We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable without being spectacular”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bradford-on-Avon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bradford Old Windmill
Reviewed November 16, 2007

Spent 2 nights in a nice room with its own separate lounge which was comfortable and gave good space. Good bathroom (though no shower). Just on the outskirts of Bradford so very quiet but can walk into town in 10 minutes.

We found the owners polite, helpful and chatty; yes, they do seem to have a lot of "rules" (including one interesting one about nocturnal activities!) but they were fine and none of them prevented us from doing what we wanted to do. Have had far more imposing owners in plenty of other B&Bs!

Stayed: November 2007
4  Thank 2FK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 50 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2007

This B&B is undeniably beautiful but we were expecting space and tranquility. This is not the case. It is at the end of a short, very narrow road shared with the neighbours who overlook the property. It is all very squeezed in and the neigbours were unfriendly and did not smile back at us or acknowledge us at all. We got the distinct impression they were fed up of having guests tramping down their road and that words may have been said with the owners in the past!

As soon as we arrived we were sat down and forced to read the full page laminate with detailed map showing where we had to park (you had to park in the first marked bay, if this was full move to the next one and park against the wall so that the door won't open and crawl out of the passenger side etc). We could not use the jacuzzi after 10pm. We had to ask for a key if we were going to be back from dinner after 10pm. You are not given a room key when you arrive. All the rooms in the B&B are left open...!! It's all a bit strange considering you are paying well over £100 for the night! Not what we expected. It's not a very relaxing environment with so many rules and regulations. If you don't like feeling you're in detention don't stay...if you live by strict regulation you will love it!

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Francine5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2007

We booked to stay at Bradford Old Windmill as a treat for our wedding anniversary. We had a fantastic time. It is the most romantic setting. The owners made us feel very welcome indeed. The only reason for them being specific about where your car is parked is because the drive way is narrow and is shared with a couple of other houses. We stayed in Damsel. The room with the waterbed and whirlpool bath. It was exceptionally clean, very pretty and most comfortable. The breakfast was second to none-a huge amount to choose from and all home-made or organic. Would recommend Bradford Old Windmill to anyone wanting something extra special and different from your usual bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank destewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2007

Booked this B&B as a surprise for my partner. We'd only booked for 1 night but the owner told us we couldn't arrive before 5pm and had to leave by 10am - as such we felt it was very expensive for just a 17 hour stay.
Parking is fairly tight and the owner was very abrupt and told us to move our car as we would annoy the neighbours.
We wanted to go out into the local town for dinner and asked for a key to get back in. We were told that a key wasn't necessary as she'd wait up - so long as we weren't too late!!! A bit reminiscent of being a teenager living back at home.
There was a lovely jacuzzi bath in our room but we were asked not to use it any later than 10pm.
Breakfast was very nice although as soon as we'd finished eating we were expected to leave.
A nice place - shame about the 'get them in, get them out' level of service. We got the feeling they weren't that keen on having guests!

  • Stayed: May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ganglypete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2006

I was vey pleased with the stay I had, the standard of the service was very high. I found the bed ever so comfortable this place is very romantic, good for couples because it really floated me and my boyfriends boat.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Etlaala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jacksca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nathalie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradford-on-Avon
1.3 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
547 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
552 reviews
0.6 mi away
Woolley Grange
Woolley Grange
#2 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#5 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
250 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Moonraker
The Moonraker
#1 of 4 in Trowbridge
1,009 reviews
3.5 mi away
Combe Grove Hotel
Combe Grove Hotel
#22 of 34 in Bath
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bradford Old Windmill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bradford Old Windmill

Address: 4 Masons Lane, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 1QN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Bradford-on-Avon
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Bradford-on-Avon
Price Range: $119 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Converted stone tower windmill with spectacular views over Bradford on Avon - a small B&B in a private home. Round room, round bed, round house or a suite - bedroom with style Gothic iron bed, sitting room and bathroom as well as a gallery bed for adventurous children. Imaginative breakfast menu for adventurous eaters carnivores, vegetarians and vegans. Close to Bath, Longleat, Stonehenge & Kennet & Avon Canal. Walkers, cyclists and small car owners especially welcome to save the world and keep grumpy owner happy! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bradford Old Windmill Hotel Bradford-On-Avon
Bradford Old Windmill On Avon
Bradford Old Windmill Bradford-On-Avon, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing