We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better”
Review of Widbrook Grange

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Widbrook Grange
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Could be better”
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

I am sure previous comments are correct within context. As a business traveller, no need for pool, sports etc. - think it a wee bit twee and tired. What annoyed me out of all proportion was bedside lamps - can't turn them on. Tried to follow the cable,but when it went behind the extra bed, I gave up in the end.

Everything clean and tidy, but I wouldn't go back unless I had to. Can't comment on food - not tried.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Roz1914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    148
    56
    29
    10
See reviews for
163
197
14
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed at this hotel from 8th to 11th July.
A very pleasant visit. Staff were friendly and helpful. Our bedroom and bathroom were large, the bed comfortable. Breakfasts and the evening meals in the restaurant were tasty. I’d especially recommend the wide variety of ingredients from the muesli bar at breakfast and the grilled sea bass at night. The grounds are lovely. It was good to sit among the trees, bushes and flower beds, listen to the birds and watch out for rabbits. Our room, "Thomas Hardy", was just a few steps from the warm and reasonably sized swimming pool – almost en suite! The most memorable feature of "Thomas Hardy" was its view of the sun setting over the fields. On our first morning, just outside the door, I found a flock of doves gathered round a small pool, surrounded by lavender. A story book scene. As has been noted by others, there are plumbing problems, but I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swats0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Peace and quiet in the heart of the countryside is here.
You can literally lose yourself in the vast gardens which on a Summers afternoon are an absolute delight
Accommodation is first rate as is the breakfast and Dinner. Staff are always welcoming ang helpful.

Lovely pool, Rabbits running wild at daybreak and a reasonable pub a short distance away on foot.

It's not cheap to stay, but it's worth every penny and I cant wait to return in August

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustCheckinBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We had a terrific time with our two small children at this property. The room we stayed in had four beds, all of which were reasonably comfortable. Our kids appreciated the rustic charm of the place, which is in close proximity to a working farm where my daughter found a unique rock in the middle of a field (volcanic glass), which she enjoyed. The staff was courteous and accommodating, and really took an interest in making sure our children had a nice time. They have a pool which is extremely well-maintained. Plenty of parking. The property was very quiet. Wi-fi was free and very fast. They have a lovely meeting space on premises that looked like a perfect little retreat for business strategy discussions.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bookman1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stopped for 2 nights on a return trip from Wales as we had not visited Bradford on Avon before. Having seen previous reviews of Widbrook Grange on Trip Advisor we chose to stay there even though it is a little way out of town. We need not have worried about this however as the hotel is just an easy 30 minute stroll along the towpath of the canal from town.

The staff and owners were all very friendly and made us very welcome. The food was of a very good standard, we had dinner and breakfast at the hotel both days. A short but well priced wine list contained some good selections. The dinner menu on Sunday and Monday nights is much shorter in terms of main courses than on other days. My wife enjoyed a relaxed swim in the pool. Minor negatives are that the rooms could use a decorative refresh, the truncated Sunday dinner menu and the plumbing is (by their own admission) a little antiquated. Overall however we were very pleased with Widbrook Grange and hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidH82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Have recently stayed at Widbrook with a large group. In fact we took all the rooms! The staff were first class from the first time we went to see them to arrange the weekend and nothing was too much trouble. From the moment we arrived the staff were most attentive and eager to ensure that we enjoyed ourselves. The rooms are well decorated and all individual, they were clean and most comfortable. The food was excellent, in fact chef tailored the meals to suit our requirements! The younger members of our group enjoyed the lovely pool. If you require a' hotel full of charm and character in a splendid setting Widbrook is the place for you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MalcJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We have just spent a wonderful weekend in Bradford on Avon based on a group booking we made at Widbrook Grange. The hotel was most helpful in our choice of venue and gave us lots of assistance in chosing two walks in the area and making our somewhat haphazard accommodation requirements workable. The staff were excellent in all areas. The hotel was very comfortable and there were many different room choices which suited our different tastes. We ate in the private area of the dining room which offered a very cosy atmosphere and the dinners available from two different menus were very much appreciated and enjoyed. I also need to mention the breakfast which was excellent, served with smiles all around and plenty of choice. A number of our group were also very pleased that the hotel had a pool which was apparently very good.

Room Tip: The Shakespeare and the Chaucer Rooms were particularly good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BJlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradford-on-Avon
1.4 mi away
Woolley Grange
Woolley Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
436 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
528 reviews
1.2 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#5 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Moonraker
The Moonraker
#1 of 4 in Trowbridge
972 reviews
5.9 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
705 reviews
10.1 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Widbrook Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Widbrook Grange

Property: Widbrook Grange
Address: Widbrook, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 1UH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Bradford-on-Avon
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Bradford-on-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Widbrook Grange 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Widbrook Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Widbrook Grange Hotel Bradford-On-Avon
Widbrook Grange Bradford-On-Avon, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing