We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding food and accomodation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Methuen Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Methuen Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Corsham
Certificate of Excellence
Lampeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding food and accomodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

A first rate culinary experience - easily the best pudding I have eaten for years! The rooms were very comfortable and the staff kind, personable and accomodating. We will be returning again soon for a lovely weekend treat at the end of a working week. Excellent in every respect.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Huw62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    76
    15
    10
    3
See reviews for
45
145
10
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

A foody friend of mine told me about this place almost 9 months ago. And I have been avoiding writing a review about this place, because once the word is out I won't be able to book a table. But other establishements need to know how to deliver a good Sunday Roast.

If you live in Bath and want a good Sunday roast then look no further than this place. The welcome is warm and friendly. Excellent real ales. This place has been refurbished to a very high standard making it truly inviting. But its the Sunday roast beef that just ticks all the boxes for me and everytime I go there I always leave feeling immensely satisfied. It is a set 2 / 3 course lunch, not cheap but well worth it at the moment. And I always seem to go for the their home made soups as a starter. Consistanly delicious. But be warned this place is becomming extreemely popular and so booking is advisable to avoid dissapointment. Have turned up on a few occaisions without booking. And the place was heaving with diners - but they still managed to accommodate us - and we didn't mind waiting as we know good things are worth waiting for.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterRichardBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

The methuen arms is a recently renovated Georgian inn on a medieval site. The building and decoration are lovely, informal but emphasising the charm and organic feel of the place. The ground floor is a delightful series of connecting rooms, each distinctive and leading to the pleasent garden. The food is excellent as is the wine list and real ales, though the house red and white by the glass are a bit average. Bedrooms are large, comfy and pleasant. A delightful place to spend a few days.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edenbridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Spent weekend in Corsham at a good friends 50th Birthday party. The Methuen now wonderfully refurbished, has a superb team of staff who make you so very welcome. I would not hesitate to return and cannot recommend highly enough this charming hotel to anyone who appreciates good service, comfortable rooms, fine food and wine.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 8 which was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

I cannot praise the Methuen arms highly enough, I Organised a conference at Corsham Court in July and our main speakers and many of the delegates stayed in this hotel. Many of our delegates were international visitors and they all commented on the quality of the rooms and the food. The Methuen arms provided a dinner for 28 people and lunch for 90 and these were the highlights of the conference. Such a wonderful atmosphere at this hotel! The staff are so friendly and helpful. I stayed in room 1. Very special.

Room Tip: the bigger rooms have baths as well as showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slamlucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

Our room is situated on the road side so we have cooking smells and the roar of the extraction fan & traffic if we open the window and stifling heat if we don't. Not great for 170 a night !

Otherwise staff are charming and it seems a nice place

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlikiCurrimjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

We do eat here a lot as its local to us but I wanted to put this review on to let you know that even in numbers the food is great. I had my husbands 30th birthday here and there were 23 of us eating. They sorted out a £20 per head menu (starters were "scallops, celeriac soup, warm ham hock ceaasar salad and mackerel terrine and the mains were pork belly, rib eye steaks, hake and mushroom risotto and the food was excellent as was the service. It was full in the restaurant too but we didn't have to wait for anything and all the steaks were cooked to perfection too. We did pre-place our orders so that definitely helped but they were very accommodating. Just waiting for an occasion so we can go again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corsham
1.0 mi away
Guyers House Hotel
Guyers House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Corsham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rudloe Arms
Rudloe Arms
#3 of 5 in Corsham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
3.4 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Chippenham Hotel
5.1 mi away
The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Methuen Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Methuen Arms Hotel

Property: Methuen Arms Hotel
Address: 2 High St, Corsham SN13 0HB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Corsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Corsham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Methuen Arms Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Methuen Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Methuen Arms Corsham
Methuen Arms Hotel Corsham, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing