We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eccentric”

Mr. Salvat’s Coffee Room
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Brighton England
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Eccentric”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Ancient building,open fire, individual booths, great coffee and cakes, staff in period costume,and pay your bill in the kitchen. Brilliant British eccentricity.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bramejat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    34
    7
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“SATURDAY MORNING TREAT”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We go to Mr Salvat's coffee room for our Saturday morning treat. We like the quirkiness of it!! The hot apple juice and scones are delicious as are the tea cakes.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Quirky and interesteing”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We often end up here - love the decor, the music and the service. Houseguests are always charmed and the hot apple juice is lovely as is the coffee - and we are very fond of the teacakes which are chosen with care!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank avidtraveller096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious and Delightful!”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

After a lovely but damp and cold walk from Freshfotd, we discovered this delightful tearoom where we enjoyed a delicious lunch by a cozy fire. It was like stepping back in time, which was just the thing for a couple of Americans in search of a quintessential English country walk experience.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzanneWilmoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warlingham
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Behind the times”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I know it's supposed to be oldy worldy but the stair carpet was bare and dangerous. The toliet had a bath in it (avocado!!) The menu is extremely basic and the seats are uncomfortable. But go for the craic - just once. We made the mistake of going a second time and the novelty of the olde world wears thin, as does the harp harping on in the background.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank whitbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr. Salvat’s Coffee Room also viewed

Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
 
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
 

Been to Mr. Salvat’s Coffee Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing