We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“outstanding!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Chesterfield
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“outstanding!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Fantastic stay although only for 1 night, wish it could have been more.. Everything about the Casa is wonderful, the staff, the atmosphere, the food quality, the room and comfort..... I can not praise this hotel enough. So if you are ever staying in Chesterfield this is the place to be, Plus the restaurant serves the most amazing food............ don't look any further.....book today. we will be back!!! :-)

Room Tip: from what I hear there is no bad rooms here, ours was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank toffeeyface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuartdownham, Operations Director at Casa Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear toffeeyface,

Thank you for taking the time to review your time at Casa, we really appreciate your glowing review of your stay. We pride ourselves on giving the finest customer service possible and our rooms are fitted with our award winning Hypno’s beds, we’re so proud of them that we actually sell them. All the meat in the restaurant is reared in our owners local Walton Lodge Farm and we believe that this gives the food that amazing taste.
We look forward to seeing you again in the near future and please don't forget to book directly through the hotel to get our best rates.

Regards,
Staurt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,020
    201
    32
    8
    3
See reviews for
142
527
26
281
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
236 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

I travel extensively throughout the UK and abroad during my line of work and believe me I have seen them all, but nothing yet measures up to this hotel for service and excellence.

I booked this hotel only to suit in with the location off business trip, and I am ever so glad I booked this hotel.

The hotel is excellent in all aspects, room size, cleanliness, staff who always seem to be on hand and were so pleasant at all times, and you never wait for anything.

I never dinned in the hotel, due to business commitments, but if the meals are anything like the breakfast, I am sorry I missed out.

It is sometimes the small things that make your stay so much special, like the extra speaker in the bathroom to enable you to still keep listening to the TV when you are using the shower, the free Wi-Fi, the nice selection of bathroom toiletries, along with the nice thick towels, and a great shower, all small in their own, but make your stay so much more pleasant.

Please keep up the great work you all perform here, and I will definitely try and get back soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jman26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuartdownham, Operations Director at Casa Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear jman26,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Casa Hotel, I am so pleased that you enjoyed your experience and that you speak so highly of the hotel. At Casa, we believe it is the small things that add up to the big differences, such as the fluffy towels, the free Wi-Fi and the bathroom toiletries. All of our meat is reared on our own organic farm, Walton Lodge, and we believe that makes the difference in the taste.

We hope to see you again soon in the near future and get to experience the restaurant as well.

Regards,
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a 2 night stay at this amazing hotel to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary and we wanted to thank some of the brilliant bar and restaurant staff who made our stay a memorable one.
On arrival, the receptionist was a bit sharp (red haired lady). She seemed annoyed we were there, never wanted to make conversation and didnt listen when we said we wanted to pay cash for our stay. She insisted we give her a credit card, but we kept explaining we wanted to pay by cash, and also pay for drinks etc by cash when we had them. We had to stipulate our means of payment four times before she eventually proceeded with our check in. When counting our cash, she kept sighing and was clearly fed up and we thought this was not a good way to be greeted or treated to a new hotel.
After check in, we made our way to our room - the Picasso Suite, which had its own private jacuzzi on a balcony and is on the second floor. There were plenty of lifts to use and all areas were very clean and immaculately presented.
We were not told how to open the door (sweeping the keycard slowly across the keypad, so this had us stumped for a little while, but we finally got the hang of it!
On first entering the room we were quite pleased with it. It was exactly as it's shown on the hotels website and the balcony and hot tub looked fantastic. We were however, quite disappointed with the size of the bathroom and thought this let the opulent room down somewhat.
The spa bath was only a normal sized bathtub with jets (we expected a double one) and the shower was only single sized also. On using the shower it had great pressure, but I didnt have enough room to bend down and shave my legs. We presumed there was supposed to be an extractor fan in the bathroom given its size and location, but there wasnt one working, which wasnt good in such an enclosed space.
The bed was as described, lovely and large and was quite comfortable. We loved the room climate control and excellent sized fridge in the room for milk, drinks etc.
The in room entertainment was however, quite sparse. We would have liked either a dvd player, or in house movies available instead of just freeview channels and an ipod dock or music system would have been an added bonus too. There were only a couple of music channels and the radio through the tv to choose from. Also speakers on the balcony would have been great, instead of listening to the roar of the road noise outside. Our preferences were mainly due to us staying 2 nights and having longer in the room than most staying one night, but for the expense, it would be nice to have every need thought of.
The hot tub was as we expected, clean, large, hot and inviting and there were plenty of towels for using it.
We were on a dinner, bed and breakfast package and had heard good reviews about the food.
On the first night we were greeted by lovely, friendly staff, who made us feel both welcome and special by wishing us a happy anniversary, and putting us in a romantic booth where we could watch the amazing chefs cook up wonders in the kitchen. We found a lovely card on the table for us both and received a complimentary drink for our special occasion. The meal was amazing and nothing was too much trouble for the waiting staff. They were very attentative, always smiling and couldn't do enough for you. At breakfast, again the staff were very helpful and on hand for your every need. On our second evening, again the staff were very welcoming and helpful, and remembered what we drank the previous night and our food preferences which I thought was great. The food again was top notch and we had a lovely night.
We have stayed in many hotels over the years, but we've never experienced such excellent customer care as we had here - the ladies in the bar and restaurant couldn't do enough for us. They are an amazing asset to this great hotel and we would not hesitate to come back and see the girls again. Thanks for making our break a special one.

Room Tip: Book one of the suites - amazing space, brilliant hot tub and great sized balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuartdownham, Operations Director at Casa Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Andrea P,

Thank you for taking the time to write such an extensive review on your stay at Casa Hotel. I am happy to hear that your overall experience was made to feel special and that you found the customer care to be excellent. I will investigate further into your comments about the member of staff on the front desk.
I will pass on your comments about the restaurant and bar staff, they will be greatly appreciated I am sure. Did you know that all of our meat is reared on our very own Organic Walton Lodge Farm, situated just 4 miles from the hotel, and we believe that this adds to the flavour of the food.
We hope to see you again soon in the near future and please dont hesitate to contact the hotel directly to book a room or table in our restaurant.

Regards,
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakewell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

Excellent and welcoming service from the staff.
We had a bottle of bubbly followed by Paella in the restaurant and the whole experience was fantastic. The paella was a special request from my partner, where do I find it in Chesterfield? at Casa of course where it is on the menu everyday with a fabulous selection of fish, baby squid, king prawns, clams and so on. The large Paella dish is brought to the table and creates quite a stir and to finish our eve courtesy of Casa my birthday boy received a Thornton's chocolate liqueur and a birthday card. First class throughout. well done all at Casa.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuartdownham, Operations Director at Casa Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Sarah J,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your time at Casa Hotel. We are very proud of the Paella in Cocina, it is our owners (Steve Perez) own recipe. I am happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your evening and glad that your experience warranted the amazing 5 star review.
We hope to see you again in the future and for any of your celebration needs please dont hesitate to contact the hotel directly.

Regards,
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
122 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed here and it was as good as the previous time. The room was immaculate and one of the comfiest beds we have slept in, fresh milk in the fridge and a very good choice of TV programmes on the large flat screen tv. The whole hotel is of a high standard and clean throughout, all the staff where very helpful. The breakfast was freshly cooked, very tasty and served hot.
There is plenty of free car parking. The hotel sign has 4 stars, it should read 5 stars!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RGB25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuartdownham, Operations Director at Casa Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear RGB25,

Thank you for taking the time to once again give us a brilliant review and we appreciate that you returned to Casa when visiting Chesterfield. Our Hypnos beds actually won the late rooms comfiest bed award, and we actually sell them if you are interested in buying one for yourself. At Casa we believe that it’s the little things that make the huge difference such as the fresh milk and the variety of TV channels.

We look forward to seeing you again soon and please contact the hotel directly for our best rates.

Regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

My stay at CASA was nothing but superb, on entrance the lobby was immaculate and welcoming and I loved the candle lit lanterns dotted around. The staff were very pleasent and friendly and were on hand for anything I needed. The room was lovely and the Bed well lets just say its the biggest and most comfy bed I have ever slept in. I Would also recommend the restaurant I took my Husband for our anniversary meal, all the food was locally sourced fresh produce cooked to a very high standard. I was spoilt for choice, I will be back to try the further culinary delights.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Love2travelNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuartdownham, Operations Director at Casa Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Love2travelNewcastle

Thank you for taking the time to right a review of you stay at Casa. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found the experience to be enjoyable. Our award winning Hypnos beds truly are amazing, we also believe that they are the comfiest beds available, which is why we actually sell them. If you wish to buy one from us please contact the hotel directly. Your comments about our restaurant, Cocina, will be passed on to team and be greatly appreciated I am sure.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Regards,
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

If only all hotels were this good, so comfy, a great modern hotel with lot's of style, with excellent staff, who work very hard (and succeed) in to making guest's feel very welcome. A first class hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuartdownham, Operations Director at Casa Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Chris P,

Thank you for your comment on Casa Hotel, I am happy that you felt so comfortable during your stay. We aim for Casa to be a ‘home from home’.

We look forward to seeing you again.
Regards,
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chesterfield
4.6 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ringwood Hall Hotel
Ringwood Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Brimington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
18.7 mi away
The Morley Hayes Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Portland Hotel
The Portland Hotel
#4 of 15 in Chesterfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Chesterfield North Hotel
1.3 mi away
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
#9 of 15 in Chesterfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Hotel

Property: Casa Hotel
Address: Lockoford Lane, Chesterfield S41 7JB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Chesterfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa is Chesterfield premier four star hotel. An independent hotel, situated in the historic market town of Chesterfield, within easy reach of the beautiful Peak District and neighbouring cities, Sheffield and Nottingham. Casa is one of the only hotels in the UK that offers hot tubs on the balconies of four of our luxury suites. Each of our 100 bedrooms are designed with comfort and luxury in mind, fully controlable air conditioning thoughout, all windows are triple glazed and we only use award winning Hynos mattresses on our beds, rain showers in the bathrooms and 32' LCD screens with freeview, free high speed Wi-Fi and private fridges stocked with water and fresh milk. You'll also find homemade biscuits for your tea or coffee. Our bathrooms have rain showers with controls that enable you to adjust the temperature before getting in, without getting soaked. Our rates include a hearty breakfast in the Cocina restaurant, with eggs, bacon and sausages that are sourced locally from Walton Lodge Farm, just four miles away. To complement Casa's theme, Cocina restaurant offers a menu with a Spanish twist. Our talented chefs cook using Josper charcoal ovens, flown over especially from Barcelona. Our wine list is of the highest quality, thanks to the owner's passion for fine wines. Our cocktail bar, Barca, is a haven of free Wi-Fi, fresh coffee, delicious food and signature drinks, made using only the best brands and ingredients from around the world. Our eleven meeting rooms are purpose built to offer you the latest in conferencing solutions. We are able to accommodate from two to 280 people and all of our meeting rooms have floor to ceiling windows for maximum daylight, air conditioning, complimentary high speed Wi-Fi, data projection and 32" LCD televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Casa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing