We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem of a hotel !”
Review of Guyers House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Guyers House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Corsham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We loved this place. A beautiful historic building, comfortable room, quiet location, lovely grounds. Food was very good, and staff were great, and very friendly. We can't wait to return. I should imagine that this would be a magical venue for a wedding. Lacock village and Abbey nearby shouldn't be missed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the front lawn
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barrie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (619)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

379 - 385 of 619 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

Had 5 fabulous nights, the staff are so friendly and helpful, the wife put her back out on the first morning and they moved us to a room on the ground floor and asked how she was throughout. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the food is outstanding, we were on the two course from the fine dining menu, but ended up having three courses each night as it would have been rude not to.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Nickhp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We were married at Guyers house on 15th August. We had the perfect day, despite the rain, and we can't praise the hotel, the staff, the food highly enough,
All the staff, without exception, are friendly, helpful and extremely professional. We stayed in room 1, bridal suite, which was spacious and very comfortable. Whatever we asked for was arranged quickly and without any fuss. One of our guests was unwell and unable to join us for our wedding breakfast, so the restaurant manager immediately arranged for her meal to be served in her room.
All of our guests praised the food served at our wedding breakfast, the goats cheese and onion tart and chicken and mushroom risotto were delicious.
Everyone had a wonderful day at our wedding, a big thank you to all staff at Guyers House.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuliePorter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Looking for a short notice weekend break this hotel was advertised in a groupon deal. As we wanted to go sooner we looked it up and their own package was very reasonable and the reviews were good.
The setting and gardens were lovely, food good and a bit more creative from the usual, service excellent without being overbearing . Dealt with special diet (gluten free) with ease .
Room adequate and clean with lovely view of garden . Only minus is the shower took a little time to warm up .

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clareelizart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We booked a 2 night stay with Secret Escapes, attracted by the beautiful setting and 2 rosette rating in the restaurant. We stayed in one of the Garden Rooms.The positives were that the grounds of the hotel really are lovely, the evening meal really was excellent, and the staff were fantastic; we could not fault their service and they could not do enough for you.

The negatives were that the room; although comfortable and clean, it was very basic and really dated with stains on the carpets and in need of a complete referb, the shower wasn't very good either. The walls are very thin as well, you can hear everything...
Another thing, we were charged around £4 just for an ice bucket which we thought was a complete cheek - we have never been charged anything for this service in any other hotel we have stayed at.

The breakfast was a huge disappointment, the sauce on the eggs benedict wasn't that pleasant and my husband's full cooked English was at a poor standard. The menu claims that the that the sausage is locally sourced, and includes 'Guyers Homemade Black Pudding.' - Neither is true going on the taste, you can find better yourself at a local Tesco. Fortunately we didn't have to pay for breakfast as it was included in our stay, but we would not be happy paying £12.95 per person for it. If you want a pot of tea for 1 from the lounge menu it will set you back £4, ridiculous price for a 3* hotel and double the price of what I'd expect to pay in a 4*.

We probably would only return to this hotel again for an evening meal as that was the highlight of the stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We took advantage of a cut price offer through Secret Escapes to stay in this delightful hotel, set in charming gardens surrounded by farmland. We stayed in the 'Garden House' where the bedrooms were good and comfortable. Throughout the hotel the common areas were clean and comfortable and the food was a great experience. I agree with Nikki's (Nikkid72) comment that the breakfast toast was undercooked but - for me - in every other way, the food was outstanding. The staff were all helpful and very friendly. We enjoyed our stay and will return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neilajones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This was by far the best meal we had on our trip, it was of a very high standard, the rooms were however the worst of the trip & of very poor standard. We stayed in the main house, the bedrooms are extremely dated, the carpets stained & the bathroom needed a re-furb. We would not stay again. The restaurant manager was also extremely rude & unfriendly – something which the other restaurant staff attempted to address.
We would not stay again & would only recommend the restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cats101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corsham
1 mi away
Rudloe Arms
Rudloe Arms
#3 of 4 in Corsham
1,059 reviews
1 mi away
Methuen Arms Hotel
Methuen Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Corsham
369 reviews
4.3 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
693 reviews
7.3 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
547 reviews
6.5 mi away
Bowood Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guyers House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guyers House Hotel

Address: Guyers House Pickwick, Corsham SN13 0PS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Corsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Corsham
Price Range: $173 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Guyers House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guyers House Hotel & Restaurant is a charming, privately owned Four Star country house hotel surrounded by its own outstanding gardens. It is located a mile from the pretty town of Corsham and 8 miles from Bath. The aim of the hotel is to provide friendly service, comfort and wonderful cooking. We are proud that the restaurant has been awarded 2 Rosettes by the AA and a special Breakfast Award by Visit England. The hotel has 37 en suite bedrooms, elegant dining and sitting rooms, a panelled Bar and all that you would expect of an English country house The gardens extend to over 6 acres and include a croquet lawn a hard tennis court and a small fitness pavilion. There is ample free parking. The hotel has its own dedicated conference and seminar building and its memorable architecture and lovely garden has made it a famous wedding venue. We do our very best to make your stay a happy one. Via enews ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Otel, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Guyers House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guyers House Hotel Corsham, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing