We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Faultless”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Hotel
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Chesterfield
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply Faultless”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

This was our second stay at the Casa Hotel, in fact we were booked in somewhere else (the Hilton Nottingham), but were very dissapointed when we arrived, so we rang up Casa and they had a room free, we got back in the car and headed 20 minutes North. So glad we did, this hotel is superb, there's not much nearby to walk to, which was our initial reservation, but you soon forget about that when you have such a superb room, a top notch bar and a restaurant to die for. I read somewhere the chef worked under Gordon Ramsay and you can tell, it only cost £40 per head for a 3 course, including a bottle of wine. So if you like modern, contemporay hotels you will be blown away by this.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria C, PR & Marketing Coordinator at Casa Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Dear Tony C
We are delighted that you decided to stay at Casa, I hope we made the start of your trip better. Thank you for leaving a review for Casa, we appreciate it. We are pleased that you enjoy staying with us and that you have been able to take advantage of both Barca bar and Cocina restaurant. Our Head Chef Andy and his team have a wealth of experience of working in some of the top restaurants in the world, and have already achieved a Rosette for Cocina in its first year.
I hope we can welcome you back to Cocina again soon.
Kind regards,
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,042
    214
    36
    10
    3
See reviews for
147
545
26
291
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

Our best friend celebrated her 70th birthday earlier this year. My husband and I decided to treat her to a weekend away at Casa. As we were in Chesterfield we called in to the hotel to make our booking in person. We explained to the receptionist that we required two nights bed and breakfast with dinner on the first night only. She quoted us a price and printed the confirmation while we waited, and we doubly checked that the price quoted was for dinner on one night only, ie Friday 25th May 2012. A week before our visit we received a telephone call at home requesting a time for dinner on the Saturday evening. We advised the person ringing that we were not having dinner on the Saturday evening. On arrival we checked that the price of dinner on Saturday had not been included in the cost of our stay, and, it had been, and our bill was reduced by £80. On the Sunday morning when my husband went to settle the account he found to his dismay that an amount of £60 had been added to the account, for wine consumed in the restaurant Saturday evening plus cocktails in the early hours of Sunday. He asked to see the invoices from the restaurant, as this was clearly a mistake, the bills provided did not have a customer name on them or a room number. Why they were posted on to our account remains a mystery as the receptionist could not provide an explanation. This is a lovely hotel, with very friendly staff, but the competence of reception is in doubt. PLEASE CHECK YOUR
BILL VERY CAREFULLY BEFORE YOU PAY.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Isabelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria C, PR & Marketing Coordinator at Casa Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Dear Isabelle J,
Thank you for leaving a review for trip advisor. I am sorry to hear that you experienced some problems surrounding your final bill. I have investigated the issue regarding your dinner and it appears that our system did not allocate your dinner allowance to your room. What this means is that when you order something in the restaurant and the waitress charges it to your room the system recognises that you have prepaid for a dinner bed and breakfast and deducts it automatically. Unfortunately on this occasion it did not happen making it look like you were being charged twice for dinner, we are looking into this with our system supplier.

The drinks that had been added to your bill totalled £17. This was an error on the part of our Bar supervisor who charged these drinks to your room accidentally. As I am sure you can appreciate on a busy evening human error can sometimes occur, this was removed from your bill immediately by our reception staff and we apologise for this.
We hope we can welcome you back again in the future.
Kind regards,
Mark
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

We stayed here for one night, the room was lovely and the bed was like sleeping on a cloud. The most memorable part of our stay was the meal in the hotel restaurant the food was absolutely amazing. The only problem we did have was the room was far too hot even with the cooling on and we couldn't open the window as there was a busy dual carriageway below us. Even if you don't stay here I would definitely recomend dining in the restaurant as it is one of the best meals we have ever had.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaibry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria C, PR & Marketing Coordinator at Casa Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
Dear Jaibry,
Thank you for leaving a review for Casa. We are pleased you had a peaceful night’s sleep on our award winning beds but I am sorry to hear that your room was too hot. I am not sure if you raised this with a member of our team, who would have been happy to help get your room to a suitable temperature. Over the weekend we arranged for our air conditioning to be serviced to ensure it is working to its full capability in this hot weather.
Thank you for your feedback on the restaurant. I will pass this information onto the restaurant team, who will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed meal.
I hope we can welcome you back to Casa and Cocina soon.
Kind regards,
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

It's worth a detour to stay here, it's like being on holiday in a classy Spanish hotel...and do eat in the restaurant, it's extremely good. The bar also serves the best capuccino for very many miles.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria C, PR & Marketing Coordinator at Casa Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Dear Brian M,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for Casa hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us for your corporate event. Our coffee is supplied by local coffee merchant, Northern Tea Merchants to ensure the best quality coffee is used to make our cappuccinos.
I hope we can welcome you back to Casa, Cocina and Barca again soon.
Kind regards,
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

After months of planning for a Charity Ball in aid of Help for Heroes, with the help of Alex the whole evening was faultless. Becky and her team were wonderful in getting all the meals served quickly which helped our busy timetable, nothing was too much trouble and the food was wonderful. Everyone enjoyed the evening thank you all once again.
Lynn and the girls Help for Heroes.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria C, PR & Marketing Coordinator at Casa Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Dear Lynn J
Thank you so much for leaving such a great review for Casa, we are delighted that your event went so smoothly and you were able to enjoy the evening. We are delighted that our events and banqueting team were able to create the evening you desired.
I hope we can welcome you back for more fundraising events in the future.
Kind regards,
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

This is our second stay at this Hotel.
Like the first trip , the Hotel was clean and modern and staff very friendly and professional.
The room had everything you would need and the air conditioning work well.
Great hotel ticked all the boxes.
We went for a late checkout and did not have to exit room until 1pm and went for the Brunch option. This was included in the price !

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria C, PR & Marketing Coordinator at Casa Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Dear Kevin R,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for Casa, we are delighted that you have enjoyed your time with us.
I am glad that you were able to take advantage of our late check out and brunch offer that we are running at the moment and offer to all guests staying on a Saturday night.
I hope we can welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012 via mobile

Stayed a few times now and the service, staff and food doesnt change...excellent. I may bring the wife one day if she is a good girl.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Masternash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria C, PR & Marketing Coordinator at Casa Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Dear Masternash,
Thank you for leaving a review for Casa, we are delighted you enjoy staying with us. If you do decide to join for a leisure break why not take a look at our Picasso or Gaudi suites, which have balcony hot tubs. It is sure to get you in the good books with Mrs Masternash.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards,
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chesterfield
4.6 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ringwood Hall Hotel
Ringwood Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Brimington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
19.1 mi away
The Morley Hayes Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Portland Hotel
The Portland Hotel
#4 of 15 in Chesterfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Chesterfield North Hotel
0.7 mi away
Buckingham's Hotel
Buckingham's Hotel
#13 of 15 in Chesterfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Hotel

Property: Casa Hotel
Address: Lockoford Lane, Chesterfield S41 7JB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Chesterfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa is Chesterfield premier four star hotel. An independent hotel, situated in the historic market town of Chesterfield, within easy reach of the beautiful Peak District and neighbouring cities, Sheffield and Nottingham. Casa is one of the only hotels in the UK that offers hot tubs on the balconies of four of our luxury suites. Each of our 100 bedrooms are designed with comfort and luxury in mind, fully controlable air conditioning thoughout, all windows are triple glazed and we only use award winning Hynos mattresses on our beds, rain showers in the bathrooms and 32' LCD screens with freeview, free high speed Wi-Fi and private fridges stocked with water and fresh milk. You'll also find homemade biscuits for your tea or coffee. Our bathrooms have rain showers with controls that enable you to adjust the temperature before getting in, without getting soaked. Our rates include a hearty breakfast in the Cocina restaurant, with eggs, bacon and sausages that are sourced locally from Walton Lodge Farm, just four miles away. To complement Casa's theme, Cocina restaurant offers a menu with a Spanish twist. Our talented chefs cook using Josper charcoal ovens, flown over especially from Barcelona. Our wine list is of the highest quality, thanks to the owner's passion for fine wines. Our cocktail bar, Barca, is a haven of free Wi-Fi, fresh coffee, delicious food and signature drinks, made using only the best brands and ingredients from around the world. Our eleven meeting rooms are purpose built to offer you the latest in conferencing solutions. We are able to accommodate from two to 280 people and all of our meeting rooms have floor to ceiling windows for maximum daylight, air conditioning, complimentary high speed Wi-Fi, data projection and 32" LCD televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing