We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Methuen Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Methuen Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Corsham
Certificate of Excellence
Melksham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

We use this establishment for business and private functions. Ongoing restoration to a high standard. Restaurant, food and service has always been excellent. Atmosphere in bars and restaurant has a good ambiance. Our overseas visitors request to stay here in favour of other local hotels.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Des B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    76
    15
    10
    3
See reviews for
46
145
10
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Our second visit - just as good as the first. This time we went with friends so we really wanted it to live up to how we remembered it, but there was no need to worry, if anything it was better. Rooms still lovely crisp and clean, food still excellent and plentiful. Service probably better - nothing really wrong previously, it just seemed slicker this time. Would still recommend!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cordiners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

If you should wish to be holed up in a cozy little cottage-like inn while traveling in the Cotswalds and exploring the region around Bath I can't think of a better place to be than this little hotel. While not all the rooms are as nice as mine (see photos) those that I've seen are all beautifully appointed, and my business associate, who has stayed here many times before, assures me all are nice. My room, number 7, with its irregular walls and ceiling, exposed beams, oversized fireplace and red terra cotta colored walls with white ceiling was a virtual painting come to life. Well appointed with lovely furniture and a excellent amenities, I couldn't have asked for much more. Bed linens as luxuriant a cotton as I've ever slept on. (Wish I could take some home!)

Meanwhile, the staff too, at the front desk, in the restaurant--itself worthy of a separate five star review--and at the bar, were all first rate. Poised, attentive without being intrusive, and pleasant to talk to, all were a pleasure to deal with.

I don't know where in the UK I've had a better experience. Well worth a visit!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reginald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

I use this hotel regularly and especially when I have business clients to impress. These guys always go the extra mile for me and nothing is too much trouble. The rooms, people and food is all top class and I will always put my guests up here. It is a great place to stay

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
Thank MoocowWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

A hotel and restaurant with such a homely but stylish feel. The outside looks fresh and well looked after and inside was warm, cosy and busy with groups of people clearly enjoying the atmosphere. The staff were attentive and friendly and my room mixed the mod cons of a flat screen tv and smart bathroom with traditional sash windows and a sloping floor. It is a charming place in a surprisingly beautiful setting - you must take a walk to the church and the fields surrounding it in the early morning. I was lucky enough to be there on a frosty morning and couldn't believe how photogenic it was. Only regret was that I couldn't have stayed another night but I will definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mackalack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Booked for one night in a luxury room & explained it was for my husband's birthday. We were promised their best which turned out to be no.11, situated on the second floor & unfortunately over the very busy main road. When we arrived at 4pm the room was freezing & we spent an hour in our coats until the heating came on at 5pm. The radiator in the bathroom needed attention as only the bottom bars came on so that room was cold also. The room was spotless & nicely furnished, super quality sheets & a lovely roll top bath, it's such a pity that the owners here have let themselves down on what appears to be penny pinching on heating. Also the only soap provided was in liquid form from a container which is topped up - not hygienic.
The staff were fantastic & the food wonderful, with a very good wine list. Breakfast was better than many we've experienced in 5star establishments.
I would recommend the restaurant but would sleep somewhere warmer. At £170 per night it was not good value.

Room Tip: Avoid room 11 if you seek a quiet night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank motham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheltenham
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Highly impressed with the service levels in this delightful hotel. Pierre the manager was a great host, nothing seemed too much trouble. The bedrooms are beautifully decorated, wonderful beds and large bathrooms. The breakfast was also of excellent quality and very generous portions.

The Methueun Arms feels very much part of the Corsham community and we also enjoyed a great walk around Corsham Court grounds.

Room Tip: Room 9 very quiet room and overlooks the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ianCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corsham
1.0 mi away
Guyers House Hotel
Guyers House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Corsham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rudloe Arms
Rudloe Arms
#3 of 5 in Corsham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
3.4 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Chippenham Hotel
5.1 mi away
The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Methuen Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Methuen Arms Hotel

Property: Methuen Arms Hotel
Address: 2 High St, Corsham SN13 0HB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Corsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Corsham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Methuen Arms Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Methuen Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Methuen Arms Corsham
Methuen Arms Hotel Corsham, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing