We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BEST BED I EVER SLEPT IN, GREAT BREAK.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Swan Hotel
London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“BEST BED I EVER SLEPT IN, GREAT BREAK.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2010

I have friends in Bradford on Avon and so i know and like the town. This time I was v tired after a long year of work and needed a 3- day lazy escape doing nothing but sleeping, relaxing and having long baths and maybe the odd walk to a pub to eat. I'd seen the Swan but never stayed there but I got a good deal and so I took it and had a great time, achieving the relaxation I wanted. The room was big and spacious and the en suite had a proper bathroom with bath. The bed was amazing and the duvet luxurious. I actually took the names of the makers for both as when I get a new bed I'll copy this one. getting into this bed was bliss. Bathroom spotless and shower great. With the car park you can of course park your car right outside. You are right in the middle of town which is great. Nice bar with proper local bitter, breakfast was great, staff very friendly. I had a few beers one night sitting in front of the big open fire. It's opposite one of the best 2 pubs in town - The Dandy Lion (the other is the Bunch of Grapes). It's a great place in a great town. On the Sunday I had a boatman's breakfast at the Boatman cafe then walked the canal before back to evening meal at The Barge and back to the swan to crash out in total comfort. I'm hoping to go back very soon. I stayed at another hotel nearby once and found the Swan better. I'll be back soon for more r and r. Only possible downside was slight raised voices from the back door area on saturday night - people going out to have a ciggie etc. It would be good if the staff could warn people there may be others trying to sleep above, but really it was not too bad at all fine and I am looking forward to coming back asap.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twickman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    74
    41
    37
    21
See reviews for
36
91
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2010

Although It was early September when we visited, it is only now that we have been able to write our Summer reviews. The Swan looked like a great place on the outside, and when we arrived the inside was also very nice. Clean, old fashioned but with modern furnishing. We were visiting my Aunt who lives in Bradford on Avon and is a semi regular, who likes coming in for coffee or special offer lunches.

We were greeted by a very happy, bubbly lady with a strong European accent, who upon recognising my Aunt, went into a speech about how busy and tired she was how short of staff they were. Quite a character I said to my Aunt, who informed me that she is the managers partner.
It was during the course of the afternoon, that through various members of staff and customers and even what seemed to be friends of staff, that we as a family sitting quietly in the bar learned all about internal problems with staff and ex staff and their personal lives and problems, we even learned about what seemed to be hotel guests and their jobs etc!

It was truly shocking, I'm sure that gossip goes on, but leave it in the staff room! When you are serving behind a bar, please don't gossip with the chef who has come out, or with customers having a quiet pint at the bar. We were only sat in the corner trying to have a coffee etc, not even part of the conversation, but we learned everything about everyone! If the manager does read this, girlfriend or not, please have a word with your staff! Customers do not want this sort of thing!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielLucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bradford-on-Avon hotels

Australia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2010

Great old pub, rooms renovated, but VERY small and I mean tiny! We did request another room downstiars (3 flights) but said none were available. We think we were given probably the cheapest rooms, other business travellers were on the lower floors. However they did carry the bags up for us, If you book request a room on lower floors.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucystellaAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2010

Clean, stylish yet cosy hotel updated coaching inn. Good food in restaurant. Small parking area. Right in the centre of Bradford-upon-Avon.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tune-up
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, UK.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2010

We stayed at The Swan on the 29th August and can only say what a lovely place this is. Our room was lovely - beautifully decorated and clean, the huge bathroom had a big free standing bath, a lovely shower and big fluffy towels. The staff were friendly and helpful. We had a coffee and drink when we returned from visiting our Aunt(who lives locally) and sat in the very nice and comfy bar area. Bradford is a lovely little town and makes a good base for visiting nearby cities such as Bath. Our breakfast waitress a nice polish girl was super efficient and served breakfasts efficiently yet made it look effortless. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice. All in all an excellent stay - a minor quibble would be no soap dish in the bathroom that meant there was no where to put the soap once you had washed your hands, if you put it on the wooden shelf(the bowl sink was on) it stuck fast. But a minor quibble which didnt detract from our wonderful stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrotherSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2010

After reading reviews on Tripadvisor we were looking forward to our three night stay at The Swan, so were extremely disappointed when we arrived. Tired, unloved, unwelcoming, dull and shabby are how we would describe our first impression. This beautiful old, typically English building should be full of character, charm and atmosphere - sadly non were present. Our bedroom was tiny, not very clean (lots of spiders)and was dominated by the squeezed-in wardrobe. However, the bedding and towels were immaculately clean and sparkly white. Our breakfast was not good. My husband's cooked breakfast was under cooked and my scrambled egg was soggy with a large ugly pile of smoked salmon that I just couldn't stomach. The cutlery and crockery were stuck to the tables, the tea tasted awful. We complained to the Duty Manager who was most apologetic and very keen to improve our stay. He moved us to another room which was a roomy suite and much better, other than having to remove two huge spiders. The Swan is so very understaffed, we think this could be one of their main problems. The young man who served breakfast on our last morning was then behind the bar, and then came to reception to check us out. Reception being not much more than a walk-in cupboard for staff whilst the customer stands in the doorway!

The Swan would benefit from a huge investment to rectify the problems, hopefully one day this might happen. If so, we will return, but not otherwise, I'm afraid.

Bradford on Avon is a lovely town with some great places to eat and drink. We would strongly recommend both The Dandy Lion Pub - great staff and atmosphere, and Little Venice an Italian Restaurant serving wonderful, wonderful food with a warm welcome and smiling faces from the staff.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alsma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2010

My wife and I spent a Saturday night here as a last minute break.Although the Swan ususally only books rooms for 2 night stays over a weekend, they were able to accommodate us. We found the staff to be friendly, helpful and very efficient. The room was comfortable and clean, the bed was one of the best hotel beds I've slept in. The resturant was good and the food was excellent, with good choice for all tastes. Even I was almost tempted by one of the vegitarian dishes. The bar was lively, but not rowdy and there was a good choice of ale and wine. Being in the centre of Bradford on Avon exploring the town was a breeze and we had some lovely walks. We will definately be going back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CVMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradford-on-Avon
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Leigh Park Hotel
BEST WESTERN Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
1.2 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
2.1 mi away
Woolley Grange
Woolley Grange
#2 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Trowbridge Hotel
2.9 mi away
Fieldways Hotel & Health Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel

Property: Swan Hotel
Address: 1 Church Street, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 1LN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Bradford-on-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Bradford-on-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Swan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of this picturesque town The Swan provides accommodation, food and a popular pub. Catering for business people and visitors to the town and area the Inn has 12 well appointed en suite rooms, some suitable for families, free wifi, great breakfasts, lunches and dinners. The food offering is both traditional British and Asian, not fusion but simply offering the best of both worlds, great for the couple or group where some like spicy, others don't! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Hotel Bradford-On-Avon, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing