We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and relaxed hotel.”
Review of Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Swan Hotel
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful and relaxed hotel.”
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a relaxing weekend and we got just that. The hotel is tastefully decorated and the rooms comfortable and clean. As its a very old building the bedroom floor wasn't level and all the furniture looked wonky, but it added to the character of the place. The bed was so comfortable and I had the best nights sleep I've had for a long time. The staff are very friendly and also very helpful. We would most definately stay here again if in the area. A very very nice weekend was had.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmac73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsavvy007, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments, they are very much appreciated and we hope to be able to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    75
    43
    38
    22
See reviews for
36
95
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Having some months ago had dinner at the hotel where the service was nothing short of appalling I revisited with friends again, having made a reservation we were greeted by a surly member of staff to say that their would be 30 minute wait, no effort made to sit us down get any drinks and menu when we eventually ordered a further long wait, one member of staff was enthusiastic but unfortunatly not very knowledgable, the red wine served was colder than the white wine, after much messing about we were given a bucket of warm water for the wine. We were charged £7.95 for the smallest salad as a starter, overall very expensive and not the best experience, as we live locally, one restaurant we shall not be returning too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsavvy007, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
We are always dissappointed when we hear when guests do not enjoy their experience with us as diners, particularly as most of the time we seem to send our guests away happy. Having said that, busy or not there is no place for giving anything other than a warm welcome to all who visit us, which clearly you feel did not happen in this case.

The temperature of the wine is also not something we are proud of, we have over 45 wines on our list and do try to maintain and serve our wines in the optimum conditions, our staff did try to assist in this matter, but clearly it should not have happened.

We are sorry that you did not feel we were value for money, we do try to remain competitive, however we always take our guests feedback seriously and have reviewed the salad in question following your visit.

We always welcome feedback and constructive critisism and our staff did pass on your feedback about the salad, however overall they thought that you enjoyed your experience with us, clearly they misread the situation and you have given us a few areas for us to focus on

We always appreciate feedback and critisism and thank you for taking the time to help us improve further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bradford-on-Avon hotels

Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Had dinner in The Swan on Saturday evening, and could not fault the food or the service. We ate in the restaurant, which had a nice relaxed atmosphere, and the service from the waitress was attentive without being over powering - pitched just right. The main courses took a little while to arrive, as you would expect with food freshly cooked to order, it was most enjoyable, with good portions. We decided to have a desert, and the Chocolate Tart was the best I have ever tasted - superb flavour in the chocolate (not too sweet, nor too bitter), with a lovely crisp case. The sticky toffee pudding and chocolate mousse were also praised by my companions.

I will certainly be returning to The Swan again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ms2608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsavvy007, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback and we appreciate your comments, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you, as we would any guest, back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We really wanted to enjoy our stay at The Swan Hotel. Bradford on Avon is a delightful town and The Swan is perfectly placed to explore it. It was a pleasant surprise to discover that they have a convenient private car park for guests. We had room 9, a 'standard room' (their description) costing £110 for a double room with breakfast.

It's a very old building so we understand the sloping, creaky floors and sash windows that won't open. But the general ambience of the hotel is that the owner or manager has just given up. The beige carpet on the main stairs is threadbare with grey margins that haven't been vacuumed for years. Our en-suite bathroom had black mould on the ceiling, a cracked wooden toilet seat, a dripping tap, the bath plug detached from its chain, and a poorly-attached glass shelf over the sink that sloped so much that toiletries placed on it fell into the basin.

The bedroom itself was so small that the wardrobe doors couldn't be opened fully because they hit the bed. The kettle in our room was very furred up with limescale. We found a huge clump of somebody else's hair on the floor, not what I expect in a £110 room. The paintwork and decor was tired and needing to be refreshed. Our bedroom curtains had clearly been converted from roman blinds but sadly were hung from a length of knotted wire and weren't wide enough to cover the window, leaving a 2 inch strip of uncovered window either side. Our sleep was disturbed by an outside light that kept switching on for a few minutes and then off again.

On the positive side the bed was comfortable and the power shower over the bath gave an excellent supply of lovely hot water. The bathroom mirror was well lit for shaving or make-up. The full English breakfast was very nice, let down only by a cheap, mass-produced sausage. A nice butcher's sausage would have been preferred. However the bacon, (one) fried egg, fried mushrooms, black pudding and grilled tomato were all very well cooked and nicely presented, with a nice big pot of tea for one and good coffee.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsavvy007, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for your review, of course we are always dissappointed when we do not match up to our guests expectations, although we do really appreciate it when guests raise their concerns during their stay and give us an opportunity to address their concerns, you had raised the issue of the bath plug and as we mentioned to you at the time it had only just disappeared, within 10 minutes we provided you with a temporary replacement. However you did not give us an opportunity to address your other concerns, of course we can't always make ammends immediately but we will certainly make every effort.

We have certainly not given up on the hotel, as we have recently taken over - we are constantly working on improving the property and we always appreciate it when guests give us feedback and we endevour to act upon the comments as quickly as we can.

Of course there is always room for further improvements and we will continue to develop The Swan further, however we do believe that generally the current pricing structure still represents value for money.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andradina, Brazil
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

It has been a while since I had a truly relaxing 2 nights in a classic English hotel in the middle of a small town in the winter, not to mention the lovely dinner on one of the nights – it really tickled the taste buds!

My husband and I stayed in room 12, which is one of their Deluxe rooms – it was very spacious, modern ‘décor’ with a very comfortable bed and luxurious bedding. The bathroom had an excellent water pressure giving a great shower! Although our room was above the bar, it was a quiet room. The overall hotel ‘décor’ is absolutely fine, it is an incredibly old landmark in Bradford, and while it may look a tiny bit tired in parts, it is by no means in any bad shape.

We arrived in the afternoon to a warm welcome and had a pot of tea – Mm, a ‘tad’ weak tea, but lovely taste, but then I am known for having a true ‘builder’s tea’! This did not happen at other times though, so I guess it was a very minor ‘blip’. But, if you are into your coffees, they have a good selection.

In the evening, we had a drink at the bar followed by dinner – the atmosphere was most pleasant and the staff were just there if we needed them, making you feel very relaxed without either overcrowding or being absent. Dinner was very, very nice – I do recommend Pork Belly and the Sticky Toffee Pudding!

Bradford-on--Avon is a charming town with a few places to visit and good shops. However, if you are looking for a more varied shopping area, Bath is not far away – but by staying here you do get ‘Good value for money’ though.

Back to the hotel, I understand that it changed hands recently, and like with many places, it does take a while to settle into a new routine, but did I notice that? No! Then again, I cannot say much more as I had never stayed there before. Would I go back? The answer is a definite ‘YES’, at least to have the opportunity to try the enticing Thai Menu and Room 11, which has the Four Poster Bed!

In summary:
• Lovely welcome
• Very nice room and excellent bed/bedding
• Very good food/menu choice
• Superb location with parking

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bourne92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsavvy007, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your experience with us and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carshalton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed here with friends for a weekend to enable us to visit the christmas markets in Bath .
The Hotel had a good feel to it and very helpful and friendly staff ,our room had a four poster bed which was a nice surprise and was clean enough .Breakfast was good and served with a smile .On saturday night we had the pleasure to have a late drink with a local called Richard and one of the bar staff Dom what was very enjoyable .
Unfortunately the weather was bad but still had a great time and also loved Bath will come back again .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsavvy007, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for your review we are glad you enjoyed your stay at The Swan Hotel, we are indeed a great alternative to staying in Bath, either just 10 minutes on the train or a short drive, so one can enjoy Bath and yet return to the peace and quiet of a very pretty town! We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

My family and i came here for some lunch on 13th november.

When we arrived there was no staff to be seen for 10 minutes as we waited at the bar. Eventually a polish woman served us so we went and sat at a table and ordered our food and drinks. I ordered a sandwich with a side portion of chips as all sandwichs come with crisps. We waited 30 minutes for them to bring out my sons meal and then about 15 minutes after that they brought the rest of the meals for my family. I thought this was very odd as normally any other restaurant you go to the meals all come out together. When our meals arrived, my sister had a soup which was half a bowlful which was supplemented with a stale roll. My mums gammon and pinapple was like rubber with a very unappetising salad and my meal came without the crisps despite saying so on the menu. So we then had to ask for those. During the meal no one was to be seen to ask if the meal was ok. When someone eventually did come over we explained to the polish woman that we wasnt happy with the meal at all and we explained we would not be paying the whole bill. She then went to get her manager, a gentleman, who didnt really have alot to say about the matter, he gave us the impression that he'd take some money off the bill as it was unacceptable. Then a chinese woman came over to our table giving us a whole list full of excuses to all of our problems, she was very rude. We went to te bar to pay, no money had been deducted. We explained how disgusted we were with the food and service and said once again we'd only be happy to pay half. The chinese woman came again and she refused that offer so we then left on that note. It was either that or nothing. The meal wasn't even worth half the bill. The chinese woman then started chasing us out shouting and screaming. We tried explaining again but she wasnt having any of it. We got to the main bridge in Bradford and she started pushing us back. If you've ever seen the bridge in bradford it has hardly any pavement. I had my baby boy in my arms who was getting quite distraught and upset with all this drama. My little boy and i nearly fell in front of a car she pushed us with such force. I just couldn't believe everything that was happening. The place has obviously never heard of good customer service to bring such aggression into the equation. My family and i then get on the bus to go home and her husband im guessing then followed us on the bus to trowbridge. The police then had to get involved to resolve the situation. DISGUSTING FOOD!! DISGUSTING SERVICE! The place should be shut down!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank racerboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsavvy007, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
The hotel will not accept customers who come to the hotel, order food and drink and then try to leave without paying.

In this case the customers ate all their food (except for the pineapple that was served with gammon) and at no time complained, other than asking for the tortilla chips which were immediately provided.

The police were involved because the hotel called them to report these guests for leaving without paying, it was not until the police came (having followed them to a neighbouring town 8 miles away), that they finally agreed to pay something for the meal.

The management does not see any need to comment in further detail on this ludicrous situation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradford-on-Avon
0.6 mi away
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
517 reviews
1.2 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
512 reviews
0.7 mi away
Woolley Grange
Woolley Grange
#2 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Polebarn
The Polebarn
#3 of 4 in Trowbridge
193 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel
4.7 mi away
The Conigre
The Conigre
#3 of 4 in Melksham
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel

Property: Swan Hotel
Address: 1 Church Street, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 1LN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Bradford-on-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Bradford-on-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Swan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of this picturesque town The Swan provides accommodation, food and a popular pub. Catering for business people and visitors to the town and area the Inn has 12 well appointed en suite rooms, some suitable for families, free wifi, great breakfasts, lunches and dinners. The food offering is both traditional British and Asian, not fusion but simply offering the best of both worlds, great for the couple or group where some like spicy, others don't! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Hotel Bradford-On-Avon, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing