We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as reviews here might lead you to expect.”
Review of Jaipur Restaurant - CLOSED

Jaipur Restaurant
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not as good as reviews here might lead you to expect.”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Had dinner here on a Friday night after seeing very good reviews on trip advisor. After our meal, we are a little surprised at some of those reviews! The food was ok, but not significantly better than something out of a jar, though it was quite cheap. The fact they added a compulsory 10% service charge for service which only seemed to want hurray us put of the door was disappointing too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    28
    8
    3
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Corsham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Simply excellent!”
Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

Never had a bad curry from Jaipur, very good service and as result eat there often. Some dishes are slightly hotter than other restaurants but still very very good. Would highly recommend.

Helpful?
Thank flyingprop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fab Indian nosh!”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

The food was really tasty, just the right amount of spice for me! Was able to request the how I wanted my curry and friendly staff too, a great night out.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Katie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Well-established Corsham restaurant”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We have used Jaipur since its opening in Corsham 20-odd years ago. There are other 'renowned' Indian restaurants in Bath, eight miles away but, as Jaipur is consistently good, it's usually not worth the driving/parking hassle and expense.

I guess that Indian dishes and styles are a matter of personal taste but Jaipur suits us for our regular takeaway (the latest was last night) or the occasional eat-in. Once in a blue moon, we have had a meal not quite up to the usual standard but this can happen in any restaurant (head chef's night off?).

The photos are part of a series being taken (by me) of all Corsham shops/restaurants in 2012.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wirepuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Oxfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We happened upon the Jaipur on a night when they have a special deal, which really offers great value for money. The service was friendly and the food perfectly cooked. Worth a visit. We went back again two evenings later when there wasn't a special deal and it was still worth it.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank kerryandrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jaipur Restaurant also viewed

Corsham, Wiltshire
Corsham, Wiltshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing