly to get our best rates on your next stay.

Regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chesterfield
4.6 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
733 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ringwood Hall Hotel
Ringwood Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Brimington
991 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
#9 of 15 in Chesterfield
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Portland Hotel
The Portland Hotel
#4 of 15 in Chesterfield
585 reviews
0.7 mi away
Buckingham's Hotel
Buckingham's Hotel
#13 of 15 in Chesterfield
245 reviews
19.1 mi away
The Morley Hayes Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Hotel

Property: Casa Hotel
Address: Lockoford Lane, Chesterfield S41 7JB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Chesterfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa is Chesterfield premier four star hotel. An independent hotel, situated in the historic market town of Chesterfield, within easy reach of the beautiful Peak District and neighbouring cities, Sheffield and Nottingham. Casa is one of the only hotels in the UK that offers hot tubs on the balconies of four of our luxury suites. Each of our 100 bedrooms are designed with comfort and luxury in mind, fully controlable air conditioning thoughout, all windows are triple glazed and we only use award winning Hynos mattresses on our beds, rain showers in the bathrooms and 32' LCD screens with freeview, free high speed Wi-Fi and private fridges stocked with water and fresh milk. You'll also find homemade biscuits for your tea or coffee. Our bathrooms have rain showers with controls that enable you to adjust the temperature before getting in, without getting soaked. Our rates include a hearty breakfast in the Cocina restaurant, with eggs, bacon and sausages that are sourced locally from Walton Lodge Farm, just four miles away. To complement Casa's theme, Cocina restaurant offers a menu with a Spanish twist. Our talented chefs cook using Josper charcoal ovens, flown over especially from Barcelona. Our wine list is of the highest quality, thanks to the owner's passion for fine wines. Our cocktail bar, Barca, is a haven of free Wi-Fi, fresh coffee, delicious food and signature drinks, made using only the best brands and ingredients from around the world. Our eleven meeting rooms are purpose built to offer you the latest in conferencing solutions. We are able to accommodate from two to 280 people and all of our meeting rooms have floor to ceiling windows for maximum daylight, air conditioning, complimentary high speed Wi-Fi, data projection and 32" LCD televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Casa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing