We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT DINE HERE”
Review of Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Swan Hotel
Reviewed August 8, 2013

went to have dinner last night with my wife. what a terrible mistake. waited over 45 minutes for our meals to arrive and the outsatanding thing is we were the only 2 people dining there!!! was also put off by the constant commotion from the kitchen nearby and the chef shouting at a member of staff. will not go back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
6  Thank dodgerreadinguk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsavvy007, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Thank you for your review, although we are of course always disappointed when guests do not enjoy their experience at the hotel, certainly what you experienced is not acceptable and we have since taken steps to ensure that this does not happen again, we hope we can have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again to show you what we can do!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
There are newer reviews for Swan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 244 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2013

This is a beautiful old Hotel. We ate in the restaurant which was beautifully decorated. The waitresses were friendly and helpful, and the meal delicious and freshly cooked. Would definitely go again if in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jam92564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsavvy007, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are pleased you enjoyed your experience with us and look forward to welcoming you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed here one night whilst attending a wedding. The bride and groom also stayed, as well as some other wedding guests.

Our room (3) was clean and perfectly adequate, although the décor is looking a bit tired. The age of the building means that the walls aren't straight and the floor was slanting ... weird experience!!The bed was comfortable with very nice white cotton bedding, and we slept well as this room is not overlooking the busy main road. There is no view at all as the room actually overlooks other buildings and roofs, and we couldn't open the old sash window. The bathroom is very small and the washbasin is actually in the bedroom - but this wasn't a problem for us.

Breakfast was very good. I had the Eggs Benedict Royale (with smoked salmon) and my husband had scrambled eggs with bacon, all freshly cooked and very tasty. There was (tinned) fruit available, yogurts, fruit juice, toast and croissants - standard hotel fare.

I wouldn't want to spend a two week holiday at The Swan, but for a night or two it is a perfectly adequate establishment.

Room Tip: Room 3 is quiet but there isn't a view. Those overlooking the main road will be very noisy as th...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sowtonangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsavvy007, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write a review.
Of course as an old building all the rooms are different, and certainly the two rooms on the first floor that enjoy town centre views can be a little more noisy during the week, however the weekend traffic is less bothersome, the rooms to the rear of the hotel overlooking the river and the saxon bridge are perhaps more popular.
The room you stayed in certainly does have a smaller bathroom and it is the only room with a sink in the bedroom, all our other rooms have sinks in the bathroom and while most bathrooms are a reasonable size one of our rooms has a supersized bathroom with free standing bath and separate shower!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This town, and hotel can be used for your stay in Bath area. Quieter, a bit less expensive, with public transport to Bath on the half hour. The hotel itself is charming, with a nice restaurant - bigger than expected rooms, very modern and clean. Staff first rate, setting lovely.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mafac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsavvy007, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Thank you for your positive comments, we hope to be able to welcome you back again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Ludicrously understaffed. Lacks finish.Happy Shopper 4 for £1.50 yoghurt, this is not the standard expected from a hotel of this type. Evening meals were very good.Needs urgent attention to decor,cleanliness and hotel manager skills.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leverpostej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsavvy007, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we have been working though a programme of renovation and since your stay the whole of the ground floor has been completely redecorated, complete with new stairs carpet.
We do aim to ensure that there are enough staff to provide the standards of service we strive for, however there are occasions when we get it wrong for some reasons, this was clearly one of them!
Oh and the Happy Shopper yohgurt has been replaced
Hope we can welcome you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This was a weekend away for my in-laws in the Bath area as we got them a Red Letter Day experience for Christmas and so needed a room overnight in the area. Once the experience had been booked we struggled to find accommodation in Bath as we realised it was Valentines weekend so we went a little further afield.

Upon checking website we booked 3 rooms for the night in this hotel. After a short drive from Bath, in the dark, we eventually found it. Sadly there was no room in the very small car park out the back so we ended up parking across the road in a council car park (free after 6pm and on Sundays).

We checked in and were given our keys to the rooms – two of the party were shown their room as the other room was on a different side and just up the stairs from reception. This is a very old and quirky hotel - the stairs are uneven in places.

So the rooms: Room 11, this is a deluxe double with a queen size four-poster bed. Very clean and comfortable, plenty of pillows. Room size is a good size. Tea, coffee, hot chocolate and water provided as standard. Nice TV hanging on the wall at the end of the bed. Now the bad points. The one sash window in the room could be opened but sadly didn’t stay open. We had to wedge something under it to keep it up. Also, the radiator, although said was off, was still giving off heat. And the bathroom. Large room, good size bath but sadly in dire need of redecoration. Looked old and tired.

Room 4, this is a single room with only a shower in the en-suite. Good size for one. Usual tea, coffee etc and a small tv hanging on the wall.

Room 2, the furthest room in the hotel. This is the oldest part of the hotel which can be clearly seen and felt. This room is also the same. There is no right angle to be seen. The mirror is wonky, the wardrobe has wood underneath it to level it off and the floor can be felt as uneven. The bathroom here is also tired and in dire need of redecoration. I don’t expect to pay over £100 per night for a room where someone has taken stuff off the wall and filled in the holes with filler and then left it. White patches do not go well on green paint.

We booked a table for dinner at 8.15pm for 5 people. Having got a drink we sat down in the bar and perused the menu. Having got excited with the prospect of a duck, fish or Asian lover’s menu, there was a lot wrong with it – firstly none of these included the side (either rice or chips so a further £2.50 needed to be added). Secondly it doesn’t state on the menu whether the meals are a main or starter, e.g. the chicken satay is a starter meal but this is not stated on the menu. And the evening went down hill from there.
So, table booked for 8.15pm. Finally sat at our table at 8.45pm and the starters finally arrived at 9pm. Not too bad so far. Four of the part had starters – two whitebait, one scallops and one brie. The scallops arrived lukewarm but there was no complaints about the other meals.

So, all starters done with. Sat and waited, and waited and waited and our mains eventually arrived at 10pm. We had spring rolls (which were not labelled as a starter but we were told when ordering) and rice, chicken satay (again an unlabelled starter) and rice, gammon and chips and two king prawn deep fried with ginger and garlic with rice. The gammon was a fair size. The other dishes, for what you got, were overpriced.

For 5 people - 6 starters, 3 meals and 4 rices came to £86 which I personally think was not worth the money. We didn’t have the stomach for dessert as it was nearing 10.30pm and a sugar rush at that time is not appropriate.

Both the gentlemen (one serving food and the other covering the bar) were apologetic with the waiting times for food stating that they had a member of staff who had phoned in late ill and another party booked in before us had arrived late and put the times out. No discount on the bill was offered, but an apology was received.

Overall, I cannot say the experience was a pleasant one and I won’t be staying here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joby_lake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsavvy007, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Thank you so much for writing such a comprehensive review, you clearly took a lot of time over it and it is much appreciated.
We have taken on board much of what you have said:
The rooms have been repainted and in particular room 11 is looking in great shape!
The issues in the other bathroom you mentioned have also been addressed
Overall when you stayed there was certainly plenty to do, since then we have addressed much of it, including a complete ground floor redecoration.
Since your stay we have 're-engineered' the menus so that they are much clearer, as well as adding further dishes as well as also offering weekly specials.
On the new format of the menu dishes now come with potatoes, rice and/or vegetables included and the price and the price has not been increased
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again and showcase the improvements that have been made since your last stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Thank you to the staff and especially James for making our stay at the Swan most enjoyable. We stayed for two nights in a room that was clean, comfortable and well appointed with a queen size bed (which we have found to be rare in our travels around England) and oozed the English charm we were looking for. Due to circumstances we only ate breakfast in the restaurant - which was also quite enjoyable. Staff were attententive and happy to assist. The swan was perfectly located in the centre of town and within easly strolling distance to the picturesque canals and the train station to where Bath is only a ten minute train ride away.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anita J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradford-on-Avon
1.2 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
530 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
537 reviews
0.7 mi away
Woolley Grange
Woolley Grange
#2 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel
3.0 mi away
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Hinton Charterhouse
736 reviews
0.1 mi away
Timbrell's Yard
Timbrell's Yard
#3 of 22 in Bradford-on-Avon
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel

Address: 1 Church Street, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 1LN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Bradford-on-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Bradford-on-Avon
Price Range: $96 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Swan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of this picturesque town The Swan provides accommodation, food and a popular pub. Catering for business people and visitors to the town and area the Inn has 12 well appointed en suite rooms, some suitable for families, free wifi, great breakfasts, lunches and dinners. The food offering is both traditional British and Asian, not fusion but simply offering the best of both worlds, great for the couple or group where some like spicy, others don't! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Hotel Bradford-On-Avon, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing