We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a surprise!”
Review of beef and barge - CLOSED

beef and barge
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Marina
surrey
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“a surprise!”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

we ate here and we were both pleasantly surprised with the food, it was very tasty with a good selection. We shared a prawn starter, they were cooked in garlic with peppers and served with hot crusty bread, i the had the special of greek chicken kebabs served with spicey potatoes and my husband had steak, cooked perfectly, the Eton mess was yummy! The girls on the bar were very helpful and friendly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deb47Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikolett Z, Manager at beef and barge, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Madam,

We thank you very much for your kind comments, as it is very important that all our customers
leave the pub, being content.
If ever you may feel to come back please make yourself known to us.

Many Kind Regards
Nikolett Zambo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    10
    11
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“appalling”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We should have been warned when they were advertising 2 pies and 2 pints for less than a tenner on Groupon. however, we thought we would try it and went on a Thursday night at about 7 30. There was no-one eating and a group of 4 at the b ar who started us as we entered. I mentioned the groupon voucher to the barmand and he said we needed to book. When I pointed out that the place was empty, he said he needed to order the pies in!. We were not sure how they could order a pie in if they didn't know what we wanted to choose. Still, we thought we would have a drink. The barman had turned his back on us - so we left and got our money back off Groupon I wouldn't touch this place with a bargepole!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Annie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikolett Z, Manager at beef and barge, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Sir or Madam,

Thank you for your comment, as it is very important for as to read all feed back from our customers good or bad.

I do agree it was very upsetting to read that our barman working that night did not make you feel welcome and you got stared at when walking in, but all customers are interested to see new customers walking in to the pub.

The group-on deal was very successful in deed and we ended up serving over 400, and it was very sad to hear that you had not pre-booked as group-on do state this in their terms and conditions that persons do need to pre- order with time and date of when they would like to come so that the pub are aware of how many groups and pies to order in. The pies were very special and for this reason we ordered them in Monday and Friday they were delivered. This may be the reason the barman knew when you said you came with a group-on that we had no pies left and it would only be Friday. May be he should had asked you if you wanted to come on a different day, it is a shame and I can only apologise, that the member of staff that night wasn't very friendly to your group. I can assure you the bar staff has been disciplined.

My apologies Again, Many Kind Regards
Nikolett Zambo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Greasy cafe food in a pub”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

The menu was set in the 80's hot dogs and baguettes the served food was nothing interesting straight out of the can/freezer and into the microwave and onto the plate will NOT be coming back just to finish off the dining experience as I went to pay the barman was rolling a cigarette - CLASS AND HYGIENE

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WiltsCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikolett Z, Manager at beef and barge, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you for your comments as we take on board the response of all our customers good and bad. Looking at our present Menu we feel that there is more than a lot of fresh meals to choose from and also the choices from the children's menu. I am sorry that you felt as if the food you chose was not up to your standard I can also assure you that the barman working that day has received a disciplinary from ourselves.

If you felt you would like to give us another try please make your self known to us when you arrive. I can only apologise again and make you feel more welcome.

Many Kind Regards
Nikolett Zambo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Returning customers”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The measure of how good you found an establishment is whether you'd return, we have been there several times since our first visit. The food is great, a good selection, good selection of beers and ciders too.
Bar staff could do with being a bit more attentive and remembering to bring the sauces requested! But other than that, it's a great local pub.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RowanUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikolett Z, Manager at beef and barge, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Sir or Madam,

Thank you very much for your comments as it means a lot to us to have given good service
and value to our customers. We have since had staff meeting to make sure all staff are being more attentive to our customers.

Please make yourself known to us if you do come back to see us.

Many Kind Regards
Nikolett Zambo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Went here on a Monday evening and had salmon with salad and new potatoes. Small piece of salmon, though it tasted OK, with far too many potatoes and small portion of salad. Alright if you just want a bit of food, but not somewhere to go for a special meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikolett Z, Manager at beef and barge, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Sir or Madam,

Thank you for your comments, as it is very important to us to make sure we understand how our customers view us in service and value. I can say since your visit we have changed our Menu now and reviewed all comments made to us, so if you did decide to come back, please make you self known to us. I can only apologise that you were not feeling content with us, and would like to try again.

Many Kind Regards
Nikolett Zambo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed beef and barge also viewed

Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
 
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
 
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing