We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for a leisurely lunch”
Review of The Castle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Castle Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect for a leisurely lunch”
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Have driven past The Castle on many occasions, and finally got around to popping in with a friend at lunchtime. The interior is very cosy, and it feels like a real, traditional pub. The staff were very welcoming and helpful, and our food did not disappoint. We both had the burger and chips, which was excellent - the burger was perfectly cooked, and the chips were nice and crispy. When we originally looked a the menu we had picked out a couple of desserts, but the main course was very generous, so unfortunately we did not sample them this time around. We have decided to return in the near future to have a coffee and pudding.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ms2608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    98
    11
    11
    0
See reviews for
49
327
16
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
reading
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

the whole experience was amazing and the rooms were to die for, We spent one night i one room and then 2 nights in the more expensive room with the huge huge bath and double shower.This was amazing and so so worth the money. The breakfast was easily the best I have ever ever had anywhere in the UK and can honestly say anywhere I have ever been, sorry Dad. The bar is very stylist and the staff were very friendly, the manager was so nice and helpful. The views from the big bath were great. Get a bottle of wine some cheese and jump in the bath with your loved one and chill. Bradford on Avon is a lovely little village with some great walks along the canel, we are cycling form Reading to Bath in a few months and will def stop for a drink. Walk up to the canel away from town as there are some lovely little bars which are so friendly and sell great food, look out for the canel boat selling cheese its the best.And say Fiona from Reading say's hello.

Room Tip: Treat yourself to the big room with the huge bath-although all rooms are great. Def try the dandilio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
451 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

As a family we went to the Castle for lunch recently, the staff were very helpful and not too pushy. The menu was very good and catered for everyone's tastes. I had the fish and chips and the fish was superb, very well cooked and you could tell that it was fresh as it just melted in the mouth. We had our grandson with us and there were a range of games for him to play with.
We also liked the decor with the soft sofas and armchairs and the open fire, just right for a Sunday afternoon with the papers.
The only draw back is the lack of parking, only 6 spaces to the front of the pub. There are great views our to the back of the rear.
Pick this place up and place it in a sleepy village it would be a goldmine.
Will definitely go back for more.
Also the real ale selection was very good

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank applegate69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

We spent three nights at the Castle Inn, Very comfortable clean room, nice view and very quiet. Breakfast was at any time until noon and reasonable value evening meals served until about 9.30pm. Some of the nicest 'staff' we've ever met.

Good base to look around the area especially the canal and Bath.

Only downside it's up a steep hill from the centre of Bradford on Avon

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank graham g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Have only used The Castle for lunch and dinner. It's a pleasant and friendly pub serving decent, honest pub food. The garden area is a great place to sit and relax with lunch when the sun shines and is lively at night. A reasonable selection of dishes ranging from sandwiches and panini's to a 'grazing' menu (tapas) to burger, salads and steak and at a good price. A specials board too.

If you feel as though you can walk up the steep hill to get there from the centre of town then it's worthwhile!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coop w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Great place, staff all friendly and helpful, decor fantastic, room clean and comfy with amazing shower! Little touches everywhere that make the difference between another B&B and a memorable stay. Food was superb and good value, with good real ales too by an open fire. Very very popular and rightly so- glad they kept a table for us! Breakfast was not only generous but also good quality. Don't stay here if you want peace and quiet, a cosy meal with light conversation and an early night. Do stay if you like atmosphere with genuine people who are enjoying themselves with good food, drink and friends and of course a lie in without fear of missing a 45 minute window for breakfast! Excellent!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Submarinerpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2012

We stayed at the castle for a much needed break from our hectic antiques business.
Everything was perfect, the staff are some of the lovliest people you could wish to meet and the place is simply FAB!!!
We stayed for 2 nights in room 4 (well worth paying the extra), the bed was MASSIVE!!! The bathroom had a huge bath in front of a window looking out over some amazing scenery (must confess to tea light candles with the lights off and the blinds up). It also has a great shower that fits 2 if you so wish.
We ate there both nights as we didn't want to leave the cozy atmosphere and the home cooked food is very good.
Both days, we went into bath which is about half an hour away.
If you dont enjoy your stay here then there must be something wrong with you :-)

Room Tip: Room 4 has great views and is very comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rustyjim10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradford-on-Avon
1.3 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
0.6 mi away
Woolley Grange
Woolley Grange
#2 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#5 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
5.4 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Moonraker
The Moonraker
#1 of 4 in Trowbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle Inn

Property: The Castle Inn
Address: 10 Mount Pleasant, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 1SJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Bradford-on-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Bradford-on-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Castle Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful freehouse pub with 4 generously proportioned luxury boutique bedrooms with stunning views over the Georgian rooftops of the pretty town of Bradford on Avon & beyond. Just 7 miles from the historic city of Bath, The Castle is set in a characterful Georgian building & has traded as an Inn for 160 years. Lovingly, sympathetically & imaginatively restored The Castle has a playful eccentricity that is Cluedo country house meets traditional country pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, LateRooms, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Castle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Castle Hotel Bradford-On-Avon
The Castle Inn Bradford-On-Avon, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing