We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food not great but service ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Methuen Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Methuen Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Corsham
Certificate of Excellence
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Food not great but service ok”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Booked for sunday lunch after hearing great things but very disappointed. Sat in older part of hotel which was quite cold and lacked atmosphere. 2 of our 4 main meals came out cold and were sent back with sincere apologies from waiting staff-our round of drinks were refunded as a gesture of goodwill. On return of now hot food the vegetables were cold but by this time we just wanted to eat and leave. Restaurant manager had apologised for lack of yorkshire puddings prior to main meals being delivered as oven had broken-when our reheated meals came back out they were quickly taken away before they reached us as they both had yorkshire puddings on them!?? Desserts however were scrummy!
Definitely not the best sunday roast we've had and have been really put off going back :(

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wishartWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    77
    16
    10
    4
See reviews for
48
150
10
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
312 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Refurbished two years ago, this hotel provides extremely comfortable accommodation and fine food. We stayed in the small suite in the loft. The king sized bed could not have been bettered: crisp sheets and lovely duvet. The bathroom was on the small side (more storage space needed), but the shower was huge and the toiletries were especially luxurious. Dinner was pretty good. Although cod with lentil was bland, the pigeon breast starter was cooked to perfection, monkfish wrapped in Parma ham was very good and the desserts (dark chocolate pot and cheese-cake) were both sensational. Hand-cooked chips were amazing.The wine list was exceptional. A crisp but complex Sicilian Vermentino and a luscious Austrian eiswein (I have not see this anywhere else, and it's sensational) were relished. Breakfast, all freshly cooked, was excellent. The coffee, for once in a hotel, was freshly brewed.
The decor here is modern and chic. It could do with just a little softening - some flowers?? But do go to this place. It is very good value and standards are very high. And the staff are ALL utterly delightful.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a roll-top bath (as shown on the web-site). Check before you go. The loft room is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed in a Double Luxury Room, beautifully decorated, lovely bathroom, all done in Farrow and Ball type colours. HOWEVER, the room is directly over the kitchen and all you get from early morning to midnight is the sound of the kitchen extractors. Considering you are paying their top rate this is unacceptable. Dinner was superb but the service was excruciatingly slow to the point I thought they had forgotten us! The staff were all really friendly though. Believe it or not, I would stay here again but I would be very careful about the choice of room.

Room Tip: Don't book the rooms over the kitchen - the air conditioning units will drive you barmey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CavaChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
79 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for one night.

The room was comfortable. The bed, very comfortable, bedding, very heavy and conducive to a very good nights sleep. The roll top bath tub was pretty spectacular.

The room was a bit disappointing in part though. It was quite small and dark. There were tea and coffee provisions but no milk! It was quite cold too.

The food at lunch and dinner was amazing. Try the Wiltshire ham sandwich or the Sausage roll and beans from the lunch menu. The lamb or steak for dinner. Massive compliments to the Chef!

The staff are really friendly and the atmosphere is relaxed.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank franthom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Everything was perfect - the fresh milk in the rooms, the beautiful sheets and luxurious towels. The food was delicious. The staff were all very friendly, helpful and efficient. I would definitely go back there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynnieinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

This hotel and village of Corsham is the best I've ever been too. You will not be disappointed. We stayed 3 nites. The staff, room, food (both breakfast and dinner) were excellent. The rooms are so clean and well furbished. Very comfortable, we felt like we were at home. The staff from management to chef and bar/wait staff were all very friendly, helpful and an asset the hotel. Plenty of on site parking and close to Bath, Lacock and other sightseeing places. We will definitely stay here again. Thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 124_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lampeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2012

A first rate culinary experience - easily the best pudding I have eaten for years! The rooms were very comfortable and the staff kind, personable and accomodating. We will be returning again soon for a lovely weekend treat at the end of a working week. Excellent in every respect.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Huw62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corsham
1.0 mi away
Guyers House Hotel
Guyers House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Corsham
585 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rudloe Arms
Rudloe Arms
#3 of 5 in Corsham
985 reviews
3.5 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Chippenham Hotel
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Angel Hotel
3.6 mi away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Methuen Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Methuen Arms Hotel

Property: Methuen Arms Hotel
Address: 2 High St, Corsham SN13 0HB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Corsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Corsham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Methuen Arms Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Methuen Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Methuen Arms Corsham
Methuen Arms Hotel Corsham, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing