We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money B and B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chesterfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Clarendon Guesthouse
Ranked #14 of 22 Chesterfield B&B and Inns
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money B and B”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Stopped here for one night to attend a wedding party. Stayed in a single room without ensuite but at very reasonable price. The room was clean and quiet. Breakfast was very good and cooked to order. Alan is an excellent host and even gave me a lift to my party. Would definitely recommend and will be staying there in the future if I'm ever in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frogflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
11
20
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rhyl, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2012

First time staying here at this clean warm and friendly b&b with all you could possibly want even use of the kitchen! One of our party has gluten free diet which was considered throughout the menu choice giving a high class of standard during all our stay. Parking permit given and close to shops and lovely park. Fantastic hosts making you feel welcome and we will return!

Room Tip: front twin room lovely and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon_dodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 31, 2012

This is my second stay at Clarendon B&B . The last room I slept in (2 years ago) was lovely and comfortable. This time I slept in room 5 which was smaller, but with all the facilities. It also had a nice view on a blossoming magnolia. Both rooms were quiet and absolutely clean. There is also a Wi-Fi access. The hosts are very warm and welcoming. For breakfast: fresh fruit, cereal, yoghurts, cooked breakfast and toast. There is also a possibility to be served meals and all the meals I had were delicious. It was also very pleasant to have a rest in the lovely English garden's deck chairs. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylv187265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

This is a cosy little B&B, one of those B&Bs that is more like a home than a hotel. Our room upstairs was small but clean and comfortable, with clean and well-cared for furnishings. We found our way there from Chatsworth House without any difficulty, and managed to find a parking spot nearby. The B&B is convenient to the sights of Chesterfield (that is, the church with twisted steeple) and we had a pleasant meal in one pub and a quiet wine in another. Our host also did a very nice English breakfast the next morning.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wellhamsrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Spent 2 nights at Clarendon Guest House and had a lovely welcome and stay. Very close to the town centre and all it's amenities. Clean room and comfortable bed. Breakfast was excellent and good quality. Were given a pass so that we could park directly outside the Clarendon. Can also recommend the Theatre Venue the Winding Wheel and the Indian Resturant just down the road from the Clarendon.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScunnyBunny1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
2 reviews
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Spent 2 nights at this B&B, was warmly welcomed, had an excellent room that was well priced, getting to and from Chesterfield town centre meant following 1 road so I never got lost. An excellent place to stay if you're on a budget, want to be within walking distance of the town and the train station even if you have a poor sense of direction like myself! Will definitely be staying there again.

Room Tip: En-suite single room is well worth the extra few pounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tjörn, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviewed December 14, 2011

I have nothing but good things to say about Clarendon Guesthouse. A lovely B&B with incredible kind and welcoming hosts, excellent location and delicious well-cooked food. The room was very clean, beautifully decorated and comfortable. Not to forget the fabulous garden with opportunity to play table tennis! The hosts Alan and Francoise have very good knowledge about interesting sights and beautiful walks in Derbyshire. I was also offered good discount tickets for the nice theatre in Chesterfield. I traveled on my own to Derbyshire and I had a fantastic trip thanks to the hospitable atmosphere at Clarendon Guesthouse. I wish to come back and I highly recommend this charming B&B.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chesterfield hotels
0.3 mi away
Buckingham's Hotel
Buckingham's Hotel
#12 of 15 in Chesterfield
247 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
#10 of 15 in Chesterfield
788 reviews
6.8 mi away
Ibis Chesterfield North
Ibis Chesterfield North
#1 of 1 in Barlborough
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Abbeydale Hotel
Abbeydale Hotel
#11 of 15 in Chesterfield
210 reviews
1.1 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,401 reviews
3.6 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarendon Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarendon Guesthouse

Property: The Clarendon Guesthouse
Address: 32 Clarence Road, Chesterfield S40 1LN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Chesterfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarendon is a large Victorian house which offers a high degree of comfort and cleanliness. Its location near the historical centre of Chesterfield makes it an ideal base for exploring the Peak District. We are within easy reach of the coach and railway stations and the motorway network. Chesterfield offers a large range of leisure and cultural activities which are mainly within walking distance of the Guest House. We offer an international flavour with our ability to speak French, German, Spanish and occasionally Japanese. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing