We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm welcome, yummy food”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chesterfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anis Louise Guest House
Ranked #1 of 22 Chesterfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Warm welcome, yummy food”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We were late in arriving at Chesterfield due to traffic in London, however, Martin met us with big smiles and insisted on helping us with our luggage. He had a lot of fun stories to tell, (ask him about diving and about York!) and made a wonderful breakfast for us. The B&B was easy to get to and is within walking distance of the town centre. Pubs and restaurants are a 5 minute walk away and Martin has good recommendations to offer. He also offered good tips on places to visit in York.

The rooms were tastefully decorated and impeccably clean. We had the ground floor room, however, which had a window facing the parking lot, if guests leave early in the morning, you will hear them - it was a cheaper room, which made up for the noise level, but if you're particular about getting good sleep till 8am, take one of the upper rooms.

Room Tip: Room 1 on the ground floor is not soundproof, you will hear noise from the parking lot and the hallw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank a414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    16
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
50
99
62
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The guest house was clean, smart, and the rooms nicely styled in a modern/boutique manner. The en-suite was compact but not at all cramped, and immaculacy clean. The room was equipped with a small flat screen TV facing the beds, plus the usual kettle and hot drinks. On returning to our room after a day out, we found it thoroughly cleaned, and the beds as well made as when we arrived.

The owners were very welcoming, and gave us lots of information on sights to see, and on restaurants for dinner. The information was very useful, and the curry house that was recommended was very good indeed.

The local area was quiet, and we were able to sleep undisturbed with the window open.

Breakfast options were cereal, toast, and a number of cooked options. All of which was of a decent standard, and the portions were big enough for even a hungry man.

Overall an outstanding guest house combining smart presentation, cleanliness, and great value. I highly recommend this establishment, and plan to stay again myself.

Room Tip: We stayed in a first floor twin, as the double rooms were all booked. We saw one of the doubles, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arthur D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed at this immaculately clean guest house on the 17 and 18 May. There is free parking at the back of the guest house which is a bonus. Upon arrival Martin took our bags and showed us to a beautiful double bedroom with en-suite shower. The room was tastefully decorated and has a "modern" but homely feel about it. The shower room was the cleanest I have EVER seen in a B & B accommodation. Breakfast was catered to our requirements (for us a traditional English cooked breakfast) and cooked to perfection. Lisa and Martin were excellent hosts and well deserve this praise for a "young" couple with children, it must be extremely hard work to keep the guest house to the 5 star standard I have rated it. Will DEFINITELY use this guest house again when we return in the Autumn.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

£30 a single room is fantastic value, room spotless and modern, breakfast excellent.. Far far better value than one of the chain hotels. Cant recommend highly enough for the business or leisure visitor.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Colin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed 15th and 16th April having journeyed from Plymouth. The welcome was as warm as our room which was very comfortable, tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. Martin and Lisa are lovely hosts and very helpful and deserve praise for the work they put into this gem of a guest house. Breakfast was excellent. Parking very easy at the back of the house. Looking forward to staying again soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Owen5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Following our trip to Chesterfield from Swindon we stayed at the Anis Louise Guest House from 15th to 17th April. We had a twin room that was clean, comfortable and warm. The breakfasts were excellent and the owners made us completely welcome. This is a good quality guest house worthy of 5 star TripAdvisor rating with first class accommodation and food. Well done.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smithering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here 11 & 12 April. Fabulous room. Immaculatly clean and I had the best nights sleep.
Martin made me a bacon sarny to take to work with me and it was delicious, this made me decide to have the breakfast before work on the Friday morn. What a plateful and really really good.
Friendly and warm welcome awaits you.
No point looking any further. Do yourselves a favour... Stay at Anais Loiuse.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mallaillama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chesterfield hotels
0.2 mi away
The Portland Hotel
The Portland Hotel
#4 of 15 in Chesterfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
1.1 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
#8 of 15 in Chesterfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Chesterfield North Hotel
0.2 mi away
Abbeydale Hotel
Abbeydale Hotel
#10 of 15 in Chesterfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.3 mi away
Buckingham's Hotel
Buckingham's Hotel
#14 of 15 in Chesterfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anis Louise Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anis Louise Guest House

Property: Anis Louise Guest House
Address: 34 Clarence Road, Chesterfield S40 1LN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Chesterfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Anis Louise Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 Star Silver Awarded Anis Louise Guest House is a small, clean and modern Bed and Breakfast, situated on the edge of Chesterfield town centre with free on site private car parking. All rooms have full En-Suite facilities and include complementary toiletries, towels and refreshments to enjoy. For your enjoyment Free AC Wifi & Digital Television is provided in all rooms.Superb position, with easy access to Chatsworth House, The Peak District, Matlock Bath and Bakewell.Ideal for students of the numerous training centers with quiet rooms to study in and relax. Environmental Health rating of 5 out of 5 ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing