We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with room for improvement”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Guyers House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Guyers House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Corsham
Certificate of Excellence
Borough London
Level Contributor
201 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Good hotel with room for improvement”
Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Guyers House with my wife on a Saturday night and found a very warm welcome by very courteous and professional staff. The restaurant was very good and enjoyed very well cooked pigeon breast followed by a beautifully rare sirloin steak. The winelist was comprehensive and had a great bottle of Cote du Rhone.
I stayed in room number 40 and was slightly disappointed because the room had a condensation problem and the shower in the bathroom had very poor water pressure.
Given dinner the previous night was very good, I was a little underwhelmed with breakfast. The ingredients were of high quality but, the full English was served lukewarm and my poached egg was overcooked.
In summary the staff were courteous and professional, dinner at the restaurant was delicious and the architecture of the hotel was very appealing. However, the bedroom was disappointing and the shower in the bathroom needed to be upgraded.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    186
    63
    14
    3
See reviews for
58
376
6
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Having read several reviews both good and not so good we went for a 2 night break with an open mind. Gardens and surrounds are lovely and the hotel is picturesque. The room was a good size but the radiator was red hot and the heatng controls did not respond so spent any time in the room and the two nights with the windows fully open. Unable even to touch the radiator. While the taps in the bathroom are so in need of new washers it was a real juggling act to try and keep any sort of consistent water temperature for a shower.
Afternoon tea was a very expensive joke- 6 thick dry finger sandwiches of ham and some kind of fish paste, an unfathonable cake with just rolled icing and 2 scones for which we were charged the dubious pleasure of £31.00 because we had it in our room.
We did use the resturant the first evening but opted not to the second.
Breakfast was average and I did notice that not only my order but other guest's requests seem to be haphazard and you were lucky if you got what you ordered!
Still near to Bath and Lacock Abbey so good as a base if your expectations are not too high.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 611bosslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed for one night in Feb as part of a Travelzoo offer someone had bought us for Christmas; this included a 3 course meal in the evening and breakfast in the morning. The package should have cost £160 but was £99. There is no way we would have paid full price for it.

The food was lovely and really nicely presented but a lot of items required a supplement (up to about £6 if you wanted steak). Wine was quite expensive but we found a drinkable red for £19.50.

The room was dated, could really do with a complete refit and as others have mentioned the shower leaked all over the place. Bed was comfy but was two singles pushed together instead of a double which I don’t like.

Breakfast was also lovely and included homemade black pudding which was a nice touch.
The hotel itself is nice, the bar especially is a lovely place to hang out and the grounds were immaculate. I feel the rooms need some work before it’s worth the £100 a night they currently charge.

All in all we enjoyed ourselves but definitely would not have paid full price for it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CPBisthebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
109 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

We booked this Hotel off Travel Zoo, after changing rooms on arrival we were very happy with Room 1, restaurant is nice but wouldn't say it was 2 rosettes. Breakfast is excellent, hotel is tastefully decorated to compliment the period it was built. Only constructive comment is the bar doesn't fit in with the rest of the Hotel!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Shriggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton-in-Gordano, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We have just returned from a two day February break and were delighted with every aspect of our stay. Very comfortable and relaxing with great food, service and good humoured staff who were all very efficient and helpful.

Very well positioned for trips to Laycock Abbey, Bath and Bradford on Avon.

The grounds are also attractive even in the sub zero temperatures this week. The Manager deserves credit for running such an efficient and friendly hotel.

Room Tip: We were in the main house on the second floor and did not see the Annex rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimShaw44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Originally a country house built in the traditional Bath stone, now a lovely hotel and restaurant in a beautiful setting. We were a party of seven that went to Guyers for a family lunch, following my mum-in-law's passing away last November. After all the sadness of the last two months, we came together to say "cheers" to a wonderful lady of 96 years. The setting was perfect, as was the service and attention paid to us by all the staff.
We started with a glass (or two) of champagne and nibbles in the very comfortable attractive and welcoming sunny lounge in front of a log fire and at just the right moment, we were given the opportunity to choose from the a la carte menu: a varied selection of locally sourced ingredients. The fish had come direct from Cornwall.
In our own time we moved into the restaurant where we ordered. Although we had all chosen differently from the menu, the service was prompt, and was served together,as should, but how many times has that not happened elsewhere?!
Service was perfect, the waiter attentive but discrete. The food too was perfect, from the monk fish starter to the fillet steak and loin of pork and delicious deserts. All beautifully presented. Our afternoon ended back in the lounge with coffee and chocolates, an end to a perfect afternoon!
Guyers has a very attractive well-maintained garden that on our day, was already showing signs of spring, a delight to walk round and stretch your legs. On a warmer day than our ours, the garden is ideal to sit in and relax.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertMegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I stopped here for afternoon tea with a friend. The setting of the hotel is lovely and the living room area was very relaxed and the staff were very helpful and friendly. The food was very reasonable at £12.50 ahead for sandwiches, scones, cake and tea. The only down side was that for afternoon tea i would have expected a selection of cakes but it was just lemon cake. Maybe could reduce the size of the sandwiches and have one other type of cake instead to give more of an afternoon tea feel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corsham
4.3 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
676 reviews
2.6 mi away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
637 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rudloe Arms
Rudloe Arms
#3 of 5 in Corsham
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Methuen Arms Hotel
Methuen Arms Hotel
#2 of 5 in Corsham
331 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club
6.5 mi away
Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guyers House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guyers House Hotel

Property: Guyers House Hotel
Address: Guyers House Pickwick, Corsham SN13 0PS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Corsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Corsham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Guyers House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guyers House Hotel & Restaurant is a charming, privately owned Four Star country house hotel surrounded by its own outstanding gardens. It is located a mile from the pretty town of Corsham and 8 miles from Bath. The aim of the hotel is to provide friendly service, comfort and wonderful cooking. We are proud that the restaurant has been awarded 2 Rosettes by the AA and a special Breakfast Award by Visit England. The hotel has 37 en suite bedrooms, elegant dining and sitting rooms, a panelled Bar and all that you would expect of an English country house The gardens extend to over 6 acres and include a croquet lawn a hard tennis court and a small fitness pavilion. There is ample free parking. The hotel has its own dedicated conference and seminar building and its memorable architecture and lovely garden has made it a famous wedding venue. We do our very best to make your stay a happy one. Via enews ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Guyers House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guyers House Hotel Corsham, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing