We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hospitality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mead Lodge B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mead Lodge B&B
Ranked #2 of 24 Corsham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Corsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I live locally so my parents stayed when they wanted to visit us for a weekend but we were having building work. They often stay in B&Bs but they said this one was the best they've been in to date. The very friendly hospitality, the attention to detail in everything, the standard of decor, the food, the comfy bed, they just raved about how lovely it was, and want to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
72
19
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed at Mead Lodge while our house was being prepared for us to move into. The Room was lovely and We had a brilliant nights sleep in a comfortable bed. I was pleasantly supprised with my cooked Breakfast (being a vegetarian) my favorite Linda McCartney sausages were offered to me so I didn't have to stick with the boring Egg on Toast option that I normally have to choose, (I stay in alot of B&B's working away from home). I would recommend Mead lodge to anyone. Thank you Catherine and Steve for making us feel so welcome you are very lovely people with a beautifully modern B&B.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JessyP2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

We changed our plans at the last minute (the hotel we had booked was flooded) and were lucky enough to have found Mead Lodge (Trip Advisor) for a couple of nights during the Bath Christmas market. We were EXTREMELY impressed to say the least with EVERYTHING, from the very warm and friendly welcome from our hosts Cathy and Steve (and the local map of eating houses provided), to the incredibly clean & spacious room (massive bed!) with a number of choices of tea’s, coffee’s, chocolate, latte, cappuccino, mineral water and biscuits etc.

The breakfasts were absolutely delicious and were some of the best we have ever had during our stay at a B&B (and we have stayed in an awful lot of B&B’s).

We both started with fresh orange juice and croissants served with home-made jam (we counted a choice of eight different jams and marmalades, plus honey, maple syrup, lemon curd, nutella, peanut butter, Marmite and that’s just what we can remember!), followed by a very well presented smoked salmon and scrambled eggs with granary toast, all topped off with some fresh fruit, toast and café tier coffee. In fact we didn’t need to eat again until well into the afternoon.

I personally also liked the fact that we had our own table at breakfast as I am not exactly a social animal first thing in the morning (ask my hubby!).

The free loan of a sat nav was also a boon and proved invaluable in getting us to Bath and directing us to a free parking spot in the centre! (a place called Victoria Park, but do park at the top end!).

Bath market was amazing and we found Bath in general to be a ‘must visit’ place, but do give yourself a few day’s at least a to have a good look around the Roman city as well.

We will most definitely be staying at Mead Lodge again next Christmas market, if we are lucky enough to get in that is!

Fran & David

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Everything about this place was first rate, friendly, helpful. Large, clean and extremely comfortable room with very modern bathroom. Breakfast offerings varied enough to suit the most discerning. Lovely people running it.

Room Tip: Has 4 rooms, all identical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Steve and Cathy offered a very warm welcome, lovely people, with a lovely B&B.

I stayed for 3 weeks whilst waiting to move into my new house. The room was a good size, very clean and modern decor, the double bed was very comfortable and nice a quiet on an evening. The en-suite was great, again very clean and modern, large shower cubicle and very good shower with complimentary shower gel/shampoo provided, top quality towels too.

A good selection of teas and coffees + fresh milk provided daily, along with some really nice biscuits and bottled water.

The breakfast was cooked fresh to order using high quality ingredients, delicious! There was also a good selection of cereals & fruit, orange juice, croissants, jam etc.

Digital Tv in the room + internet is fast and reliable, at no extra charge, free parking on-site with plenty of spaces.

I would usually opt to stay in a hotel, but this was a far better experience and cheaper, better than some 5 star hotels.

Thanks for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

This was our second visit to this area, the first being 3 years ago, when the building was relatively new. The whole place still looks crisp and as fresh as it was then. Steve and Catherine are wonderful hosts,always cheerful and nothing is too much trouble.We had a lovely stay for three nights and will certainly be back for more in the future, if my waistline can manage the breakfasts, which are delicious. Thank you Steve and Catherine and may your success continue.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed here with friends before and promised we woud be back. It took three years, but thank goodness we kept our promise!!
Steve and Catherine have put B&B's into a completely different category. This is on a completely different level and I think it will be difficlut to find somewhere with similar standards, You have definately set the bar high!!
I cant praise this property enough,the welcome, the quality of the furnishings, the rooms, the food and atmosphere. Its like being home from home with added comfort. Having been a travel agent for over 30 years, I am quite fussy when it comes to places to stay. This is one on my list of top places to visit.
Breakfast is cooked to order, and its lovely to be in the same area as the kitichen/work station whilst Steve and Catherine cook your meal. It makes it all the more 'homely' as you sit chatting with the other guests as your food is being prepared.
Its an easy walk into Corsham village where there are several choices of places to eat. Try the V.L.P Italian pizza/pasta cafe, lovely food, home cooked and excellent service. Also the Jaipur Indian restaurant, very friendly staff and excellent food.
So, many thanks again to Steve and Catherine, and as we said on our last visit "we WILL be back".

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ellamlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corsham
1.3 mi away
Guyers House Hotel
Guyers House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Corsham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.4 mi away
Methuen Arms Hotel
Methuen Arms Hotel
#2 of 5 in Corsham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
2.0 mi away
Rudloe Arms
Rudloe Arms
#3 of 5 in Corsham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Chippenham Hotel
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Angel Hotel
3.8 mi away
The Northey
The Northey
#1 of 6 in Box
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mead Lodge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mead Lodge B&B

Property: Mead Lodge B&B
Address: Ludmead Road, Corsham SN13 9AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Corsham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Corsham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mead Lodge B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mead Lodge is a reassuring 4 Star & Visit England 2014/15 Gold award winning Bed & Breakfast which has been thoughtfully and tastefully redesigned in a contemporary style to ensure that your stay with us is a more relaxing and comfortable experience. At Mead Lodge we cater for all, from the single business person to a small adult family. Situated in the Medieval town of Corsham in Wiltshire and close to Box, the Roman City of Bath, Basil Hill (MOD), Copenacre (MOD), Lacock, Castle Combe, Bradford on Avon and the M4 Motorway...We are also within a few minutes walking distance from the town centre shops and restaurants and central to a large number of the most popular attractions in and around the beautiful Wiltshire countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Mead Lodge B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mead Lodge B&B Corsham, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing