We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genteel charm with an arty modern twist”
Review of Rudloe Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rudloe Arms
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Corsham
South East
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Genteel charm with an arty modern twist”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

I love this hotel. There are two parts: the gorgeous old hotel with fabulous history (including as a WW2 RAF Officers mess I believe) and the bright, modern annex with all mod-cons; both use the lovely reception and dining areas. Marco Pierre White and his team have introduced more quirky charm (and higher quality) to the lovely old place: it is getting even better :-). The grounds are lovely too - make time to have a wander - even a game of croquet. A really good bunch of people run this hotel, they made me feel like a particularly special guest ... then I realised that they made us all feel like particularly special guests.

Room Tip: I have stayed in both - for me the old hotel is the best - but the new annex is more "chain&quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EleanorCross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    276
    195
    137
    128
See reviews for
86
658
13
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Stayed in the new annex for the 2 day gourmet experience (see Rudloe Arms Restaurant and Pear Tree).
The room was clean but tiny and the WiFi worked well. The television was the smallest I've seen since being a kid.
The problem was the floor heating - it was on even when turned off on the thermostat, which meant it was like the Gobi desert in the room.
However, the real issue was the mattress, which was very thin and soft. When waking up in the morning it felt like you'd been sleeping on the floor.....
Think again before booking this experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hans B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Corsham hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Was a great weekend food was great service was even better, stayed in the new building very spacious and clean. Could do with a lick if paint. Staff where great and manger and barman could not do enough for you. I would recommend you bring your man here as a great bar, free pool, table football, juke box. Very quirky pictures really interesting MPW just like to say are you sure you don't want to change your career to an interior designer spot on.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smurfkelly007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

Ours was a living social deal, three course meal included for both nights. Meal options very poor and almost identical at both venues, at best good pub food, but have had more selection of food in a pub for a substantially lower cost.
A number of guests made similar comments.
MPW appears to be trading on his name and reputation which will only last for so long.
Staff try hard, however they need management and training to stop disorganisation at meal times.
Room was adequate however overall very disappointed as we do not get away very often and this was to celebrate our anniversary.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

A weekend away without children is a rare treat. The living Social Deal represented what I thought was good value. How very wrong I was.
Food was of a very poor standard.
Hotel room was of a lower standard than a Premiere Inn.
I ask myself if Marco eats the food, drinks the average, over- priced wines and sleeps in the very uncomfortable beds.
Awful from start to finish and I won't be back.
If mad enough to go, drink plenty of water as EVERYTHING is heavily over salted.

Room Tip: Just don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cheekybisum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

A promising start, the Hotel and grounds look great with some quirky decor that I liked although the MPW ego trip on the stairs was funny verging on ridiculous.

We booked a traditional room in the main building which knew wouldn't be modern but it felt tired and lack luster resemblant of a 1980s BnB; it really need a good deep clean and felt summarised by a label/sticker remnants covering a bit of a picture, a little effort to correct it but they couldn't be bothered!!

There was also evidence of damp (but it is an old building); cobwebs throughout the room; the bathroom had a lot of mouldy grouting and grotty surfaces; there are handles missing from draws and only one hanger in the wardrobe among other niggles which all mount up to not worth the price even on a living social deal.

The living social gourmet deal featured meagre pub/cafe grub. She had the potted duck to start which was bland except for the over salting then a 'Butchers steak' which was an extra £6. I had potted fish to start, which was ok then x2 slices of reformed Sandwich Ham, x2 eggs and McCains chips cooked three times.

If this was sold as a posh BnB it would be average but as MPW is willing to call this Gourmet and charge over £4 for water it is one to avoid, there are many better quality places to eat and cheaper better quality accommodation in the area.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank playton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Stratton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

With a grand name and the Marco Pierre WHite restaurant you might expect something classy. However, the huge bedrooms - although well-equipped - are pretty spartan and soulless, and the breakfast was distinctly ordinary.

I'm no fan of MPW - since he advocated the use of stock cubes over meat juices (surely he doesn't need Knorr's money?) and there are Michelin Man models in the Reception and Bar which apparently refer to a spat between him and the gastronomic guide. There's lots of pictures of the 'great man and the Reception area has many nude female photographs if that floats your boat.

The bar was well-stocked and staffed, but the overall impression was disappointing, although the cost was not excessive.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kenarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corsham
1.5 mi away
Guyers House Hotel
Guyers House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Corsham
594 reviews
1.8 mi away
Methuen Arms Hotel
Methuen Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Corsham
341 reviews
4.6 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Shaw Country House Hotel
2.3 mi away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
650 reviews
5.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Angel Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rudloe Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rudloe Arms

Property: Rudloe Arms
Address: Leafy Lane | Near Bath, Corsham SN13 0PA, England (Formerly Rudloe Hall Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Corsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Corsham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rudloe Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect food and incredible, caring staff where "nothing is too much trouble" is what makes this truly unique and boutique English country house no. 1 in the area. With stunning views overlooking the World Heritage Roman city of Bath, in 15 acres of gardens, Croquet and a 9 hole practice golf course, you'll be spoiled indeed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Rudloe Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rudloe Hall Corsham
Hotel Rudloe Hall
Rudloe Arms Corsham, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing