We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful hotel with a friendly welcome”
Review of Burghope Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bradford-on-Avon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Burghope Manor
Sompting, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A wonderful hotel with a friendly welcome”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We are thrilled to have found this beautiful hotel in such a lovely setting. The house and rooms are stunning, it is so peaceful and relaxing and Alan's welcome was second to none - the tea and cake on arrival was much needed and a lovely little touch. Lovely room (we had the four poster room), lots of space, clean and modern, tidied every day. The breakfast was to die for! It was especially nice chatting to the other guests over breakfast and in the gardens each day. Easy parking, easy to get to Bath and Bradford on Avon, and a great local pub to boot. The evening meal that Alan did for one of our birthdays was superb, and no problems catering for our vegetarian needs.

Room Tip: The four poster room is very comfortable and overlooks the gorgeous gardens. Perfect for a romantic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob_and_Michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
62
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
wiganuk
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We arrived Friday after a 3 hour plus drive down the Motorway! Thankfully Alan had tea/coffee and cake ready on arrival. This time we had our little Jack Russell dog Harvey with us and had reserved the Four Poster room, which is huge so we had plenty room for the doggy crate and bed! Friday evening we had a lovely sit down meal with friends around the dining room table, meeting new people which is always nice. With the recent heat wave Alan decided to do his marvellous BBQ's on the Saturday & Sunday, which are amazing! Sat outside in the lovely garden chatting, eating and a few glasses of wine on a hot summers evening whilst the backdrop is the lovely Manor House. If you’re looking for a place to relax, a base for exploring Wiltshire & Bath, National Trust, English Heritage properties you cannot go wrong staying at Burghope Manor. Our Dog is a recent rescue dog and he did bark a little, but Alan was terrific himself the owner of two rescue dogs he understands that sometimes that can be afraid of new surroundings and people, the other guests understood also and by the second day Harvey was playing ball with them all which was amazing! A big thank you to Alan & Peter, plus the other guests of Burghope Manor for making such an amazing weekend away!

Room Tip: Four Poster room is huge and the bathroom is amazing! Room 3 has a 6ft wide bed if you like a huge b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wiganuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

A beautiful spot in the Wiltshire countryside, come rain or shine the B&B is a wonderful place to relax. I've visited many times and stayed in three out of the seven rooms now (hard to swap when you have a fave!) and each has been lovely with tasteful, luxury furnishings and most importantly comfy beds with soft duvets and pillows! Our Border Collie has always been welcome and starts to squeak with excitement on arrival :) My partner and I often curl up with a good book (plus they have Diva mag) or pop downstairs and chat to other guests if we fancy it. So, highly recommended for romantic stays, or meeting new people or holding a murder mystery as we did for my 'big' birthday a few years ago - my friends still talk about it now! A great way to get different friends chatting. The food is consistently delicious (and huge) and the hosts go out of their way to help - such as was the case on my last stay when I needed assistance.... Will be back!

Room Tip: My fave is room 3!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jinnreef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

What a find. The Burghope Manor is a charming place to stay. It was exactly what I had hopes for; comfortable yet grand, quiet and beautifully decorated. If you can afford the middle or higher range rooms, then definitely go for it. The smaller rooms are lovely but the larger ones have a lot of space. The breakfast was lovely and the pub nearby does great food too. I'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ants27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

We have not stayed in a B&B for about 15 years si was not sure what to expect. However pleasantly surprised. Great value compared to Holiday Inn Express and close to Bath Park and ride (£2.50 per person every 15 mins). Location extremely peaceful, good standard of accommodation and hosts very welcoming. Had a meal on the evening based on reviews on here and was not disappointed. Not only did we avoid the hassle of finding somewhere to eat, the quality and presentation far exceeded what we could have found. Would not hestitate in returning, though perhaps for longer next time! Has definitely made me think about staying jn a B&B again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jomashuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights. The house is really beautiful in a peaceful village outside the town. The host is welcoming, friendly and helpful whilst leaving you alone to come and go as you please and to enjoy the house. Breakfast is great and there is dinner available if you want it. A great base to relax and to access Bath and Bradford on Avon. Wholeheartedly recommend to anyone who wants to stay in a beautiful place and relax with great service and fellow guests. We thought it was excellent value too.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NS1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
153 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

For a long time we had been thinking of touring the English countryside, staying at B&Bs. Watching English films and TV series, I have wondered how these stately homes actually look in real. And, when there is a choice, I prefer to stay at gay run or at least gay friendly places. With our recent stay at Burghope Manor, I managed to kill three birds with one stone, and had a series of pleasant surprises on top of that. The house does not only look fabulous, the rooms are also truly comfortable. Alan and Peter welcome you as if you were their personal friends and provide you with all sorts of interesting information about the sights in the area, which is so much more than the city of Bath. The conversations during breakfasts and dinners, and teas in the drawing room, with the other guests, mostly gay couples, were more entertaining than at many private parties that I have been to.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luxotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bradford-on-Avon hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
1.4 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
0.3 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#5 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Woolley Grange
Woolley Grange
#2 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
0.3 mi away
Timbrell's Yard
Timbrell's Yard
#3 of 22 in Bradford-on-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Castle Inn
The Castle Inn
#1 of 22 in Bradford-on-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burghope Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burghope Manor

Property: Burghope Manor
Address: Winsley, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 2LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Bradford-on-Avon
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Bradford-on-Avon
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Burghope Manor Bradford-On-Avon, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing