We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly surprised”
Review of Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Swan Hotel
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

First time in this hotel we has a very warm welcome from the manager- I do believe it's a family run hotel. Even though they had a pub downstairs it was very quiet throughout the night . Rooms spacious and clean , in the very heart of town .
Breakfast too was very good - a la carte - included in the room price .
Very simple , cozy , clean .

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spitni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsavvy007, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
The Management and staff thank you for your review and hope to welcome you back again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    75
    42
    37
    22
See reviews for
36
93
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We booked The Swan for our exclusive use on the occasion of my daughter's wedding. James and his team delivered an excellent experience, paying great attention to detail. The food was of excellent quality, and was served in a polite and courteous manner. The staff were really cheerful and helpful, and were dressed appropriately. The bedrooms and bathrooms were clean, to the satisfaction of all guests. We would recommend The Swan without hesitation.

Room Tip: We had a top-floor room at the front of the hotel, and we experienced no problems with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsavvy007, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
The Management and staff thank you for your review and hope to welcome you back again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2012

This is a lovely hotel, we stayed for one night and had a very relaxing break. It is well sited in town with a handy car park at the rear but it is only a short stroll along the river and you feel as if you've left the town completely behind. The staff are all welcoming and friendly and we felt very 'at home'. The room we had was extremely comfortable. The new owners are making huge efforts and I am sure the Swan will continue to improve.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hjames11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsavvy007, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
The Management and staff thank you for your review and hope to welcome you back again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

We were staying locally and called into the Swan for dinner not knowing what to expect! We were pleasantly surprised to be presented with a wonderful menu selection covering typical English dishes to a couple of Mexican options. The portions were big and the food tasted great - Especially the Churros for dessert! We might stay at the Swan next time we come down that way.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank cathyq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsavvy007, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for your comments, we always strive to offer a unique dining experience at The Swan and are pleased to advise you that we have now added a new Asian Menu to our already popular traditional english food, so do come back again and enjoy dishes from Thailand, Indonesia and Japan, dishes all collected from the owners personal experiences in Asia....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I returned to Bradford Upon Avon for the second time last weekend. Sadly the lovely Georgian Lodge is no longer, so we decided to try The Swan. Having booked over the phone and ararnged an early check in, I was expecting the same excellent customer service face to face. On arrival it wasn't obvious where reception was coming in from the car park and we had to seek out a member of staff. She was extremely surly and frankly, unwelcoming. She told us bluntly that the check in time is 2-3 O'clock and our room wouldn't be ready. Not what we wanted to hear after 3 hours in a hot car with a 19 month old, and having specifically requested early access. In the same breath she then said it hadn't actually be occupied the night before so we might be able to go straight up, which thankfully was the case.
The deluxe room itself was spacious and very comfortable, but was was let down by the rather tatty and underwhelming bathroom, which doesn't reflect the £140 price tag. We also managed to stay on the hottest day of the year, but were unable to keep the sash windows open.
We were looking forward to a full english breakfast the next morning and the girl on breakfast duty was very friendly and quick to take our order and get us a high chair. A completely different experience to the day before. Unfortunately our table was extremely sticky. When we asked for it to be wiped, she apologised and told us that they're all like it, something to do with dodgy varnish. Although it was good to know the table wasn't actually dirty, once the seed's been sown it stays and it's not great peeling your forearms off the table. This was a a shame as the cooked breakfast was delicious.
When it came to check out, again there was nobody around to deal with us so the breakfast girl attempted to help, but then had to go and get the manager. I did voice my concerns when he asked if there was anything they could have done to improve our stay. He thanked me for my comments but offered no incentive to return in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Podfather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsavvy007, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for your comments and feedback, the tables are a frustration, we have taken note of your comments and now use table cloths, which is well received, this will be in place at least until we have been able to find a solution to the defective tables.
We would of course be happy to welcome you back to the property on a future ocassion, once we have had some time to more effectively implement further improvements to the property and would be very happy to welcome you back here, however I did not offer as I felt at the time that any offer would not have been well received, however please do not hesitate to contact me should an incentive to return again be of interest to you.
kind regards
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bradford-on-Avon hotels

birmingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

The swan at bradford on avon staff ok rooms good food excellant. definenately go back.ample parking train station close by staff could do with alittle more training. a good base to explore wiltshire. rooms at the front and back had the best views my room on side looked out to the roof next door.

Room Tip: back and front rooms best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apcpac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsavvy007, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for your comments, as an old building there are definately differences in the rooms, these are usually reflected in the different room catagories we have, thanks once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

The £125 room rate and the photos on the website had led me expect a much more charming experience. The building has so much potential but the paintwork in our room was very tired, the bathroom sparten, and the woman who welcomed us was very curt. The breakfast wasn't bad but just left feeling disappointed. Such a shame becuase it has so much potential!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PastyF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsavvy007, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for your comments, they are always welcome, even if not so positive, as new management of the property we have certainly inherited plenty of work to do and we appreciate that, in the last few months we have hopefully made some headway and will continue to work on further improving the quality of stay at The Swan Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradford-on-Avon
0.6 mi away
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
1.2 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.7 mi away
Woolley Grange
Woolley Grange
#2 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Trowbridge Hotel
2.8 mi away
Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel
1.8 mi away
The Moonraker
The Moonraker
#1 of 4 in Trowbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel

Property: Swan Hotel
Address: 1 Church Street, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 1LN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Bradford-on-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Bradford-on-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Swan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of this picturesque town The Swan provides accommodation, food and a popular pub. Catering for business people and visitors to the town and area the Inn has 12 well appointed en suite rooms, some suitable for families, free wifi, great breakfasts, lunches and dinners. The food offering is both traditional British and Asian, not fusion but simply offering the best of both worlds, great for the couple or group where some like spicy, others don't! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Hotel Bradford-On-Avon, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing