We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic cottage in peaceful location”
The Original Plaque on the Wall
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Original Plaque on the Wall
Cottage with new extension to the right Stone to demark parking area for The Ottery
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
The Original Plaque on the Wall
Cottage with new extension to the right
Stone to demark parking area for The Ottery
Living Room with Original Fireplace, Baking Oven and New Wood burning stove
Living Room
Living Room showing Dutch Door
Kitchen with all new applicances - hidden in cabinets
Looking out on the patio from the kitchen
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Bathroom with full tub and shower
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
flyingfox...
Herne, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage in peaceful location”
Reviewed September 18, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The Ottery is immaculate, tastefully decorated and in a very lovely location. The cottage has all modcons, the beds are very comfortable and the kitchen is really well equipped. It was our second stay at the Ottery - our last stay was in winter, so now we had the pleasure to enjoy the beautiful patio and garden;-)
The cottage is within travelling distance of many attractions, Bath is only a short drive and you can start lovely walks from the doorstep.
The booking procedure is easy and the owners are most friendly and helpful and Hannah, the manager, is doing an excellent job - would happily return!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 18, 2017
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your second stay with us at The Ottery. We personally enjoy our second homes in the UK and Wales and are glad that others do too. Bob & Lindsay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stay66050...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful cottage in an idyllic location”
Reviewed August 28, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at The Ottery for a week in August with our 2 children. Everything was perfect. Tea and biscuits awaited us on arrival, the beds were super comfortable and topped with Ralph Lauren blankets, and the bathroom a sanctuary. The attention to detail in styling is meticulous here and much thought has gone into not only the function but also the form.

After long days exploring the area it was blissful to arrive back home to this little gem of a house. Our children loved the garden and we took a croquet set which was much used on the lawn after tea whilst watching local riders clopping through the village on their horses.

South Wraxall is perfectly located for days out to Bath, Longleat and many National Trust properties and if like us you are travelling with small people they will certainly enjoy the playground at Bowood and the park at Lacock.

A week was not long enough to do everything we wanted to, so we shall certainly be returning! If only our own house was this beautiful!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meerkatwa...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very Tasteful & Restored to a high standard”
Reviewed January 11, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Beautifully restored to a very high standard. Excellent quiet location but very handy for surrounding sites . Bob [ owner ] & Hannah [ manager] most helpful . Fully equipped with everything you could possibly want .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was very new & tasteful
Liked least: Weather !
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael W
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful, tranquil discovery”
Reviewed July 24, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

What a gorgeous find the Ottery was. Located in a delightful and quiet little village this wonderfully well decorated and appointed cottage is a real gem. Staying for a week with our two young daughters, we enjoyed everything from the great family kitchen and garden through to lovely walks and the magnificent local pub. A real slice of heaven and we will definitely be back. It is also well located as a base ffor exploring larger towns Booking was painless and the owners and agent were extremely friendly and helpful. This is somewhere that really lives up to its description .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The well appointed, family feel of the home
Liked least: The only potential scope for improvement would be that the pillows could be better,. Otherwise, perfect.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorschoten, The Netherlands
Reviewed August 15, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SurreyCom...
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Charming country cottage straight out of a magazine”
Reviewed December 3, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We stayed for a short break as a family with teenagers in April 2013. The cottage is gorgeous, really well equiped and comfortable, but also extremely stylish. It was a pleasure just being in the cottage itself, but it is also in a lovely picture perfect village, with good access to Bath and Bradford on Avon. The lady who looked after the practical details to do with access etc was really helpful, and we arrived to find a very nice 'welcome pack'. A great place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: So tastefully and beautifully furnished and decorated, great lighting
Liked least: All good!
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanseaba...
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A really lovely cottage.”
Reviewed November 27, 2013 for a stay in May 2011

I promised the owners I'd do a review, but I've only just got round to it. The cottage is beautifully restored, very pretty and has all mod-cons, including WiFi. Oh, and a wood-burning stove to play with. I can't remember everything, just that we had a great time and loved the cottage. I would also recommend going round the corner to the Lower Wraxall club (if it's still going) to have a meal cooked for you, personally. If you like walking, there are plenty of walks around and you can walk (mostly) across the fields to Bradford-on-Avon which is very pretty. We had a lovely stay. What's not to like? (Well, my only complaint is that the wood burning stove was a bit complicated for me. But my son had it sorted in no time, when he arrived).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing