We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid at any cost”
Review of Casa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Hotel
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Chesterfield
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Avoid at any cost”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

A disappointing experience! On arrival we were checked in by a friendly member of staff, so far so good. As the hotel is reasonably new all looked well, however not luxurious and as we paid 110£ we would have expected a bit more.However when we came in theroom the televison did not work, without trying to be fussy, the bathroom was not spotlessly clean and on top of that there were some stains on the sheets! Above it all when we decided to have something to eat in the restaurant we had to wait a full 2 hours to get what we orderd!! However the breakfast in the morning was lovely ! Overal it was okay but would not stay there again as for that price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Soya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuartdownham, Operations Director (Mark Thurman) at Casa Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Soya P

I am sorry that you experienced a few issues during your stay. Regrettably we are yet to receive a response from you regarding the issues you have raised on trip advisor so we cannot thoroughly investigate them. I can assure you that the issues raised have nonetheless been addressed as best we are able to with the limited information we have to go on and these issues are certainly not indicative of our normal standards, as other reviews will testify. If you would like to contact me personally to discuss I would be very grateful for your time and direct feedback.

Kind Regards

Mark Thurman
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,064
    217
    39
    11
    3
See reviews for
149
565
26
295
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Casa Hotel in Chesterfield is a real 4 star hotel and compared to pretty much everything else in Chesterfield its streets ahead. You can get cheap deals around but dont expect much even from the Premier Travel Inn. I get my Casa hotel for £90 including breakfast which is awesome so if you have to pay £60 for Premier Travel Inn and remember another £8-10 for breakfast go to the Casa for the extra £20. Lovely comfortable beds, a great experience for a extra £20. For me now when i have to pay £65 at the Premier Inn i go to the Casa.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skyimplant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuartdownham, Operations Director at Casa Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear bsugs,

Thank you for your review on Casa Hotel. We are thrilled that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.

As you pointed out, we are in a perfect location to visit numerous tourist attractions including Chatsworth House, Hardwick Hall and Bolsover Castle. I hope you enjoyed your time at Chatsworth House, it is always a lovely weekend.

The rainshowers have a regulator on the head of the shower which can be adjusted varying on the pressure preferred. We aim to keep them on the middle setting however on this occasion yours must not have been checked.


Regards,
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
251 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Great location, well priced at under £100, very friendly with good attention to detail

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in this area. It is within 30 mins of amazing scenery and fantastic places such as Chatsworth House and Bakewell.
Our room was very quiet ( 3rd floor) and amazingly comfortable. Free wifi, very comfortable bed, huge walkin shower with a choice of shower heads, night lighting in the bathroom, a fridge with proper milk, black out curtains , good choice of lighting especially for reading in bed. The room really surpassed our expectations.
Breakfast was included and was delicious, freshly cooked and a great choice served by friendly local staff who really seemed to enjoy their work and understand how to provide a good customer experience, nothing was too much trouble.
I will look out for other Casa hotels in the future when travelling.

Room Tip: The hotel is on a busy junction so I would think that a higher floor might be better. We heard no ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank budcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuartdownham, Marketing Coordinator at Casa Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear BudCat

Thank you for leaving a review for Casa Hotel, we appreciate you taking the time to do so. We are thrilled that you had such a fantastic stay with us and would recommend Casa to others. We are in an ideal location to be able to access all of the local attractions including Chatsworth House, Hardwich Hall, Matlock Bath and may more so there is defiantly lots to see.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the future to experience more of the Peak District.

Regards,
Katie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I have stayed here twice now on the first occasion I stayed for two nights and this time I stayed for three nights. The standard rooms are very good with plenty of space and the suites are lovely on my last stay I was in a standard room which was brillaint and a suite for my last night which again was excellent and very large.

I have to say the breakfast is very good and the dinner was brillaint I can recommend the paella which I shared with a work colleguemwho thought the same I had the tapas on another night which was fab. There is plenty of staff who all seem very helpful, the management team in this hotel clearly train there staff very well and should be proud of the achievement.

Very good I will be back and have already recommended this hotel to the other people I work with.

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gareth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuartdownham, Operations Director at Casa Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Gareth J

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review. We are very proud of the team at Casa and are pleased that our service has been consistent high on both of your visits. We are delighted that you enjoyed your meal with us in Cocina for breakfast and your evening meal.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Regards,
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel for one night while meeting friends in the area. Great links for travelling to the Peak District and Chatsworth House. We enjoyed great service and high quality food. One of the best independent hotels I've stayed in.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuartdownham, Operations Director at Casa Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear 6Mb15

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. It means a lot to us that your stay at Casa was a positive one. I hope you had a nice time with your friends and that your visit to the peak district was enjoyable.

We hope to welcome you back to Casa in the future and you can experience more of the beautiful area.

Reagrds,
Katie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

The food/restaurant is excellent, we think its better than Gordon's at Claridges!

The public bar serves the original "Hooch alcoholic lemonade" which takes you back to being a teenager, and they serve an endless supply of delicious complementary tapas snacks.

The customer service is truly superior, the slightest of "niggles" and your fussed over by at least 3 members of staff and a Manager!

The hotel is spotlessly clean and has the biggest, most comfortable beds we've ever slept in!

For special occasions, the hot tub suites are well worth upgrading too.

The only downside to this hotel is the location, but the standard of the hotel, the excellent food & the outstanding staff make it one of the best hotels we have stayed in overall.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tallulah-Skye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuartdownham, Marketing Coordinator at Casa Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Tallulah-Skye

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review for Casa. We are thrilled that your return to Casa was such a positive experience. We agree that our hot tub suites defiantly add that little bit extra to those special occasions and we are glad that you liked your room.

We pride ourselves in our customer service and we will always go that extra mile to ensure that your trip is memorable and special.

We hope to welcome you back to Casa in the near future.

Regards,
Katie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

My wife & I stayed 2 nights on the way back to Essex following a 2 week Scottish Highlands Tour.

We both really enjoyed our stay the hotel is easy to find , well located and has plenty of free on-site car parking. Despite being on a main road we found the hotel to be extermely quiet. Reception staff were very smiley and welcoming. Room was excellent with quality fixtures and fittings evrything looks and functions as new. Silent air conditioning !. Bathroom had double shower no bath.

Breakfast was really very good with both piping hot plates and food. Something that we have found on our travels many other hotels don't provide. Kippers and other egg / omelette orders via waitress to kitchen staff directly located next to the seating area - again very friendly and smiley staff.

Recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denhamania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuartdownham, Operations Director at Casa Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear denhamania,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Casa, I hope that you enjoyed your trip to the Scottish Highlands and we are thrilled that you had such a pleasant stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Regards,
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chesterfield
4.6 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ringwood Hall Hotel
Ringwood Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Brimington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
19.1 mi away
The Morley Hayes Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Portland Hotel
The Portland Hotel
#4 of 15 in Chesterfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Chesterfield North Hotel
0.7 mi away
Buckingham's Hotel
Buckingham's Hotel
#14 of 15 in Chesterfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Hotel

Property: Casa Hotel
Address: Lockoford Lane, Chesterfield S41 7JB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Chesterfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa is Chesterfield premier four star hotel. An independent hotel, situated in the historic market town of Chesterfield, within easy reach of the beautiful Peak District and neighbouring cities, Sheffield and Nottingham. Casa is one of the only hotels in the UK that offers hot tubs on the balconies of four of our luxury suites. Each of our 100 bedrooms are designed with comfort and luxury in mind, fully controlable air conditioning thoughout, all windows are triple glazed and we only use award winning Hynos mattresses on our beds, rain showers in the bathrooms and 32' LCD screens with freeview, free high speed Wi-Fi and private fridges stocked with water and fresh milk. You'll also find homemade biscuits for your tea or coffee. Our bathrooms have rain showers with controls that enable you to adjust the temperature before getting in, without getting soaked. Our rates include a hearty breakfast in the Cocina restaurant, with eggs, bacon and sausages that are sourced locally from Walton Lodge Farm, just four miles away. To complement Casa's theme, Cocina restaurant offers a menu with a Spanish twist. Our talented chefs cook using Josper charcoal ovens, flown over especially from Barcelona. Our wine list is of the highest quality, thanks to the owner's passion for fine wines. Our cocktail bar, Barca, is a haven of free Wi-Fi, fresh coffee, delicious food and signature drinks, made using only the best brands and ingredients from around the world. Our eleven meeting rooms are purpose built to offer you the latest in conferencing solutions. We are able to accommodate from two to 280 people and all of our meeting rooms have floor to ceiling windows for maximum daylight, air conditioning, complimentary high speed Wi-Fi, data projection and 32" LCD televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Casa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing