We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Stay”
Review of Burghope Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bradford-on-Avon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Burghope Manor
wiganuk
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Christmas Stay”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Well what can I say, we arrived on the 23rd December and stayed for a week. Alan & Peter had the house decorated traditionally and provided the perfect Christmas Fayre. Met people old and new for the best Christmas ever. Along with my partner David and other gay couples staying we all thoroughly enjoyed ever aspect of this wonderful house and Alan's cooking. Traditional party games after dinner added to the enjoyment. We loved it that much we have already booked for Christmas 2013, Burghope Manor is our all time favourite and never ever ceases to amaze us!

Room Tip: all rooms are perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wiganuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
63
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was our first trip to Bath & the Burghope Manor, and it will certainly not be our last. Alan & Peter were the most excellent host's, nothing was too much trouble, Alans meals are a gastronomic delight, you will definately not go hungry. We arrived to tea and cake, very welcome after a long journey. The rooms are just wonderful, All decorated with taste, comfort and luxury and are to an excellent standard, ensuite the best kept we have seen.
Over dinner the conversation flowed putting us at ease, and then after dinner relaxing with Alan & Peter in the snug to watch tv, so there is no need for TV/tea making facilities as they open up their home to you. Nothing is too much bother and on returning from trips tea or coffee is offered staright away to you. Alan & Peter are the perfect hosts.
location wise, perfect for getting to all the attractions in the area. We look forward to our next visit to Burgope Manor.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LinnyB2709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Burghope Manor is a fantastic place to stay. We have stayed 3 times now, and at the owners previous place - Leigh House - on 3 further occasions. Alan and Peter are the perfect hosts. The home cooked meals are truely wonderful.

The pictures people have uploaded don't do full justice to the building and interior. It's the perfect place to escape the city to relax in.

The village inself is lovely and the local pub has some great local beers. So many attractions within a few miles as well - Bradford-on-avon, Bath, Stourhead, Glastonbury - to name a few.

We will be returning soon!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanandAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Burghope Manor is great. We stayed for three nights but wish it could have been longer. Alan and Peter are lovely, sweet and very attentive hosts. The accommodation is, as expected from their previous incarnation up the road at Leigh House, wonderful - comfortable, stylish and well appointed. Alan's meals are just wonderful. There is a lovely sense of peace and serenity about the place, yet it is within a short walk of a great pub and also a short drive to Bath. The rooms are great, very comfortable and styled perfectly. We love Burghope Manor, and we will be returning very soon.

Room Tip: The four poster room is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garethbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Hills, UT
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

I truly cannot say enough about our stay at Burghope Manor. Allen was the consummate host and treated us like old friends rather than guests. Our room was so lovely and so well appointed. The breakfasts were delicious and Allen went out of his way to make sure we were served what we liked. If you stay here, do make sure you take the opportunity to have dinner with Allen and Peter at the Manor. The meal we shared with them and the other guests was so delicious that I ate too much and wasn't hungry for 24 hours! Allen is a superb chef and Allen and Peter are both great conversationalists. We were provided with ample information about things to do in the area and directions to get there. I'd go back to Burghope Manor TODAY if I could manage it. It was such a delightful change from our everyday life in Utah. You should definitely give it a go.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeniseA376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We spent just one night at Burghope Manor as a base for a visit to Bath which is a 15 minute drive from the B&B. From arrival to departure the owners Alan and Peter were extremely hospitable and attentive.

The B&B itself was decorated very well with the look of a classic english manor house along with the cosiness and comfort of a country cottage.

The bedroom was a more than decent size with a really comfortable, large bed. The bathroom was fitted with smart yet classic fittings and was impeccably clean and functional. Previous reviews state how the rooms lacked amenities such as tea, coffee and ironing equipment, whilst this is true the owners are more than happy to provide you with a cup of tea or coffee or anything else they can possibly offer simply by asking which is a much more personal way I feel.

We elected to have the home cooked dinner in the evening and this was not only good value but extremely tasty and filling. The owners were very attentive keeping us topped up on wine which was all included in the price of the 3 course meal.

Breakfast was equally fulfilling with locally sourced eggs, sausages and bacon along with the lighter option of cereal.

Overall highly recommended, especially if you desire a friendly, welcoming and peaceful escape near Bath.

Room Tip: All rooms we saw were great, for extra luxury, choose the four poster room. The owners showed us thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Burghope Manor is such a wonderful place to stay, this is now my 4th stay and I will be returning for a week at Christmas. The hosts cannot do enough for you, the rooms, the food are both excellent and if you need anything all you need to do is ask. Fresh tea and Coffee is always available on request also. You have the choice of two public sitting rooms to relax and read or talk with other guests and the garden is lovely with lots of outdoor seating. Parking is not a problem, lots of room within the private grounds which is wonderful no running around looking for off road parking like a lot of other places I have stayed. In one word Burghope Manor is "Amazing"

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidMoore58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradford-on-Avon
1.5 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
524 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
531 reviews
0.5 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#5 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Woolley Grange
Woolley Grange
#2 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
439 reviews
4.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Timbrell's Yard
Timbrell's Yard
#2 of 22 in Bradford-on-Avon
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burghope Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burghope Manor

Property: Burghope Manor
Address: Winsley, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 2LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Bradford-on-Avon
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Bradford-on-Avon
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Burghope Manor Bradford-On-Avon, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing