We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful escape!”
Review of The Castle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Castle Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 22, 2008

We stayed in Room 4 of The Castle for a midweek, pre-Christmas escape. We had initially considered Clifton House, but they did not have a room with an ensuite bath available and, at 8 months pregnant, I really wanted to feel pampered. I am so glad that ultimately we chose The Castle.

The pub itself is lovely, unpretentious and convivial with great staff and lots of atmosphere. Pierre was a charming and helpful host. The dinner menu was wide ranging and well priced, and the food was great. We withdrew from our table in the "dining" rooms for our dessert (the policy of not taking bookings did mean I felt a bit guilty inhabiting a table a minute longer than necessary, as it was a busy night) and instead shared our incredible date-and -toffee pudding in capacious leather armchairs in front the fire in the bar- and could have quite happily stayed there all night; it felt very festive.

However, I also didn't want to miss spending some time in our fantastic room- the dark and decadent bronze and maroon depths of the bedroom, and the ultra modern, epic size of the bathroom with walk through shower and 6 foot freestanding bath- fantastic, and complimented with slate floor with underfloor heating, and a fantastic view from the bath. The whole place is quirky and unique, with wonky doors and floors, and they have really worked hard on the decor and soft furnishings to make these elements totally charming.

Rooms 4 and 3 have the views out to Westbury, no road outside and also sit above the quieter "dining" rooms of the pub below. On saying that, pub noise was evident during opening hours, as one would expect- but silence after last orders meant we had a great night's sleep in the super-king sized bed.

Breakfast- a very civilised 8.30am-12noon - was also fantastic, with the best bacon and sausage I've had in a b&b.

The Castle is situated on Mount Pleasant, and the penalty for the lovely view is a steep walk up or down to the main shops and pubs of Bradford on Avon. However, I managed this in (in my current unwieldy pregnant state) under 10 minutes without problem.

I would absolutely recommend this as a pub, restaurant and bed and breakfast, and very romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zoe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (521)
There are newer reviews for The Castle Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

500 - 506 of 521 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2008

We have stayed in many places around the bradford on avon area and can say without hesitation that this is one of the nicest small places to stay that you could wish to find.

The bar area is clean, tidy and well fitted out, it has a good selection of local and guest ales and a reasonable wine list. The food is great for breakfast,lunch and evening meal, with a good selection to suit most tastes.

The staff are friendly and very helpful, which makes the stay an even better event!

then there are the rooms, they are few, but absolutely fab... i personally must recommend room 4, it costs slightly more, but has an amazing bathroom with freestanding roll top bath looking out over the countryside and a fantastic double glass shower area..... all in all very nice indeed!

I absolutely recommend a stay here if you want a great atmosphere, well used by locals and with easy access to bath and the surrounding areas.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MartynEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2008

Stayed here for our anniversary and couldn't fault it. We were given a lovely welcome, room wasabsolutely stunning! Adored the bathroom.

Went into the pub for a meal, food was gorgeous, very reasonably priced and the atmosphere i great.

Breakfast was fab, little touches were very much appreciated.

All in all we had the best time here, didn't want to leave!

Thank you so much.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Ixie32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2008

We stayed at The Castle Inn early September 2008. It was every bit as gorgeous as their web site shows (which makes a refreshing change).
The En Suite room 3 was beautifully decorated, I loved the bedside tables which were heavy slabs of wood (like parts of railway sleepers)
The bathroom was so well thought out, walk in shower, shiny fitments and extremely clean.
I was particularly happy to find a cafetiere and fresh coffee as I hate the instant packets that are usually in rooms.
Breakfast was the yummiest I have ever had - Giant mushroom with poached eggs and hollandaise sauce on crunchy Ciabetta bread.
Unfortunately for us the weather was terrible for our 2 night stay - torrential rainfall - but, I can honestly say that staying at the Castle Inn went a long way to ensuring we still had a wonderful short break.
Lesley Angus - Poole Dorset

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LesleyAngus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2008

We really got much more then we expected when we stayed at the Castle Inn. Our room was superbly finished with a massive king sized bed which was really comfy and huge walk in shower. It really deserved the boutique claim which is a term bandied around a lot now a days.

When we came down for breakfast we were presented with a classy menu, fantastic coffee, and that morning's newspapers.

We were in the area for a wedding and three of us stayed in one room, including breakfast, for £130 and we all thought that this was good value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaireIIIV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2008

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank halycondays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2008

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank smiler44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradford-on-Avon
1.3 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
530 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
536 reviews
0.2 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#5 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Woolley Grange
Woolley Grange
#2 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
446 reviews
5.4 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
727 reviews
5.1 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 32 in Bath
1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle Inn

Address: 10 Mount Pleasant, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 1SJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Bradford-on-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Bradford-on-Avon
Price Range: $124 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Castle Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful freehouse pub with 4 generously proportioned luxury boutique bedrooms with stunning views over the Georgian rooftops of the pretty town of Bradford on Avon & beyond. Just 7 miles from the historic city of Bath, The Castle is set in a characterful Georgian building & has traded as an Inn for 160 years. Lovingly, sympathetically & imaginatively restored The Castle has a playful eccentricity that is Cluedo country house meets traditional country pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Castle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Castle Hotel Bradford-On-Avon
The Castle Inn Bradford-On-Avon, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing