We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but spoilt by Chef's poor planning”
Review of Jacks at Hartham Park - CLOSED

Jacks at Hartham Park
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Set within the beautiful Mansion House, Jacks at Hartham Park combines contemporary elegance with traditional architecture. The comfortable and relaxed atmosphere makes Jacks at Hartham Park an ideal place to celebrate any occasion, or somewhere to simply enjoy an evening out with friends and loved ones. As well as the restaurant customers can choose from the Library, Study, Stateroom or Ballroom for functions and private dining experiences. We have breakfast, lunch and dinner menus with something for everyone.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food but spoilt by Chef's poor planning”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We recently went to Jacks bar and booked a table for Saturday lunchtime for 8 people for our parent's wedding anniversary. Three of us had the ham, egg and chips which we had been told from others that the triple cooked chips at Jacks were 'to die for'. When the plates arrived for the three of us we were all very disappointed to have French fries and only one of the party had the triple cooked chips as described on the menu (and this was served as their side order.). we were told that they had 'run out' of triple cooked chips - this was 12.00 Saturday lunchtime and we were the first party to arrive.

If I had wanted Mcdonalds chips for lunch I would have gone to Mcdonalds.

The rest of the party's choices were good but we were disappointed that despite having booked and therefore assuming that most restaurants would expect chips to be ordered by at least a couple of the party this had not been prepared for.

Beautiful surroundings and the waiting staff were very polite, courteous and friendly. Just a slight disappointment with the choice for three of us.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dal_248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    33
    12
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A lovely surprise within a beautiful stately home.”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We visited Jacks in the evening for a family member's 50th birthday and wouldn't hesitate to return. Wonderful high quality food presented beautifully. Friendly and attentive staff, magnificent decor and all excellent value for money. In our opinion the restaurant is actually better than some of the well known Bath eateries... at a fraction of the price. Perfect for special occasions!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GrantUK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A really great experience”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Often enjoy a glass of wine in the bar area but have eaten here twice now and both meals have been first class! It's great to live so close to this hidden gem. Lovely staff, excellent food and wine and perfect surroundings, I will be back very soon.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beomerc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brinkworth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“UNDERSTATED BUT OH SO FAB!”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

What a wonderfully grand house in spectacular grounds although we couldn't wander too much outside as it was raining and we were not suitably dressed. The decor is very stripped back and understated for such a grand exterior but the ambience is so warm and relaxed probably down to the fabulous staff who are attentive when they need to be and knowledgeable about the dishes that we ate. There were five of us to celebrate a belated 30th birthday - we enjoyed pre-dinner drinks in the comfortable sofas in the bar area and chose our dishes. All being carnivors we didn't go for the vegetarian options but the lobster seafood starter and anti-pasti were both to die for. I should also mention the beautiful rolls served with various different flavoured butters - the chilli butter certainly hit the right spot - we were rather greedy and all had two of the delightful warm rolls in two enticing flavours - olive and rosemary. Then for the main courses - we sampled the pork, duck and I chose the salmon. All were cooked to perfection with exciting flavours. Dessert: If the chocolate fondant is on with salted caramel it is a MUST - my daughter whose 30th it was commented 'Sheer bliss so much better than a birthday cake'! The parfait was also scrummy and as the driver I finished with a white coffee served in a large white mug - perfect way to end a meal. There was a good choice of drinks and I was informed that the local Bath draught ale was a very pleasant pint. The wine list looked reasonable - my daughter enjoyed her proseco and with her meal a chilled rose. The service was perfect - a great place and we shall be returning. Good value for money bearing in mind the quality of the food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrinkworthLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melksham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Sunday dinner”
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Just been for a Sunday lunch with my wife and the greeting from the staff was warm and welcoming.

It was very quiet but we put that down to the bank holiday and various events on elsewhere in the area.

The food was excellent and well presented if a little on the expensive side.

After we ate we asked if there was an outdoor area and we were taken by a member of staff through the main house to a table outside which to
me showed a great level of customer service.

We will definitely be returning!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chiprafp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jacks at Hartham Park also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing