We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”
Review of Woolley Grange

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Woolley Grange
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We have just returned from a family celebration at Woolley Grange. It was my 70th birthday and there were 12 of us , 5 children aged 7,9,10,11 1nd 12. The accommodation was superb, the food excellent, service was brilliant. Nothing was too much trouble. The chef even produced a gluten free birthday cake (10 year old is a coeliac). (Thanks again chef!)
I just can't recommend Woolley Grange highly enough. Brilliant! Thanks to all!

Room Tip: Family suites.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ruthmacMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare-Hammond, General Manager at Woolley Grange, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2014

Dear ruthmac Midlands

Thank you so much for your review and I am delighted you all had a wonderful birthday celebration with us.

Great to hear there is truly something for all ages at Woolley.

Hope to see you for your next big birthday!

Best wishes
Clare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (446)
There are newer reviews for Woolley Grange
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

291 - 297 of 446 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2014

I was looking for a birthday treat for my partner and starting looking at spa breaks. I came across the Woolley Grange Spa Hotel and I am so glad I decided to book it.
We arrived early at the hotel as we had treatments booked, so we went to have those and then went back to check in. We were greeted by Clare who showed us to our room and she was friendly and very helpful. We put our bags in our room and then headed back to the spa to use the pool, steam and sauna. The spa girls were lovely and made us both feel welcome and relaxed. We also walked around the grounds where they have a big garden of herbs and vegetables, even chicken and ducks. We decided to eat out for dinner rather than at the hotel, so we drove into Bath which was only a 15 minute car journey and had dinner by the river. We came back to the hotel and sat in one of the lounges for a bit. The staff were very pleasant and made sure we had all we needed. The next morning we had breakfast which was lovely, great quality of food and again the staff were friendly and pleasant. Overall we had a really lovely time and will definitely visit again with our daughter.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare-Hammond, General Manager at Woolley Grange, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2014

Dear Lisa M

It was a pleasure to welcome you to Woolley and I am really pleased you had a relaxing time with us. Hopefully you have seen lots of things your daughter might enjoy and we can entice you back for a family break.

Warm wishes
Clare and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Although we were a couple and the Hotel advertised itself as a family hotel at no time did we feel that this hotel was not for us. From the time we checked in we found the hotel accommodating. Service was superb, staff really helpful and knowledgeable about he history of the house, clean plenty of space to find a peaceful corner to enjoy the beautiful surroundings and the room ( we stayed in the Henry Viveash room) overlooking the front of hotel, was comfortable and clean . We did not eat dinner but breakfast was served in the orangery and was fab! We used the indoor pool first thing in the morning and was empty. Sauna and steam room were great and lovely facilities to have a shower after. There is a walled garden where veg , salad and herbs are grown used in the hotels kitchen . There are ducks and chickens and a cockerel called Lionel that chases the hotel springer spaniel . This is a hidden gem and we are so please that we found it. A big Thank You to all the staff who made us so welcome and so comfortable . We will return when the winter fires are on and enjoy the hospitality once again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare-Hammond, General Manager at Woolley Grange, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2014

Dear Jenny S

Thank you for your lovely review and I am so pleased you had such an enjoyable stay with us. Great to know that Woolley works for those travelling without children.

Hope to see you again before too long.

Best wishes
Clare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

We took over the hotel for a family celebration. Clare was most accomodating to all out needs, nothing was too much to arrange. There was a fabulous den for kids to play in with some great activities, such as face painting, tattooing and pampering for the girls, story time, seed planting in the herb garden to name a few. The hotel itself was v charming, full of character, on the older side, mainly carpeted. Spa was v modern with lovely skilled therapists. Highly recommend the place, we rented bikes one day and rode along the canal.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fionatemplefortune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare-Hammond, General Manager at Woolley Grange, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Dear fionatemplefortune

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay at Woolley for your special celebration weekend.

It was a great pleasure to look after you all and so pleased you enjoyed the many aspects of Woolley as well as getting out for your bicycle ride along the Kennet and Avon canal.

I hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Warm wishes
Clare and the team at Woolley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Read other reviews with interest as they reflect our experience
We were three generations with very young children who had a great time .although it didn't come cheap but we knew that when we booked. We also had the room without a shower but our boys used the spa shower instead. The relaxed atmosphere was great for the children and staff were very nice and accommodating. We did have to seek them out for drinks etc but once located they took the order immediately. Would recommend you check the bill at the end as there were errors which were resolved satisfactorily but took a while .

Room Tip: Avoid "chimneys" if you want a shower!
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HertfordshireMosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare-Hammond, General Manager at Woolley Grange, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Dear HerfordshireMosie

I am delighted to hear about your enjoyable family break with 3 generations at Woolley recently.

I am sorry your room account was not correct on check out and I will revert to the team to ensure we are getting this right for future guests.

I hope we will see you again at Woolley very soon.

Best wishes
Clare and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

The hotel primarily caters for young families and from what we saw, meets that objective extremely well. As grandparents accompanying one such young family, the hotel didn't necessarily meet our needs quite as well. Whilst the bedroom was fine, the lack of a shower was much less so and unexpected. There were also considerable and lengthy negotiations occurring on check-out with many of the guests (including us) over the bills and what was included in the booked tariff. In the 3 instances which I observed the matter was resolved amicably in favour of the guest but it suggested that there were issues with the accounting and charging arrangements in place. The meals were good and were served in a pleasant environment and the staff were excellent - particularly in the way they handled the little ones. The hotel facilities for the children were also quite exceptional.
An excellent facility for a young family, perhaps not so ideal for the grand parents. 3 stars from the grandparents but the parents would have certainly given it more.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank PeeJayMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare-Hammond, General Manager at Woolley Grange, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Dear PeeJayMelbourne

Thank you for your review following your recent stay.

We frequently cater for extended families, especially for special family celebrations. I am sorry to hear we did not exceed your expectations and take note of the issues you experienced.

Some of our rooms, due to the quirk of the old building do not have the head height to allow for a full height shower. We are very happy to discuss particular rooms at the booking stage to identify guests individual requirements and ensure the rooms will work for them.

I very much hope we can encourage you back another time with your family.

Warm wishes
Clare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights over a weekend with 3 kids under the age of four. The building and grounds are beautiful and the facilities for kids are great in terms of the swimming pools, toys, 5pm kids meal time etc

We felt, however, that the service was a little hit and miss. We had a very good experience with an over cooked steak taken off the bill. But equally it often took ages for drinks to be delivered and when using the crèche for the first time the staff didn't bother to greet the kids or even ask their names.

The main reason we would not come back though is that the hotel just feels pretty bad value. It prices itself in a similar bracket to the likes of cowley manor, yet the service is way off and the rooms do feel a little tired esp the furnishings and carpet. It is also bizarre how the restaurant charges high end London prices in the evening - 34 pounds for set 2 course meal or 45 pounds for 3 even though the food is of the exact same standard as the much cheaper lunch menu. All of the extras included we paid close to £1000 for a 2 night stay. For that price we could have stayed at the Ritz. The hotel is nice but perhaps not worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lambertben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare-Hammond, General Manager at Woolley Grange, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Dear Lambertben

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Woolley. I am very sorry to hear that your children were not warmly welcomed in the Den; welcoming children is at the heart of our hospitality and I will discuss this with the Den team.

I will also consider your comments when we next make seasonal changes to our menus in the near future.

With my best wishes
Clare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradford-on-Avon
1.4 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
530 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
537 reviews
4.9 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
865 reviews
3.7 mi away
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Hinton Charterhouse
735 reviews
7.2 mi away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woolley Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woolley Grange

Address: Woolley Green, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 1TX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Bradford-on-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Bradford-on-Avon
Price Range: $137 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Woolley Grange 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family-friendly hotel, restaurant and spa set in 14 acres of lovely grounds on the edge of Bradford on Avon and the Cotswolds. Freshly cooked food from the walled kitchen garden, comfy country bedrooms, open fires, children's club and ELEMIS spa with two swimming pools. Pets welcome too! Only 15 minutes from beautiful Bath...ideal for a town and country break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Woolley Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woolley Grange Hotel Bradford-On-Avon
Woolley Grange Bradford-On-Avon, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing